2004 Nissan Titan SE from North America - Comments

22nd Aug 2005, 22:39

I have had brake issues also. I had the brakes replaced around 9,000 miles. or so. I'm currently at around 14,000 miles. and am beginning to feel an uneasily familiar shimmy when I apply the brakes. It's somewhat frustrating, but this is the most awesome pickup I have ever driven and will not let this problem drive me from owning it. My bigger concern is with gas mileage, but I feel that the brakes do warranty close monitoring. I don't want to feel that way, but having to replace brakes before 10,000 miles tends to jade one slightly. Thanks for this forum, glad to know that I'm not alone in my problems with this issue.

24th Aug 2005, 01:37

Also had brake problems on 2004 SE 2wd, rotors turned and rear anti-lock brake sensor replaced at 10,000 miles.

24th Aug 2005, 11:59

I also hear all the rattling in the inside and my brakes gave out on me today while driving in downtown traffic. This is the second time on my brakes. I am now scared to drive this truck and would like to know more on your lemon law case.

Shawn Moore

shawn@heliumflash.com.

27th Sep 2005, 17:35

Check with your dealer ref. the brake issue... there is a recall that replaces your front rotors with thicker rotors, replaces front calipers/pads and resurfaces your rear rotors and replaces the pads also. This fix also virtually eliminates the brake dust problem. You can check out www.titantalk.com or clubtitan.org for the recall info.

12th Oct 2005, 19:25

My 2005 Titan developed brake pulsating and steering wheel shaking at just under 5000 miles. Dealer said they put me on a list for repair when the parts are available. Would not even schedule me for service. Knew right away my problem. My opinion of this truck is fading fast. Rear windows rattle when closing doors. Not what I expected from this truck.

10th Jun 2006, 09:16

I purchased my Titan in April of 2004. Looks great, strong and sturdy. Though I to have had issues with brakes. I had to call Nissan of North America and offer strong retaliation in order for them to act promptly with the repairs. Three brake fixes later and 14,000 miles I am crossing my fingers! Also have had issues with rattling in the inside and tire wear is awful. Last inspection they told me one of my tires was barely legal, that was at 13,000 miles! Also the mud flaps are coming off and the rear door handles don't always seem to work. I have the king cab version. In the winter the front door handles will freeze up and the door will not latch closed. I don't like the design of the windows they allow all water to come directly in the vehicle when the window is open even a little. All in all though I do love driving this truck, it has power! and hauls well. The issues are to be expected on a first run year I have faith Nissan will correct them and this model will be as dependable as you would expect from Nissan.

8th Oct 2006, 19:36

I bought the 2004 Titan in November of 2004. I have 53k miles on the rig as of today, as I drive it for work in sales. The truck has been great. Yes, I had the brake issue at about 5k miles. The local dealership upgraded the rotors at about 14k and they have been good ever since. I have had no other mechanical problems yet. Yes, the water comes in easily when the windows are down. Yes, there is more wind noise than in other trucks I tested. All of that said, I would buy another one in a minute. It is an animal on the road, and has lots of storage inside as well as room for passengers. The Titan looks great, runs great and is very comfortable. When I was looking at trucks, I could not decide between the Ford and Chevy. My son said I should try a Titan. When I did, the hunt was over. They are great rigs.

17th Oct 2006, 07:07

As a loyal Nissan employee I feel required to inform everyone that they need to keep in mind that when buying a Titan (Armada, Infiniti QX56, Quest) that the truck is built in Canton, Mississippi. In addition to the Titan being new for 2004, the Canton plant is brand new as well. We are currently in the process of transforming employees who worked predominately in the field of agriculture their whole lives to industrialized factory workers. I experienced the same thing 25 years ago in Smyrna, Tennessee which today is the most efficient automotive plant in the country thanks to the absence of UAW, which has crippled Detroit. Please bear in mind that one day soon the Titan will be as reliable as the Frontiers and previous generation "pickups".

17th Nov 2006, 19:39

Has anyone noticed that the brake pad and rotor fix almost eliminated brake dust on the wheels. 2004 Titan 2x2 SE.

My dealer brake fix did just that and they work great.

Recently a friend had new brake pads added at the dealer after he wore out the brake dust free pads. They now show extreme brake pad dust on wheels with-in days of cleaning.

Does anyone know the part numbers for the old and newer pads.

19th Nov 2006, 10:18

I'm looking at buying a 2007 Titan SE 4x4 with off road package. I haven't heard anything about the brakes yet, but I see the 05's and 04's had problems. On the newer models have they fixed the brake problems? Thanks for info.

21st Nov 2006, 19:16

I bought my Titan o5 model... crew cab 9 months ago.. at approximately 10,00 miles...I'm getting the brake shakes.. pulsation that many are complaining about. I will carry it to the dealer in Nashville where I purchased it next week...WE'LL SEE!! I will give the every opportunity to fix the problem. BUT, at my age I will NOT put up with any run-around!

11th Jan 2007, 16:55

I have a 2006 LE Crew Cab. No Problems At All after 13,000mi of mixed city/hwy driving. I can't say enough good things about it.

14th Jan 2007, 21:18

Everyone I know who has bought a Titan has had a LOT of problems. I'd steer clear of them until the bugs are worked out.

10th Feb 2007, 12:15

I purchased a 2004 Titan in April of that year, it has been in the shop more times than I can count, and that was just the first 3 months. The drive shaft was no good as I found out after paying cash and driving off the lot. It took them 3 months to figure that out. They did fix it and we then moved on to our next issue, "the brakes". I have had the new kit put on and it worked wonderfully for a few months. I have had the rotors replaced 3 times and it needs to be done again now. I am DONE with this truck, the problem is, I feel bad trading it in, I know some poor guy is going to land up with the headaches I now have. You know what the worst part of this is, I LOVE whipping around town in this monster, It hauls and tows like anything.I have been a dedicated Nissan owner all my life, but feel a bit gun shy about another Nissan, Maybe it was just my dealer here in Vegas, We shall see.