1993 Oldsmobile Achieva Reviews - Page 5 of 5

1993 Oldsmobile Achieva SC Quad 4 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Quad 4 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance117000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

Great looks and performance for small money - just keep the oil level full!

Faults:

The stalk controlling the lights, turn signals, and cruise control broke.

The oil pump froze up causing the main bearings in the engine to break - $3000 rebuild.

General Comments:

My mother owned this car from new, and the only thing that ever broke on it was the engine. I owned a Grand Am with the same engine (16-valve 4-cylinder) and had many more problems with that car than we did with the Achieva. The dealer told me that the "quad 4" was known to break down right around 100,000 miles which is what happened to both these vehicles.

The Achieva is very fast, handles like a race-car, gets 30+ miles per gallon regularly, and has a fairly low insurance rate (especially since it's 7 years old now). In my opinion, the SC model is one of the best-looking cars Oldsmobile ever made.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st October, 2001

14th Apr 2004, 19:08

You are wright about that. I got a SC my self and it's the the best ever to come my way and it's all hooked up. I even had this lady up the street from me,"same car" flip me off because mine was better. achiva's rule the streets!!!

1993 Oldsmobile Achieva SC 3.3L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.3L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired63000 miles
Most recent distance118000 miles

Summary:

A great car -- when it works

Faults:

Transmission replaced at 75,000 miles, $1035.

Engine spun a connecting rod bearing at 94,000 miles, requiring a $2600 rebuild.

At 114,000 miles, a huge complicated mess of problems (all started by a bad seal around a fuel injector) caused two cylinders not to fire properly. Another rebuild (thankfully under warranty from the first).

Other than that, just the usual. Brakes wear, shocks get soft.

Alternator replaced twice. Once at 75,000 miles, once at 115,000. $70 each time, installed it myself (15-minute job!)

General Comments:

When this car works right, it works great.

The 160hp, 185lb-ft 3.3L engine has excellent power. The three-speed automatic with lockup torque converter matches it quite nicely. I never have trouble passing, merging, etc.

The SC package comes with sport suspension and wider, lower-profile tires, providing better-than-average handling.

Handles GREAT in the snow!

2-door model has decent back seat room, but difficult entry/exit.

This car can be a huge pain to work on. The oil filter is nearly impossible to reach -- so much so that the Oldsmobile dealer in town took an hour and a half to change my oil once (they have a 29-minute guarantee!). Most other routine maintenance (changing headlight bulbs, for instance) is a breeze.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th September, 2001

24th Sep 2001, 12:45

Obviously the 3.1 litre V6, offered in 1994 and subsequent years, is a different "animal" when it comes to oil changes. On the 3.1, it is a snap to access the filter. I do all my own oil changes, without hoist, pit, ramps or axle stands. I simply slide under the car - and the oil filter is very easy to access. My Achieva has had a few problems - but it is by far the best car I ever owned!

6th Aug 2002, 14:32

My '94 Achieva (3.1 V6) was purchased used at 68,000 kilometers. It now has 240,000 kilometers, but I am having several problems. Two warning lights, the brake and the ABS stay on whenever the temperature of the day reaches 80 F. or more. I cannot understand why the outside temperature would cause these two lights to signal when I have installed new pads, rotors, etc.

Otherwise very little trouble.

Any help just now, would be appreciated.

Email: viripple@aol.com.

1993 Oldsmobile Achieva SL 3.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.3 Automatic
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired228500 kilometres
Most recent distance0 kilometres
Previous carFord Taurus Wagon

Summary:

After having it for only 5 weeks I really like it so far

Faults:

Water leaking in from an unknown source on to the floor at the driver's seat. Carpet is always wet here. It clear water and not any other type of fluid. Vacuum out the water daily and it returns each day, even after a week of dry weather.

General Comments:

This car handles great and drives very smooth.

It's powerful and fun to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th March, 2001

25th May 2001, 11:41

Hi,

We are thinking of buying a 1993 Olds Achieva with 83,000 klm on it. PS and A/C, 4 cyl, auto transmission. My question is: What is the power like, especially travelling through mountains, steep hills, etc. Not sure if you can help me on this or not. Great if you can.

2nd Sep 2001, 21:24

I have a 93 Achieva, it is the worst car as far as dependability. I cannot drive my car to far from home without fear of being stranded. I have had my car for four years and I take very good care of it. I have put around 3000 dollars in it in about two years. Please take my advice and spend your money on a more dependable car. There is a reason they won't make these cars anymore.

17th Nov 2002, 13:10

I have a 93 Achieva also. It has 140,000 miles on it and has been in the shop one time for an oxygen sensor ($100). Best car I've ever had, as far as power, maybe you should looke elsewhere. Other than that it has been great, I can afford a new vehicle, but there is just no sense until I run this one into the dirt.

1993 Oldsmobile Achieva S 4 cyl. from North America

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 4 cyl.
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10

Faults:

Brakes, brakes, brakes!!! Cheap hardware. Front bumper works loose.

General Comments:

This car is a piece of junk. You have to replace the brakes every year. The leg room is horrible and it is difficult to get in and out of the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th June, 1998

9th Dec 2001, 14:09

If you wouldn't drive the car like a race car and have to slam on the brakes, your brakes will be fine.

9th Jan 2006, 18:03

I agree with the first comment. Most people have to change the brakes every year to begin with. One thing you have to consider is how many miles you put on the car in between the brakes. That might be your first clue. Second of all... do you ride others bumpers so you have to use your brakes more often? Or are you one of those that just rides the brakes because you are impatient with traffic? If that is all you have to complain about with this car then you must also consider you may not be buying the best brake pads that are offered. I have an Achieva S 1993 4Dr...and it is with not a question the best car I have ever owned. And I have own quite a lot of them from trucks to sports cars... this is the best one!!!

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 16 reviews