1990 Oldsmobile 88 3.8 series from North America


A race car in desguise


I had a rad hose blow on my way to work when I first got the car.

The alternator went at around 260k.

There is a big hole under the back seat.

The frame broke and I fixed it.

There is a big thumping noise when you turn the wheel.

General Comments:

Overall this has been the best car that I have owned. I drive all my cars the same, fast and hard.

Yesterday I was coming home from work and I wasn't paying much attention to my driving and I went up over the curb and tore off the bumper spoiler.

It has the FE3 suspension which improves maneuvering on sharp corners.

The ride is the same as being floated over the road. It has a lot of leg and head room.

This car moves fast. You can pullout to go by a car at 70MPH. This car will drop into second gear, set you in the seat and your gone.

When I first got the car everyone teased me and said that I had a grampy car. So one day I was on my way to work. One of my friends pasted me and waved me to race. Well he pulled it front of me and I pulled out and I was gone. He was driving a 90 Bretta GTZ. I spoke to him late on that week and he couldn't believe the way my car preformed. He said his car was shutting off at 120MPH. They never called it a grampy car again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th September, 2002

6th Dec 2003, 20:33

I agree 100% on what you say about the Delta 88. I myself own one. There is Bosch 4 tip platinum plugs, K&N air filter, and I opened up the exhaust to 2&1/2 inch.

They are a rocket. I raced a 1994 Camaro Z/28 305 and walked him.

Excellent piece of machinery.

Leslie Smith.

15th Jan 2004, 09:15

There you have it. Save your money on all those expensive performance modifications. Just throw in a set of platinum-4's and a K&N and you too can beat Z-28's with your overweight Olds 6-cyl fwd sedan...

9th Dec 2004, 15:27

Haven't tried the Bosch platinums. However, the K&N Filter gives a definite improvement, also a high flow catalytic and Pro-Flo muffler totally changes the performance of this sleeper. Kind of nice having a luxury boat, that will hold it's own against most tuners and still get 30 MPG on the highway, verified during a 1500 mile trip.

3rd Mar 2008, 10:13

To the dude who raced the '94 Camaro, I know the olds is fast, but let me tell you, I own an '88 Camaro 305, and it lays rubber in second and fishtails its way to 150mph. Runs 100 at the drop of a hat. I know that no stock olds 88 would hold a candle to it.

Besides, I think you raced a v-6 Camaro anyway, because they didn't put 305's in '94 Camaro's. Just LT-1 350's and 3.8 V6's.

1990 Oldsmobile 88 Eighty eight Royale 3.8 V6 from North America


Well rounded car


Alternator has been changed 3 times.

Rear brakes always leak

Transmission changed twice.

General Comments:

Overall, the car is great. It accelerates very quick. Very powerful engine. Handles excellent in emergencies.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th July, 2002

1990 Oldsmobile 88 Brougham 3.8L V6 3800 Series from North America


It's a Tennessee pimp ride!


Front calipers replaced because bleeder steams were seized.

Rear cylinders replaced because of leakage.

Struts replaced for better handling.

Alternator replaced at 135000 miles.

Transmission coolant lines replaced due to rust.

Mass air flow sensor replaced at 151000.

General Comments:

This car is definitely mistaken for a granny car, but it moves like a sports car.

I put a nice stereo system in it,a racing strip down the middle of the car, put on black head light covers and halogen fog lamps, a spoiler off a 1989 Firebird, and chrome stripping on the tail lights.

The things I did to this car make peoples heads turn, and they can't believe that they are looking at an Olds 88.

I think the 1990 Olds 88 is an all around sweet car, and I recommend it to any teenager who wants comfort, speed, and a nice looking car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th September, 2001

8th Oct 2002, 20:42

What is your e-mail? I want to see a picture of your car. I'm getting a olds 88 ('91) I think that you car seems awesome!!


3rd Mar 2003, 20:17

The only issue I've had with my '92 olds 88 is that it will stop running while in the middle of driving... like someone turned the key off... then I have to wait 20 or so min before it will restart. I still have not found the problem and I heard it's common with the 88's.

5th Dec 2003, 19:28

I had a problem with shutting off too, but only with my foot off the gas with the engine at an idle, turns out it is the oxygen sensors, but the car is an awsome ride, I love it, gl.


4th Apr 2004, 08:47

I have the same car. Mine is a nice metallic brown, definitly PIMP. haha it has 112,000 miles on it and I've had problem with misfiring even after dumping a little over $1,200 into it... NO CLUE.. the series 1 3600s were just crap I guess. Other than that I love it. It is the most comfortable car I've ever been in (and I've been in some of the most expensive cars on the market). Gotta love the huge back seat ;).

29th May 2004, 20:28

Hmm, if you owned one and had spent that kind of money on the engine, you probably would have remembered that it's a 3800, as in 3.8L of displacement. Take it to a dealer garage, we have these wonderful little things called "Tech 1s" and "Tech 2s" which will tell you exactly why. Sounds to me like it could be EGR, PCV, or oxygen sensors...