1995 Oldsmobile 88 Reviews

1995 Oldsmobile 88 Royal 3.8L from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
Engine and transmission 3.8L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired28 miles
Most recent distance155000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile 88

Summary:

Best car I ever owned

Faults:

Warped manifold (leaking) was replaced at 112,000 miles.

Water pump leak 118,000.

Idler pulley assembly at 121,000 broke.

Trunk lid spring broke at 131,00.

General Comments:

This car has performed perfect for 155,000 miles.

It is roomy, quiet, has good acceleration and gives good mileage (30 mpg on highway, even now.)

I plan on keeping it.

My question is: to keep it reliable should I replace the fuel pump? It works well now but I do not want to get stuck. Replacement pumps cost about $500.

How long do fuel pumps (like this one) last?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th November, 2008

30th Nov 2008, 09:31

With 155,000 miles you're on very thin ice with the fuel pump.

Replace it now.

1995 Oldsmobile 88 Royal "Special Edition" 251 3.8L V6 Series II from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 251 3.8L V6 Series II Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired114000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Lumina

Summary:

Transmission out in less than 6 months

Faults:

OK, I previously owned a 1995 Oldsmobile 88 Royal "Special Edition" with gold badging, which made it RARE. It had all power options for the year, including a moon roof and base 3.8L 3800 V6. The car was $1,500.00 out the door back in August 2004 with 114,000 miles. My dad (ex mechanic) told me not to buy it because the trans might be going. I thought otherwise. It had normal wear and tear.

REPAIRS:

Front brakes and rotors - 2 weeks after had car $400?

Moon roof seal started cracking after 3 months.

Transmission needed to be replaced/rebuilt after 5 months.

Lost the car due to the transmission slipping in and out of gears, and COULD NOT AFFORD the $1,600.00 rebuild on the trans due to a lack of employment.

General Comments:

Overall so far, this has been my favorite 1st luxury sedan to own, and I still miss it to this day!

These cars ride smooth, and have quick pickup for a full size big body sedan!

Big V6 power plant - did not have any problems.

GM's transmissions are not the best.

Anyone have comments, questions or same problems?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th June, 2007

1995 Oldsmobile 88 Eighty Eight 3.8 231 V6 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.8 231 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired169700 miles
Most recent distance169995 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cadilac Eldorado

Summary:

Awesome

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This is the best car that I've owned. GM got it right with this full-sized car. Ride is like a Cadillac and it has power for a V-6. The car has no rust, clean inside and out. I have gotten two offers, cash on the spot, from people who like it. The car does for me what I ask it to.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th May, 2007

1995 Oldsmobile 88 LS V6 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired112000 miles
Most recent distance112000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

So far I think the car is a very nice ride

Faults:

I purchased my Delta just a month or so ago. I knew it needed some brake work, and replacing the back brakes was not problem. However, now I am experiencing an unrelated problem. The "Check Engine" light came on, and at the same time I noticed a severe decrease in acceleration from a stop. I also noticed the speedometer was not working, and the cruise would not engage. I took it to a mechanic this morning, and he said it was the speed sensing module that was connected to the transmission, and that it would cost $160 to fix. He replaced the part (twice) and it did not fix the problem. He then said I would have to take it to a specialist because the problem might be in the wiring. Has anyone had this type of problem?

General Comments:

I really like the car, and would be more than happy to spend some money getting it running. I just don't want to be spending a lot of money on something that will keep breaking. From what I have read, this car sounds like it was made pretty well, and will fit my needs perfectly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th August, 2006

1995 Oldsmobile 88 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance50163 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Delta 88

Summary:

Mistake purchasing the car

Faults:

Transmission problem at 23000 miles

Fuel pump in 2002 at 38000 miles

Coolant leak (multiple times) still Leaking Oil leak gaskets replaced 2x at 40000 miles

Master "brain" chip replaced 45000 miles

Master brake cylinder replaced at 50000 miles.

General Comments:

The car is comfortable to drive and has power.

Only complaint is it costs a fortune to replace parts that should not have failed within 50000 miles. Probably due to low driving time of 5000 miles per year.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th November, 2005

9th Mar 2006, 20:48

Sounds like you ended up with a Lemon..

Sorry to hear.

5th Mar 2007, 16:40

Mine is great. with 180,000 miles, just fluid changes and 1 water pump.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 8 reviews