1990 Oldsmobile 88 3.8L V6 supercharged from North America


A high performance sedan


CV Joints don't last very long.

Rotors always find a way to get warped.

Overall, not much has gone wrong, other than the stuff you need to regularly change/replace.

General Comments:

6 months after I bought the car, a buddy of mine was scrapping his 1990 Bonneville and was selling it for parts, so I got the supercharger from it and fitted it to my Delta 88, also took the wheels and seats, although the seets did not fit, now I pull up to a stop light and can smoke T-birds and Stangs. Once raced a Corvette, didn't beat him but managed to some what keep up.

Overall this car was a nice investment.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th August, 2001

3rd Oct 2001, 08:25

Can you explain how you did the supercharger conversion on a web site?

Because I'm thinking of doing that with my "super sleeper" four-door Delta 88.

1st Nov 2001, 07:08

Could you explain what all was required to do the conversion (supercharger)? If so, mail me at hotstreet13@hotmail.com

1st Oct 2002, 01:07

Pontiac did not supercharge the Bonneville until 1992 with the SSEi.

2nd Oct 2002, 15:25

I was also wondering about the supercharger thing. I have a 1989 Eighty-Eight, and was thinking about trying to find a supercharger from a Bonneville, if at all possible. So, along with e-mailing this other guy here, e-mail me too.


9th Oct 2002, 21:07

Ya, tell me about the supercharger too.


18th May 2003, 20:50

If any of you read this any time soon, please send me the info on the supercharger install too, please.

My E-mail is Broel2000@aol.com.

If anyone has any intake or exhaust mod information please tell about that too. Thank you.

29th May 2004, 20:24

I am also interested in this, as my '90 Olds D88 is nearing 300,000 km, I'm contemplating an engine rebuild, and a supercharger would be a nice addition. It's been a while since I've seen a supercharged 3800 Series I, I'm damn sure it wouldn't take much to convert an old bonnie 'charger over, but the details would be nice - my email is TacticalVirus@hotmail.com and I would be sincerely grateful if you would explain the details.

29th Oct 2007, 18:25

If any one has successfully supercharged an 89 delta 88 (3800), could you write the procedure as a comment in the reviews please. I want to put a supercharger off of a 94 Bonneville on my Delta, but don't want to mess anything up. Thanx.

1990 Oldsmobile 88 Royal 3.8L V-6 from North America


An excellent large car!


ABS warning light remains lit, even though ABS system reports OK.

General Comments:

Very nice and comfortable interior, nifty electronics, nice large car.

Gas mpg is not the best, but the acceleration it gets is worth the extra gas costs.

Great handling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st March, 2001