1975 Oldsmobile Cutlass Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1975 Oldsmobile Cutlass S MOD 350 Rocket from North America

Year of manufacture1975
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 350 Rocket Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired81000 miles
Most recent distance83000 miles

Summary:

Pack a lunch, wimps need not apply cause this boat will fly!

Faults:

When I first got the car, the master cylinder was bad.

It has had the front suspension rebuilt.

The seats are starting to tear.

It needs to be painted.

The exhaust needs to be replaced.

General Comments:

This car will haul!

It handles like a little Mitsubishi.

It will get rubber in all gears.

I have had it to 70mph in first gear.

The 0-60 is about 6 seconds.

The only real downfall would be its size. The car is huge and hard to see out of.

It gets a lot of attention. Especially with older people who were in high school when this car was made.

It needs a rear wing. The rear wheels start to float off the road at about 150.

I would highly recommend a car like this to anyone who likes power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th January, 2003

9th Jan 2003, 17:16

Is yours a sedan or coupe?

11th Jan 2004, 10:26

No answer... maybe the owner is not with us any longer after doing 150 mph once too often.

BTW there is no way an unmodified 350 in a Cutlass would do 0-60 in 6 seconds! Stop dreaming.

11th Jan 2004, 18:22

70mph in 1st gear ehh?? That would mean your engine is spinning at well over 1100 RPM's, which my friend is impossible.

27th Oct 2005, 23:51

I can't fathom getting a Cutlass S up to 150, let alone going 0-60 in 6 seconds. I own one myself, and find it to have good, but not fantastic acceleration. I detect hyperbole.

28th Oct 2005, 15:34

I agree, partially. It might be possible to get the car to 150 if the tranny were changed to include a sixth gear, just maybe. But the 0-60 in 6 seconds, well, notice it says "about," so the car probably feels very fast. With the computer changing it's mind all the time in my '92 Cutlass, sometimes it "feels" like it's doing 0-60 in 5 or 6, and other times, the computer is more leisurely and feels a lot slower.

No, it won't really do it in 6. But moving a 4000+ lb car to speed no doubt feels really fast, with the engine noise and all.

14th Mar 2011, 13:42

My 75 Cutlass (350 4BBL) I owned back in "the day" (1979-1984) would do 0-60 in 10 seconds, top speed 105 - sorry...

It would take approx 500HP to achieve what you are stating - not impossible, but around $ 4000 - $ 5000 to modify a Cutlass to do this.

Oh well, dream on!

1975 Oldsmobile Cutlass 442 455 Rocket from North America

Year of manufacture1975
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 455 Rocket Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired97000 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Delta 88

Summary:

One bad big block brute!

Faults:

The master cylinder decided to stop working recently.

It had a bad head gasket when I bought the car.

General Comments:

This is a true performance machine. When it rolled out of Lansing in '75, it only made 190 HP! However, the grand potential of a 455 was there. So, after a total rebuild and some tweaking of the transmission, she will now get rubber in all three gears.

The swiveling bucket seat are great.

The paint scheme is awesome.

Unfortunately, there weren't very many 442's made in 1975.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd July, 2002

3rd Sep 2002, 22:04

I had a 1975 442 and it was by far my favorite of any car I have ever had. The paint lay out and the factory stripes were fantastic. That was also the last year that they used a chrome 442 on the front fender and trunk. I tracked mine down with the tag number and found it was totaled by the salesman at the car dealership 1 week after I traded it. I am still looking for one like her.

442fan@mail.com.

13th Jan 2004, 12:55

"...weren't very many 442's made in 1975."

Actually the 442 was not a separate model after 1971; it reverted to status of an option package for the Cutlass, just like it had been from 1964-1967.

31st Jan 2004, 12:22

My Father bought me a 1975 442 Olds for me for my 16th birthday in 1987. I think it was my favorite car that I've owned to this day. It was gold with two white stripes down the hood and trunk. My friends loved the car. It had bucket seats that swiveled all the way around.

I put a shift kit in the transmition to get a second gear scratch... cause that was cool to me back then.

Wish I still had it.

D. Brooke.

5th Feb 2009, 18:01

I bought a 75 Cutlass 442 from a friend of mine for $300. It had a 403 (not stock, of course) with a horrible rod knock. I pulled the motor and bought another 403 from a junkyard, replaced the good parts from the bad motor and put it back together. It wasn't stock, but was able to be put back to stock if need be. It had a 400 turbo with a 3500 stall and a 4:11 rear end. I sold the car for $1500 and wish I'd have never parted with it. I`m looking for another one now.

14th Feb 2009, 10:38

I bought a 1975 442 from a guy who had it in his driveway. Car had a bad transmission, so I got it for $250.00. I was in high school at the time (1985-6). Grey with a red stripe and red interior. Four motors and eight transmissions later, I sold the car to a friend. Had a lot of fun in that car!

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 4 reviews