1998 Oldsmobile Aurora Reviews

1998 Oldsmobile Aurora Northstar V8 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission Northstar V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance177000 miles

Summary:

Love this car!

Faults:

Headlights/horn randomly went off when the car was off at 140,000 miles. Turned out to be elements/sensor needed cleaning. Repair cost $400.

Other than that, in 10 years that I've owned this car, I've only replaced the battery and alternator at 150,000 miles. No major repairs.

General Comments:

Still an awesome car. Heated seats, traction control, air, and stereo, still work like new.

Comfortable, roomy, and handles well on Michigan roads in the winter.

Just purchased a 2004 Cadillac with 43,000 miles, but prefer to drive the Aurora.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th July, 2012

1998 Oldsmobile Aurora V8 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Distance when acquired63 miles
Most recent distance257526 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Aurora

General Comments:

I owned this car for twelve years; the best investment in a car I have ever made, and still driving it.

My only major repair was just recently replacing the water pump.

I'm still driving it now, had lots of offers for this car; the value may not be much after all these years, but I love my car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th March, 2010

1998 Oldsmobile Aurora 4.0 Northstar V8 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.0 Northstar V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired41000 miles
Most recent distance139000 miles
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

Classic example of why people are buying Japanese cars

Faults:

Two of four ignition modules failed, #1 at 50K miles, #2 at 120K miles.

First alternator failed at 65K miles.

A/C compressor failed at 86K miles.

Car began stalling at idle at 70K miles. Dealer replaced two ECM's at no charge. Didn't help the stalling.

A/C compressor failed at 122K miles.

Second alternator failed at 130K miles.

Idler pulley failed at 137K miles and took alternator with it.

Transmission failed at 139K miles.

General Comments:

Most luxurious car I've ever owned.

Only car I've ever driven over 100mph and felt safe.

Awesome interior... leather seats, both 6-way power with lumbar.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th December, 2007

14th Apr 2009, 11:40

Amazingly, all that stuff that went bad, but not because of regular maintenance, but you drove the crap out of it!! One can only wonder how long components on a LUXURY, NOT LUXURY SPORT car will last going over 100mph... wow!

10th Apr 2014, 04:41

I have owned 3 Auroras and they are incredible cars! Unfortunately like any automobile, foreign or domestic, you have lemons bud... that's why there are lemon laws... I was going 55-60mph down a local highway and a texter was going 60-65mph the opposite way texting his girlfriend, and he swerved into my lane and hit me head on with a full size truck... I sustained some life threatening injuries and they had to cut my car in half and airlift me to the hospital... I was told by the doctors and firefighters, and I firmly believe this as well, that if I had been in any other car, I wouldn't be writing this today. That speaks a lot more for quality than being concerned about an alternator or bad pulley... A car truly ahead of its time as far as speed, comfort, driver and passenger safety.

1998 Oldsmobile Aurora 4.0 V8 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.0 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired147000 miles
Most recent distance159000 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

A sharp and fast car, with a lot of bugs that were never worked out

Faults:

The first month I had it, the alternator went bad, nearly had to remove the engine to get to it. Now 8 months later, the battery goes dead in about 1 hour.

I had the battery tested and it is good. The car can run with every electrical device on and the battery disconnected, and the alternator is putting out 14.9 volts consistently. There is a major electrical short, but I cannot find it. The driver's side heated seat never worked either.

General Comments:

Has anyone else had an Aurora kill a battery in less than an hour?

kensmichele@yahoo.com

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th April, 2006

28th Apr 2006, 14:53

"Has anyone else had an Aurora kill a battery in less than an hour?"

- Never heard of that. If you want to get a vast amount of info about the Aurora, go to http://aurorah.proboards.com/

That's an Aurora forum that's the best Aurora forum on the entire net.

28th Jul 2006, 06:12

We owned a 1998 Aurora and I loved the car. But it started just stop running at a stop light. Ran so quiet we wouldn't know it wasn't running until we started to go again. Then after about 3 months of that happening every now and then, the car caught on fire and was totaled. I cried for a month.

29th Oct 2010, 12:31

Alternator works, there's a short somewhere that you can't find, heated driver's seat never worked.

Hmm...you think they might be connected somehow?

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 13 reviews