1998 Oldsmobile Aurora 4.0 Northstar V8 from North America


Olds finally got this one right


Replace rear rotors and turn front rotors.

Windshield wipers would not park properly after use. Replaced wiper motor.

Car has developed a strange ticking sound from under the dash when first started in the morning. Stops when the brakes are applied and the car is shifted into gear. Will not recur for the rest of the day so I can't duplicate it for the dealer.

General Comments:

I love the style of the older Auroras, sleek yet powerful.

This car rides like a dream, I do mostly highway driving and with the cruise on I can sometime manage 30 mpg. (Imperial)

Plenty of power when needed and when you put the pedal to the metal the car responds with a quick downshift and a satisfying throaty growl. 80 mph comes awfully fast when you do this.

Sound system is great, but I do wish the car came with optional Bose system.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th August, 2004

1998 Oldsmobile Aurora 4.0 Liter V8 Northstar from North America


Comfort, performance, and style!


Nothing has gone wrong in the time that I have owned the car.

General Comments:

Great car to drive.

Handles like a dream compared to other sedans.

Performance is great for a large sedan.

Comfort is awesome.

Looks are outstanding.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd May, 2004

1998 Oldsmobile Aurora 4.0 from North America


Fast, good-looking, comfortable and a bargain to boot.


A loose tie rod was noted at 52000 miles.

The right side mirror doesn't always aim downward when the car is in reverse, at 51000 miles.

General Comments:

This car runs beautifully, with good power, exceptional comfort and is very quiet-- no rattles at all. You can whisper and be heard in the back seat at 70mph. I have only one complaint: the roof line is a bit low, and I'm 6'2", so I have to recline the seat back. Not a huge problem, though. I plan to drive this car until it falls apart, if that happens. But judging from the minimal repairs so far, I expect it to running great for at least another 53000 miles. A superb car. Too bad that Olds folded; this car has one of the great engines.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th November, 2003

1998 Oldsmobile Aurora 4.0L V8 from North America


Excellent value in a luxury car


A relay in the dash started to buzz one day.

The turn signal arm stopped working.

General Comments:

This car is both comfortable and fast. I absolutely love to drive it. I have been evaluating other cars as a replacement and have been disappointed by the choices that I have found. No other car seems to have the same mix of comfort, performance, and style. The seat heaters are great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th April, 2003

14th Mar 2004, 23:13

You Hit The Nail right on the head. You are not going to find a superior car to the aurora in all of the departments anyone is looking for it's beautiful, fast, it rides like no other, or is that there is no other that rides like an aurora. Anyways thank you it's about time someone noticed.

1998 Oldsmobile Aurora 4.0 liter from North America


A fast, sophisticated, savvy automobile that people won't recognize


There is a strange whine coming from the fan-belt area. My mechanic isn't sure what it is, and it hasn't changed in five months.

Front rotors wear badly.

General Comments:

The styling of the car is spectacular, all sensuous curves and lines.

The car is a wonderful driver. I regularly make 2000 mile trips in it, and it's one of the best cars I've ever had for this (only a Jag I had comes close).

It performs well, is stable and quiet. I had an older Olds that floated on curves and bumps. Not the Aurora, It is solid and hangs in there. I tend to forget that it's a 4000 pound automobile.

The sound system is excellent, and I can even set the clock. It took me a long time to figure out the mirror memory feature and some other stuff, but once I read the manual, it was okay. I love the bells and whistles on this car, of which there are more than a few.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th April, 2002

9th Dec 2002, 01:57

Whine in fan belt area was alternator on my 98 aurora. replaced it.

26th Jan 2004, 10:10

Whine near fan belt on my 1997 was also the alternator. Replaced and no more whine.

5th May 2004, 15:15

I have the same whine and they have diagnosed it as the alternator. Guess I'll get it changed.

25th Feb 2005, 09:12

The 'whine' noise that's commonly referred to is because of the bearings in the alternator going bad. The alternator needs replacing.