1988 Oldsmobile 98 Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1988 Oldsmobile 98 Regency Brougham 3.8L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.8L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance168908 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

A tower of power with love coming from all sides

Faults:

The transmission had to be rebuilt around 120,000 miles, but this improved the cars quality, with better over-all performance from the car itself.

General Comments:

I love this car, it is my baby, I am going to ride it until I die. The power is amazing for a "grandpa" car. Blowing people off the line is the best, especially in such an unsuspecting vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th June, 2002

1988 Oldsmobile 98 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired180000 miles
Most recent distance200000 miles

Summary:

My Oldsmobile 98 rocks!

Faults:

The rear passenger windows would roll down, but not up at 185,000 miles.

Brakes went out at 190,000 miles.

The paint has worn badly.

The gas cap will not close.

Problems with the alignment at 200,000 miles.

General Comments:

I bought this car when I was a senior in high school. I paid $957 dollars for this beast. Best investment I have ever made. I have only had to make one major repair on the car since I got it.

The engine is incredible. It will run forever.

Excellent gas mileage.

My car will beat just about any car out of the spot at a stoplight. No wimpy Ford has a chance against me. I have yet to lose a drag race with my baby. I love the surprised look on young teenage boys faces in their Honda Civics after a chick in a grandma style car beat them out of the spot.

It's spacious, and has room for five. The seats are comfortable and the front seats have automatic controls.

There has never been a time when my car hasn't roared to life in the morning, no matter how cold it was.

This car is one of the best cars ever made for the average person.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th January, 2002

14th Mar 2008, 11:33

That's right. I have that same car. I blows everyone away. The only stupid thing I did was I left it in first and blew my transmission.

This is a fast car. It goes well over 85. I would love to know how fast it goes. It only reads up to 85 but the needle goes well over it. So far that you can't see it.

1988 Oldsmobile 98 Regency Brougham 3.8 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles
Previous carRenault 25

Summary:

Excellent basic transportation even for a limited budget

Faults:

Automatic headlights & rear-view mirror dimming never worked.

Alternator problems around 80000 miles, had to be replaced twice.

Started burning a little bit of oil at about 110000 miles, doesn't smell or smoke.

Driver's side door console started falling apart around 120000 miles.

Radiator & heater core developed a leak at 130000 miles.

Water pump died at 140000 miles.

Fuel pump died at 144000 miles.

General Comments:

Surprisingly good engine, provides a lot of smooth power at lower speeds, but feels rather lifeless above 60mph.

Excellent fuel mileage for its size, 22 - 27 MPG (8.5 - 11.5 L/100km).

Handling is what you could expect from a full-size American car: Numb steering, floaty and wobbly ride.

Headlights are very poor, lack of side turn signals hurts safety, however side markers make up for this.

Seats are not very good, front sofa benches provide no support at all, only the passenger side backrest tilts independently.

Poor marks on safety, slipping 3-point seat belts and head rests only for the driver and front passenger.

Idiotic ventilation controls, heater will only blow on your feet.

Spacious interior and trunk, but no collapsible rear seats.

Excellent availability for spare parts and able mechanics in the US.

Easy for your wallet, insurance costs are minimal and since the prices are already at a basement level, no capital losses from depreciation.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th July, 2001

1988 Oldsmobile 98 FE3 V6 3.8 sport from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission V6 3.8 sport Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired107000 miles
Most recent distance164000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile 98

Summary:

It's the best car in the world, get it you can

Faults:

The compression and fuel control module broke, but that was due to my own neglect. I also think that the alternator was a little too weak, but maybe that's because I had a 2 400W amps.

General Comments:

I love that car more then anything. I think that it's the best car in the world. I had the FE3 sport edition and I use to drag race it on the street, beat pretty much everything I race against including a 1992 Mustang GT.

I had to get rid of it 3 months ago, and that was the hardest thing to do for me. Now I'm trying to find another FE3 and I can't. All I have is a couple of pics left. It was the best car in the world.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th May, 2001

17th Jan 2003, 07:07

I have a 98 FE3 and its great, but it needs a paint job and the two back bottom pieces, but everything else it is great comfort also runs smooth its great.

1988 Oldsmobile 98 Brougham 3.8 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired106000 miles
Most recent distance183300 miles

Summary:

It's a life-long thing

Faults:

A few minor things have gone wrong, but there was never a time when I have put the key in the ignition, and the engine hasn't roared to life.

General Comments:

This car rocks!!! I has soul, it has class, it rides great, it does what I want. You really get attatched to these cars. and surprisingly, the ladies love it. All it takes is one ride. You don't hear that about a Honda!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th March, 2001

1988 Oldsmobile 98 Regency 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance134000 miles

Summary:

Great car

Faults:

Alternator and water pump wheel cylinders began to leak at about 125,000.

General Comments:

The 3.8L has some serious balls... I smoked a young guy in a hot rodded Honda. He seemed imtimidated that an old lady car beat his rice rocket.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th January, 2001

Average review marks: 9.0 / 10, based on 13 reviews