1989 Oldsmobile Ciera Reviews

1989 Oldsmobile Ciera SL 3.3 V6 from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.3 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance434200 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

Best I've ever owned!

Faults:

Timing chain replaced at about 197000.

PS went out at about 200000.

Alternator went out at about 250000.

Ball joints changed at about 250000 and 430000.

Fuel pump replaced at about 200000.

Computer replaced at about 300000.

Most standard parts changed (tie rod ends, wheel cylinders, etc.)

General Comments:

A great car!

I used to drive 1000 miles between Ft Collins Colorado to Austin TX every few weeks in 1993-1995. It never let me down.

Engine and transmission have not been rebuilt. Trans is reluctant to shift when temperatures are low.

3.3 was a great engine. Typically got 32-34, and sometimes 38 mpg. Still get 25-32 mpg on highway.

Interior is rather ratty now (leather seats) but it starts when the key is turned and it gets me where I'm going, plus my employer pays me 58.5 cents per mile for me to drive it. Employer has bought this car a couple of times at least.

My mechanic thinks I'm crazy when I take it on the road, but I have had less trouble from it than any other car I've ever owned.

Can't believe GM killed Olds. I once had 3 Oldsmobiles at one time with a total of >625000 miles on the 3.

One other person commented on their car having the Energizer in it. Mine is definitely an Energizer bunny if there ever was one!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th August, 2008

10th Aug 2008, 09:49

434,000 miles and still kicking. Must be one of those crappy American cars I have been hearing about but never experienced myself.

10th Aug 2008, 11:09

I agree the demise of Oldsmobile is a shame - most of my favorite cars have been Olds. However the source of these good cheap cars was General Motors engineering - cheap and basic. The 3.3 was a Buick motor, and the Century was an absolute twin of your Ciera. Alas since about 1995 GM has gone 'modern' or higher tech like the rest, so there's nothing good out there.

1989 Oldsmobile Ciera 2.8L V6 MPFI from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.8L V6 MPFI Don't Know
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance212000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Ciera

Summary:

Most cherished car I ever owned

Faults:

It did not have multiple gauges, such as oil pressure, temp., etc.

Wrecked (totaled) in July, 2002.

General Comments:

My dad bought it in Oct. of 1997 for my sister and I. After my sister graduated high school and moved out, the car became mine. It was perfect for all the road trips I made around Baton Rouge, and one trip to the New Orleans area.

It was not a fancy car. However, I was not too worried about having a luxury car.

It was very reliable, and had a comfortable ride. I do miss it very much and would gladly drive another one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th July, 2006

1989 Oldsmobile Ciera SL 3.3L from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.3L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired203000 kilometres
Most recent distance301000 kilometres
Previous carPlymouth Grand Voyager

Summary:

Good buy if you know the maintence history

Faults:

1 Fuel pump.

2 alternators.

1 heater blower motor.

1 Water pump at 301000 km.

General Comments:

I have had this car for 4 yrs and have to say that this car is awesome. Must have been built on a Wednesday.

Original motor (3.3L), original trany (automatic). Both have never been rebuilt, no dripping or burning of oil either. Power options like seats, cruise, a/c and power steering and brakes never failed yet.

Interior material long lasting as signs of wear for 301000 km not very prominent.

Does like to eat alternators and front brake rotors though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th October, 2004

1989 Oldsmobile Ciera Cruiser SL Wagon 3.3 Liter V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.3 Liter V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired171000 miles
Most recent distance180000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Acclaim

Summary:

A highly under-rated sleeper

Faults:

Since I have owned this car, I have had very few problems.

-Water Pump at 170,000 miles.

-The steering wheel assembly was re-tightened recently.

General Comments:

-Very comfortable car.

-All power options work, including the driver-side power seat and cruise control.

-I should not have a problem getting well over 200,000 miles out of this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th March, 2004

1989 Oldsmobile Ciera V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carToyota Celica

Summary:

Right amount of power for the right size car

Faults:

Cruise control would not stay lock in.

Dealer could never locate problem.

After ten years, found a tech note to replace the servo. Works great!

Now trying to figure out why after initial cold start, engine won't run at higher rpm for few minutes. After that, engine runs fine.

Smoothest riding car I have ever driven. And for size, still is considered a 6 passenger car! Especially since it was once considered a Class C mid-size car by rental companies.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th October, 2003

13th Aug 2010, 13:26

My 1990 does the same thing. No check engine light, no other indications that there is a problem. Until the temperature gauge moves up a bit, if you step on the gas, it dies. If you feather it, it tries to die. If you flutter your foot on it as if it were a wahwah pedal and you're trying to mimic a Bon Jovi riff, you can drive it cold. Otherwise, after 3-5 minutes of running, it's FINE. Oddest thing I've experienced. I'm used to 4-cylinder A-bodies, so this is new to me. I did have one 1989 Century with the 3300 before, and it had 229K miles and did not do this. It WAS however, from Erie PA, so it was rusted out, and required new brake and fuel lines, and a parking brake cable to pass inspection.

1989 Oldsmobile Ciera SL FE3 3.3L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.3L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 miles
Most recent distance160000 miles

Summary:

A great car for $900

Faults:

My heater core went out and leaks into the passenger seat.

General Comments:

This car is amazing. I use it for road racing, a little dirt racing, and of course stop light racing. Never been beaten (but I'm not sure I've taken anything bigger than about a 4.5L).

It has some rust, but otherwise is very nice. Very comfortable.

Oh yeah, can't forget the exhaust. The last bend before the muffler is completely rusted out on the top half. Revving it makes people think I have a glass-pack or similar exhaust. It is a really cool car.

Oh yeah, the suspension has been put to the test and remains strong. Home-made ram air is planned when I get around to it. Really kick some tail.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th October, 2001

Average review marks: 8.5 / 10, based on 6 reviews