2001 Oldsmobile Alero GLS 3.4 V6 from North America


Sporty, Reliable, Awesome!!


Lets see...

The starter had to be replaced about 1 month after I bought it, luckily my warranty covered it.

My windows are starting to make noises and I have had the dealership look at them twice with no success. They make funny noises when the go up and down, more the passenger side.

General Comments:

I love this car a lot.

It drives really good and is pretty fast.

I prefer it much more than my Cherokee because it drives much better and saves me a lot of money on gas.

I have the whole leather interior which is very nice and looks really good for such a low priced car.

I would recommend it to anyone.

I have only owned it 2 months, but I love it!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th November, 2004

6th Dec 2005, 02:36

You should try your window regulators. I have found that they are a very common problem with these cars. I happen to have one broke right now and I am having a hard time starting the car when it is cold.

2001 Oldsmobile Alero GL 3.4L V6 from North America


Brand New Trash!


Front brake caliper replaced at 19,824 miles.

Lower intake gaskets replaced at 24,878 miles.

Power steering hose replaced at 24,980 miles.

Replaced wheel sensor, lower control arms, and a head gasket at 28,754 miles.

Replaced fuel tank cap, front stabilizer shaft, insulator, and bracket at 33,451 miles.

Oil pan gasket leaking at 37,516.

Replace upper and lower intake gaskets and brake pads at 40,903.

Replace front strut mounts, front stabilizer car link and found oil seeping into main area at 48,837.

Replaced steering gear and front crank seal at 54,998 miles.

General Comments:

I've practically been living in the shop with this car.

Oldsmobile went out of business for a reason, do you really think they care about the cars they have put out in the last few years? I would not recommend anyone to buy Olds!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th October, 2004

22nd Nov 2004, 11:11

I feel you may have a lemon in your driveway. I own an Alero gls model from new 2years now, other than minor problems, find my car reliable, well made, and fast. Best of luck with what ever brand you buy next, but remember nothing is perfect!

2001 Oldsmobile Alero GL 6v from North America


I hope it lasts at least three more years


The sealant on the windows started leaking a couple of months after I purchased the car. This caused me to have to get new carpet for the back floor. I have had to replace the brakes. The blinkers stopped working, during the time the "blinker recall" was announced. On numerous occasions my car would not start, unless I reset the pass-lock system. It didn't do this anymore after I bought a remote car starter.

General Comments:

This was my first new car and the experience has been terrible. I hope my engine doesn't go out like my friends Grand AM.

I love the sound of my radio, but clearly this is not going to pay for the expenses I will run into next.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th September, 2004

27th Nov 2004, 02:44

I've experienced the flasher/turn signal shorting, rear defroster not working, and the pass-lock feature frequently resulting with non-starting and with one tow to date. Front ceramic brake pads replaced after third year, battery second year. Using Mobil-1 5W30 100% synthetic engine oil.

Otherwise, car handles well and feels sporty.

23rd Apr 2005, 17:38

My 2001 alero will not start. How do you reset the pass-lock system.

2001 Oldsmobile Alero GX 2.4 from North America


Flashy, comfortable car for a great price!


I just bought the car recently so fortunately nothing has went wrong. I've just been enjoying the ride.

General Comments:

This car was very affordable and came with everything except leather and fog lights. I was very impressed in the quality of the vehicle for the price. I was initially looking at a cavalier, but when I drove the Alero that was it. There are many, many benefit to buying an Alero over a Cavalier or Sunfire. You get a flashier, more comfortable car with all the bells and whistles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st September, 2004

18th Jul 2005, 22:58

I agree... the Alero has pretty much the same size engine as the Cav Z-24 and Sunflower GT. Alero's look a lot hotter and actually are somewhat quicker. Or maybe that was just how I drove..haha. But I totally agree with you. The Alero's prevail over the Chev and Pontiac for sure. I hate both of those cars and love my Alero, even with the problems I have had with it.