1985 Nissan Sunny Reviews

1985 Nissan Sunny 130Y 1.3 petrol from Malaysia

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.5 / 10
Distance when acquired266667 kilometres
Most recent distance271800 kilometres

Summary:

A nice drive, though I probably got one of those lemons

Faults:

Absorbers were bust when I bought the car, replaced for RM 200.

Air-conditioning belt was replaced at the same time.

Radiator was leaking, had to get it welded.

Alternator went 'kaput' after I used the car for 3000 kilometres.

Radiator fan motor also failed before that. Had it replaced with a new unit.

The biggest problem with the car was the starter/stop for the ignition. For about 3 months, I was using the car, and always worried whether I'd be able to reach home. Car failed to start, then other times, it failed to cut-off the power when I wanted to switch the engine off. Had it checked, the mechanic replaced the starter, and one relay as well.

Air conditioning went bust, went through a period of two months going to the mechanic, and so the car went back and forth. Later, found out that there was a major wiring problem with the car. The starter/stopper issue was also spotted during this time, so it was some kind of a relief. For the wiring alone, spent about RM 400, and added to that another RM 350 for the air conditioning.

Now, have to get both the windshields to be refitted as it is leaking when there is a heavy downpour.

General Comments:

The seats are uncomfortable, though for its age, acceptable.

The only plus point is that when it is pushed past 3000 revs, the power kicks in, and I can take on any car that is between 1300 to 1600 cc, and it is a real joy. It has a very high power to weight ratio, as the car is somewhat light.

Fuel economy is not bad, considering it is now upwards of 25 years.

Bought the car for RM 4800, spent about RM 6000 on it already, so it is not a good investment, and on top of that being my first car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th May, 2011

5th May 2011, 06:40

You can't call a 25 year old car with 266K miles on it a lemon.

It's worn out through use - buy a new one and if you get multiple failures you can call it a lemon.

13th May 2011, 06:50

A lemon in the sense that it was probably not taken care of, but dressed up nicely so that it could be pushed. It's hard to explain to some people, but it is better if one experiences it oneself. A good experience for me, and even now, there are slight niggles with it, but I just have to live with it.

1985 Nissan Sunny GL 1.5 from Finland

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership1995
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired115000 kilometres
Most recent distance200000 kilometres

Summary:

Reliable

Faults:

Brake discs + pads replaced at 130000 km.

The clutch plate had to be replaced at 160000 km.

A little bit of rust here and there towards the end of my ownership, but nothing major.

General Comments:

A very reliable car. Started 100% perfectly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th July, 2009

1985 Nissan Sunny B11 1.5 from Germany

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 kilometres
Most recent distance165000 kilometres

Summary:

Frugal and reliable scuff-proof veteran performer

Faults:

Almost no problems at all, especially no serious problems.

Clutch has become a little vibrating during move-off.

Wind-noise might be a little softer.

General Comments:

This car works almost like new!

If you can get one, take it!

Many tiny technical details that are not self-evident for cars of that age, like adjustable wiper interval, door-open indicator, lights-on warning tone, rev-meter, circulating air, low fuel indicator, two separate direction indicators on the dashboard, rear fog lamps on both sides, etc.

Innovative trays at the inner doors.

Convenient seats.

Moderate fuel consumption (approx. 29-33 miles per gallon, depending on how you drive).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th June, 2002

7th Jul 2002, 03:35

I know these cars are just great. I own the Sunny DX and I've got it now for 2 years. He is also running like new.

30th Aug 2002, 21:51

I own a 1991 model Nissan Sunny EX-Saloon 1.4L. I have driven this car for over a year and comparing it's features and accessories like power mirror, factory door lock, door central lock and power windows for all 4 located at the driver door panel nicely located within reach, comparing with Korean cars today, lose out on many features. The only disadvantage is that old cars tend to have some problems and having a good mechanic helps a lot. I'm not sure about new Nissan's after reading about the bad experiences, but resale values of Nissan cars in Singapore seems to be dropping and many Nissan cars within 3 years old seem to be on sale.

1985 Nissan Sunny DL diesel from Finland

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired320000 kilometres
Most recent distance415000 kilometres
Previous carVolvo 240

Summary:

Reliable ram

Faults:

The motor of the car is in extremely good condition, but sheets have started to rust on it.

It is a bit inefficient.

General Comments:

Good buy, I got it for free and I am very happy, because diesel is cheaper than petrol.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th October, 2000

1985 Nissan Sunny SGL 1.5 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1987
Most recent year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired1400 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Reliable and comfortable - if you can find a low-ish mileage model for a decent price, buy it!

Faults:

Tracking tended to be a bit unstable.

General Comments:

I had this car for 11 years and I wish I could have kept it for another 11. It always started and gave me very few problems except for the aforementioned tracking. The boot space was a bit small and a sun-roof would have been nice but these are only very minor gripes. The bodywork held up very well considering that it was never stored in a garage overnight. I sold the car to my brother-in-law who ran the car for another year before it was written off by a wayward lorry on the M60 :( He reckons the solid build of the Sunny saved his life though...

A work colleague actually bought a Sunny 1.5SGL Maxima the same day as I bought mine and his is still going strong, albeit with a lot lower mileage on the clock.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd June, 2000

26th Nov 2000, 18:45

I live in the island of Barbados and I just bought a 1984 Nissan Sunny. I'm shopping for body parts but the engine works perfectly.

Irwin Walker

27th Feb 2008, 13:02

My father gave me his Nissan Sunny that he bought new when I was a baby... have to say this was the best car I could possibly learn in. She's been reliable, and also the rust was restricted because of some kind of extra-option coating on the undercarriage so she's in beautiful condition. She's been running since 1985 and is still going strong with 179000 miles on the clock so far. Viva la Nissan Sunny!

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 5 reviews