2000 Oldsmobile Alero Reviews - Page 36 of 36

2000 Oldsmobile Alero GL from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired41000 miles
Most recent distance53500 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

A great car for someone on a budget, who wants something that looks good

Faults:

Faulty resistor switch caused fan levels 1,2,and 3 to be off and only 4 was 'on'.

Area around gear shifter is badly cracked and overly worn for a 2000 car.

None of the doors shut properly without being slammed.

Unsettling popping sound when turning the wheel.

Brakes squeak incessantly due to rotors.

The outside noise sounds like there's a window cracked at all times.

I have one tire that keeps going flat.

'Dummy Lights' come on when there is no problem, i.e.: Low coolant light when accelerating onto highway, Low Tire Pressure light when all tires are inflated properly.

General Comments:

I love the way my car looks on the outside.

The interior is deteriorating rather quickly.

Occasionally when I'm trying to accelerate from a set speed, it feels as though I need to 'floor it' to get it to go 5 miles per hour faster.

The factory radio has terrible reception, and the speakers are weak as well.

As far as maneuverability and speed, this car is wonderful. I drive 30 miles to work every day, the majority of which is on a major interstate, and my Alero has never let me down while trying to keep up with traffic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th November, 2002

14th Dec 2005, 18:02

I have the same exact problem with my car. Same problems.

2000 Oldsmobile Alero 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired27000 miles
Most recent distance57000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

You get what you pay for

Faults:

Needed new brake pads, resurfacing at 32,000 miles.

Fan switch faulty.

Poor gas mileage for a 4 cylinder car.

General Comments:

My Alero has 57k on it and is generally a good car. I purchased it used in 2000 with 27k on it. Since then it has gone through pads twice and rotors once (today) on the front wheels. I guess I shouldn't be surprised as the other Oldsmobiles my family has owned have had insufficient brakes.

I would be less upset if the pads weren't more expensive than the ones for the much larger intrigue and aurora.

Other concerns are a wimpy A/C unit, and a faulty resistor that made the first three fan settings "off" and the fourth regular.

Overall the car does look great and runs well.

The 4-cylinder engine isn't as bad as some have made it out to be, I wish it got better than 24mpg in regular driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th October, 2002

2000 Oldsmobile Alero GLS 2.4 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.4 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired29 kilometres
Most recent distance38000 kilometres

Summary:

Don't buy it

Faults:

AC is always running

Fan does not work on first two settings

Rubber sealing around the windshield is coming off.

Rotors are done even car has only 38000KM

While turning steering make noises.

Brake pads need to be replaced at very low KM.

General Comments:

Car look great and handle OK. My previous cars were Japanese and were great. I bought my previous cars used and drove more than 200,000 km. When I bought Alero brand new, my first question was 'What is the difference?'

In my opinion this car has a major fault and that is 'It is American'.

This is my first and last American car.

WHY BUY BRAND NEW AMERICAN CAR WHEN YOU CAN BUY USED JAPANESE.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th October, 2002

12th Oct 2002, 12:06

The 4-cylinder models are underpowered and more likely to have problems. You should have got the model with the 3.1 V6.

21st Nov 2002, 11:17

I, too, had the first two fan settings stop working. It was fixed under warranty, though. My rotors had to be replaced at 39K miles. I'm currently hearing a ticking during acceleration that my mechanic suggests is in the valve train - an expensive repair.

2000 Oldsmobile Alero 4 dr. sedan 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired33000 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

I've owned worse and better cars. Overall, I'd give it a 7.5 out of 10.

Faults:

Interior (seats) wear too easily.

Too much car for the engine.

Takes too long to defrost/heat up.

Poor radio reception.

General Comments:

The Oldsmobile 2000 Alero -- in any color --is one of the best looking cars on the road today, but, that's where the high praises end.

The seats wear too easily and become uncomfortable after only 10-20 minutes of travel.

The ash tray is poorly placed (behind gear shift) and is by far, the oddest looking (factory installed) accessory that I've ever seen on any car.

Outside noise should be less on a car having the "OLDS" name, but is tolerable otherwise.

There's a VERY dangerous blind spot over the driver's left shoulder, when checking to see if it's safe to change lanes.

The horn is hard to blow. You can only get it to sound if you push the "pad" in just the right place. When a horn is needed in an Emergency, the driver shouldn't have to take their eyes off the road to find the horn's actuator "spot".

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th April, 2002

6th Feb 2003, 10:33

Nice review. Not a bunch of dressing. I have a 2003 Alero Sedan. It has the same problems. Third time I tried to activate the horn, it stuck on. The leather seats are coming apart at the seams. The car is 2 months old! Overall, still fun to drive, but I'll be paying for it for 5 years, what will it look like then?

S

Dallas, Tx.

17th Nov 2005, 22:45

Good performance, but some minor problems including rear defroster failure and constant SERVICE VEHICLE SOON light on that nobody knows how to get rid of.

Average review marks: 5.7 / 10, based on 135 reviews