1988 Oldsmobile 98 Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1988 Oldsmobile 98 3.8 from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired13000 miles
Most recent distance18000 miles
Previous carNissan Pathfinder

Summary:

A very reliable vehicle

Faults:

The main problem that I have had with my car is that engine parts keep breaking down, but, that is to be expected with any older vehicle. And also the headliner was coming undone so badly that I was forced to rip it completely out of the car.

General Comments:

I like this car very much, despite some of its faults, and it is a very reliable vehicle to drive, as long as the owner is not stingy with the parts and buys them new.

This car, with the Oldsmobile's 3800 motor will probably keep running long after the body has rusted and fallen off.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th August, 2006

1988 Oldsmobile 98 Regency 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired143000 miles
Most recent distance197000 miles

Summary:

Best thing on four wheels.

Faults:

Vacuum hoses needed replacing when inspected, this was because of the vehicle's age. (The replacement was cheap).

Radiator hoses were also replaced at 160000 miles.

The windshield leaks when it rains.

General Comments:

Most reliable car that I have ever driven.

This car has never died unexpectedly and left me stranded.

This car start on the first turn of the key from they day I bought it.

The ride is very smooth, and the seats are very comfortable.

Everything still works, even after almost 200000 miles.

I love this vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th July, 2004

28th Jul 2004, 20:13

I have an 89 Olds 98 regency, and I love it. I have 75000 miles on it and it runs great. These cars were very well engineered, and that is reflected in the number of these cars that are still seen on the road today. These sold well when they were new also. I would get a new one if I could today.

29th Jul 2004, 12:29

GOod review on a good car. However, the Olds 98 had a 3.8 V6. The only year they put the 3.0 V6 in them in 1985 as a standard motor.

29th Jul 2004, 19:48

I wrote this review and you are right, this vehicle has a 3.8L V-6, I was thinking of the engine in a Grand Am at which I was recently looking. I will swear by the 3800 series engine, and thinking of the day that I will have to replace this car brings tears to my eyes. If I weren't still in college, and living on a limited budget I would pay to have this car brought back close to its original condition. I honestly believe that this car is more reliable than any Japanese import that you can find of that age.

30th Jul 2004, 17:27

My Uncle has a 85 98 that had the 3.8 & trans rebuilt at the same time (It had 365000 miles on it). The car was actually running fine, but he was leary of the mileage, so he had both rebuilt, which was cheaper than buying a newer car. he still drives that car today. And I also agree that these cars were much more reliable than the imports of the same vintage.

1988 Oldsmobile 98 Touring Sedan 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired136000 miles
Most recent distance148000 miles

Summary:

Reliable performance and dependability

Faults:

Radiator hose went out at 140,000.

Leather is worn on driver side and good on all the rest of the seats.

Fuel lines and filters at 141,000 miles.

General Comments:

This car is awesome! I have never seen something that can take such a bad beating in my life. This 3.8 can take it all. It is more reliable than my parents 95 Suburban. The cabin is very roomy and the carpet is still in great condition. I have some rust on the drivers side, but I live in Illinois I guess you get that. This car has way more than normal acceleration than you would expect from a family sedan.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th August, 2003

1988 Oldsmobile 98 Touring Sedan 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance217000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile 98

Summary:

Great running, very comfortable, and you get your money's worth over and over again

Faults:

Rear window goes down, but not up at 150,000.

Water pump went at 110,000 and 215,000 miles.

Starter went at 120,000 miles.

Air conditioning compressor went at 150,000 miles.

Motor mounts went at 200,000.

Radiator went at 205,000 miles.

Struts went at 170,000 miles.

General Comments:

Car has been very reliable.

Still runs smooth and gets great mileage.

The motor will outlast the car first.

The interior is still in excellent condition.

Paint is beginnnig to fade.

Planning to buy another one as a spare car when and if this car goes.

After 15 years and 217,000 miles the moon roof is just beginning to leak.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th November, 2002

Average review marks: 9.0 / 10, based on 13 reviews