1995 Oldsmobile 88 Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1995 Oldsmobile 88 Eighty Eight 3.8 231 V6 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.8 231 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired169700 miles
Most recent distance169995 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cadilac Eldorado

Summary:

Awesome

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This is the best car that I've owned. GM got it right with this full-sized car. Ride is like a Cadillac and it has power for a V-6. The car has no rust, clean inside and out. I have gotten two offers, cash on the spot, from people who like it. The car does for me what I ask it to.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th May, 2007

1995 Oldsmobile 88 LS V6 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired112000 miles
Most recent distance112000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

So far I think the car is a very nice ride

Faults:

I purchased my Delta just a month or so ago. I knew it needed some brake work, and replacing the back brakes was not problem. However, now I am experiencing an unrelated problem. The "Check Engine" light came on, and at the same time I noticed a severe decrease in acceleration from a stop. I also noticed the speedometer was not working, and the cruise would not engage. I took it to a mechanic this morning, and he said it was the speed sensing module that was connected to the transmission, and that it would cost $160 to fix. He replaced the part (twice) and it did not fix the problem. He then said I would have to take it to a specialist because the problem might be in the wiring. Has anyone had this type of problem?

General Comments:

I really like the car, and would be more than happy to spend some money getting it running. I just don't want to be spending a lot of money on something that will keep breaking. From what I have read, this car sounds like it was made pretty well, and will fit my needs perfectly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th August, 2006

1995 Oldsmobile 88 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance50163 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Delta 88

Summary:

Mistake purchasing the car

Faults:

Transmission problem at 23000 miles

Fuel pump in 2002 at 38000 miles

Coolant leak (multiple times) still Leaking Oil leak gaskets replaced 2x at 40000 miles

Master "brain" chip replaced 45000 miles

Master brake cylinder replaced at 50000 miles.

General Comments:

The car is comfortable to drive and has power.

Only complaint is it costs a fortune to replace parts that should not have failed within 50000 miles. Probably due to low driving time of 5000 miles per year.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th November, 2005

9th Mar 2006, 20:48

Sounds like you ended up with a Lemon..

Sorry to hear.

5th Mar 2007, 16:40

Mine is great. with 180,000 miles, just fluid changes and 1 water pump.

1995 Oldsmobile 88 Royale 3.8L 3.8 SERIES II from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.8L 3.8 SERIES II Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired64000 kilometres
Most recent distance170000 kilometres
Previous carLincoln Town Car

Summary:

A comfy couch on wheels, to get the groceries!

Faults:

My front rotors needed replacing at 120 000kms.

My front bearings went at 165 000kms.

Nothing else.

General Comments:

I love this car. I wish it had a Supercharged 3800 Series II, but it still has 205hm, and 235pnds of trq.

The car is quick for its big size.

The car is comfortable as well. The fuel economy is great. And it should be noted, this is the base model, and it comes with the 3800 Series II V6! Nice.

The car gives a nice ride.

It is simply a good car. You won't find too many things to complain about it. It is reliable, it has good power, it is roomy and comfortable. What more can I say?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th June, 2004

28th May 2007, 02:14

I am still driving the Olds 88 and I just hit 241 000kms.

She is still going - not as peppy as her younger years - but still going - with no major repairs - besides usual brake and tire changes..

1995 Oldsmobile 88 88 royale FWD V6-3.8 3.8L VIN K SFI from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission FWD V6-3.8 3.8L VIN K SFI Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance107000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Suburban

Summary:

Are you ready for transmission repairs?

Faults:

Since I have owned this car I have replaced the transmission once and repaired it twice, each time a rather expensive repair.

The two transmission repairs were related to the torque converter. The most recent torque converter repair happening 30,000 miles after installing a new transmission.

It appears when the tail lights were installed, the robot or a technician that installed them overtightened the lower mounts and cracked them, the final and top mount recently broke loose. This is an expensive replacement part.

The power seats have deteriorated rapidly, the springs are sagging and long trips require additional back support.

General Comments:

Overall this is a fairly reliable car with good performance and speed.

The continual expensive transmission repairs are a major concern for owning this vehicle.

The cabin room is satisfactory.

Instrument sight lines and access are good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th September, 2003

27th Jun 2004, 18:42

Sorry to hear bout the tranny probs.. mine is great! I am rounding 180 000k and the tranny is good as gravy.

24th Sep 2004, 20:06

Mine just passed 100k, tranny shifts like silk. The only problem was the infamous plastic intake manifold failure. After that $500 repair, the car still gets 30 miles per gallon on the HWY and runs like new. One somewhat pricey repair in nearly 9 years is not bad if you ask me.

1995 Oldsmobile 88 LXX 3.8 V8 supercharged from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.8 V8 supercharged Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance67800 miles
Previous carFord LTD

Summary:

Worst car I've ever owned

Faults:

Traction control - Replaced 3 times.

Transmission - Replaced twice.

Water pump - Replaced 2000.

Automatic windows - repaired.

ABS system - Replaced twice.

General Comments:

This car is the worst car I have ever owned! However, the cabin is very roomy and the seats are comfortable and this helps when you wait for the tow truck to come.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th June, 2001

11th Jun 2001, 11:36

It's not nice to lie! First of all, these cars have a V6. Two transmissions do not go bad on an Olds within 70,000 miles. Even if the traction control did go bad 3 times, which I know it didn't, no one in their right mind would spend the money replacing it 3 times, since it isn't necessary. ABS systems also do not fail that often. The water pump is almost believable. Also, its LSS not LXX. You never owned this car!

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 9 reviews