1983 Oldsmobile 98 Reviews

1983 Oldsmobile 98 Regency 307 cu from North America

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 307 cu Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance138000 miles

Summary:

Automotive Excellence!

Faults:

I rebuilt the th200R4 transmission once at 50,000 miles.

General Comments:

This car IS the best car ever made in the history of the automobile!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th November, 2009

17th Nov 2009, 11:59

I'd love to know which car has the highest percentage of that statement - "This car is the best car ever made".

I'll bet it's the Oldsmobile 98 and/or Delta 88 of these years (early 1980s).

1983 Oldsmobile 98 Regency Brougham 307 rocket motor from North America

Model year1983
Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 307 rocket motor Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired225000 miles
Most recent distance230000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Caprice

Summary:

The best car ever built by Oldsmobile

Faults:

At 230,000 miles all original, the water pump is still factory, and everything still works.

The guy I bought it off was the original owner, but in bad health, and needed the money.

I bought car for 500 dollars. I have all service receipts from July 16 1983 through September 12 2007.

I think I got a steal on the car.

We recently road tripped in the Olds to Branson Missouri from Tulsa Oklahoma. Was surprised at how comfortable it was. I love my Olds.

General Comments:

The car is still garage kept

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th February, 2008

1983 Oldsmobile 98 307 200r4 from North America

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 200r4 Semi-Automatic
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.0 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 kilometres
Most recent distance165000 kilometres
Previous carOldsmobile 98

Summary:

Very reliable old car

Faults:

My grandfather was driving the the car when the transmission went out on him in the city, so he had to drive the car home in first gear.

The car has sat ever since. but also the brakes went out, and the exhaust rotted away. But we are going to get the car out on the road again.

General Comments:

That has ben the most reliable car that my family has owned. This old beast has sat since 1995, and it still starts right up. In fact this car got me to love big G.M. cars. I am a big fan of Buicks, Oldsmobiles and Cadillacs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd August, 2007

24th Aug 2007, 11:39

Man, I think you could have any shade-tree mechanic throw a junkyard Turbo 350 automatic in that thing for well under $500. Shouldn't let a good car sit like that.

26th Aug 2007, 00:11

That car will be cheap to fix and will last forever. I've had 2 '85 Delta 88's (same car as yours, but not as fancy) and they ran forever, withstand a lot of abuse, and both I put over 200k miles on each of them. Parts for these things are cheap and plentiful and its getting hard to find one in good shape.. I'd say it's a keeper.

1983 Oldsmobile 98 royale brougham 5.1 from North America

Model year1983
Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 5.1 Automatic
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance60200 miles

Summary:

A great cruiser

General Comments:

I recently purchased this car and it is in excellent condition. It has 60000 miles, no rust, body tight and no rattles. This car rides better than my wife's 2002 Lexus 330. The color is charcoal with a pearl white vinyl top, wire spoke lockable hubcaps and fender skirts. Radio works, however LED display for station and clock time does not function, Antenna motor is not working, and heating & air conditioning temperature selector needs adjustment. There are no fluid leaks since I had them all repaired. What a cruiser, I've had offers from others to purchase, but can't make up my mind whether I should part with it. I love this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th July, 2007

1983 Oldsmobile 98 Regency 307 from North America

Model year1983
Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 307 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired86000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

The 1983 Oldsmobile 98 is the best car I have ever owned

Faults:

Fuel pump blew out twice.

Transmission blew at 100,000 miles.

Power window switch needed replaced.

Radiator blew in winter.

Heater core went.

General Comments:

The 1983 Oldsmobile 98 is a very classy car. The Oldsmobile rides like a dream. The seats are not like car seats, but couches. You do get some looks when driving this mastodon. I absolutely believe that the Oldsmobile 98 is the perfect car.

The Oldsmobile 98 I own is a two door, and has more room than any Cadillac or Lincoln I have ever rode in.

I do like the rumble the old V8 lets out when you give it a rev. Though this monster has a 307 V8 with a decent amount of torque and horse power, she still is very heavy and doesn't really spin the tires. I did race my friend's 1986 Chevy S-10, and once I hit second gear, I blew him away. The big old luxury car isn't a fancy sports car, but it does attract the ladies.

I can truthfully say that when GM built the 1983 Oldsmobile 98, they knew what they were doing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th October, 2005

13th Oct 2005, 23:50

Yes I agree. They should've dropped Buick instead in my opinion. I own a two door Caprice and know what you mean with these cars. The ride quality and interior are superb.

15th Dec 2007, 10:19

I bought one in November of 2006 and it is the absolute best vehicle I have ever owned! It's a 4 door Sedan and very few things have gone wrong with it. Sure, it needed a few things, but what older car doesn't? I love it and my husband will have to pry the title out of my cold dead hands before he could sell it!

1st Jan 2008, 16:42

These things were awesome, you felt like a state dignitary or something in them.

Our family had a Olds Custom Cruiser, which was nice enough and dependable. But this thing was on another level. It was much more solid, and comfortable. The kind of car that you feel refreshed after having a drive in it.

31st Aug 2010, 21:05

Ditto to every wonderful comment made about the 1983 Oldsmobile '98! An awesome vehicle.

It was truly the best vehicle I ever owned. I am in search of another and trust me, I will not sell this one. Actually, my husband sold it and told me after.

Smooth, comfortable, & gorgeous vehicle.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 18 reviews