1981 Oldsmobile Cutlass Reviews

1981 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme 4-door 4.3-V8 (206 c.i.) from North America

Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 4.3-V8 (206 c.i.) Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 miles
Most recent distance200000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

Best car ever made

Faults:

Alternator bearing started making noise at 180,000 miles, but still works.

Heater core went out at 160,000, but just by-passed it.

Speedometer is making noise, but still works.

General Comments:

Look, if you buy any 78-87 Cutlass with the V8 motor, you will have a reliable, durable, safe, & comfortable car. I've owned several of these for under $1,000, and drove the wheels off of each one. The ones I had were cheap northern beaters that were just rusted out. In those cases, the engine/trans outlasted the body.

Now, I am finding solid southern examples for cheap, and they are great. They are not the fastest cars in the world, but could be pretty quick with the right bolt-on parts.

I have a 1981 Cutlass (260 V8) for daily use, and a nice 1987 Cutlass Supreme sedan (307 V8) for weekends.

I've had many cars, but the rear wheel drive, V8 GM cars between 78-87 were always the best, and I can't say enough about them.

I would avoid the V6, and power windows, otherwise they are tanks, and can handle major abuse and keep on going. It's the only car I will ever buy. See pictures of mine; RAY FIALA@my space.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st December, 2008

22nd Dec 2008, 14:26

"Best car ever made"

- First let me tell you that I am an Olds fan, but how can you say that? The 260 & 307 V-8s were good only as boat anchors!

24th Dec 2008, 04:30

I'm an Olds fan as well, and I have only owned 307s. They seemed more than adequate to me. Presumably the original poster, like me, is no speed demon, and so doesn't mind a reliable, easy-going 'boat anchor'.

1981 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme Brougham 3.8 liter V6 from North America

Model year1981
Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.8 liter V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired84000 miles
Most recent distance85129 miles
Previous carDodge Stratus

Summary:

Lovely

Faults:

Window motor is having problems at different times.

Power steering hose started to leak.

A/C needs a recharge.

General Comments:

I love this car; it is reliable and comfortable.

It doesn't give me any problems, and the V6 runs like a V8.

Cruises over bumps like a Cadillac and has smooth acceleration.

There is a lot of space in the trunk and under the hood; also, inside the interior of the car (minus the back seat), but it's a coupe!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th March, 2008

1981 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme Brougham Chevy 350 4bbl from North America

Model year1981
Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Chevy 350 4bbl Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

I don't think I would ever get rid of it!

Faults:

Idle arm.

Tie rod end.

General Comments:

These are one of the most comfortable cars I've ever rode in.

It's very fast and reliable.

Why buy anything else?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th March, 2008

1981 Oldsmobile Cutlass Calais 350 Olds from North America

Model year1981
Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 350 Olds Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired29000 miles
Most recent distance38000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

The best car that I have ever owned

Faults:

Driver side window will not roll down all the way, carburetor floods out often after running in one spot for too long.

General Comments:

For a 23 year old car it drives and performs like new, the interior in in great shape with very few cracks in the dash. True dual exhaust, 3.55 positive traction rear end gears, high performance engine set-up, power windows, power locks, monster tachometer with a shift light, Hurst dual gate shifter, and very plush and comfortable seating for 4.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th October, 2004

1981 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme 307 2 bbl from North America

Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership1995
Engine and transmission 307 2 bbl Automatic
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Monte Carlo

Summary:

A six month waste of time

Faults:

Car was bought used, and previous owner bypassed the engine control computer because of emissions. Car stalled numerous times in hot weather. Air conditioning compressor went shortly after purchasing the vehicle. Discovered that you can't cut the compressor belt off without effecting performance of the engine. At the end, mechanic discovered that #4 cylinder was bad, and without restoring computer, car would never pass inspection.

General Comments:

Car was kelly green, with flawless light green top. Interior was also same color as top, (cloth) Dashboard had no cracks. When car was in running order, it ran flawlessly. Very comfortable and smooth on the highway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th July, 2004

23rd May 2013, 19:10

Sounds like it was a great car... until the other guy cut into it. Wasn't the car's fault on that one buddy.

1981 Oldsmobile Cutlass Brougham 4.4L 267ci V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.4L 267ci V8 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired152000 kilometres
Most recent distance154000 kilometres

Summary:

You can't find better for 800$can

Faults:

Little oil burned on the engine due to old sealing involving the gasket.

Electric windows don't open anymore, except the little ones on the back.

Rust on the bumpers and the body, but not too bad in general.

Sometimes the carburetor choke does not open, but with a pencil you'll be all right! Never happened to me anyway!

General Comments:

Reliable car, always starts during winter, even with changing weather; below and over freezing point. Great comfort, seats a so comfortable, very clean on the inside without abusive caring, engine not as powerful as it use to be, but still a V-8 to move you around. Need too much gas, but yet not that bad because it's a small V-8. Handle well if you follow speed limit!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th May, 2002

17th Aug 2008, 04:03

Is this 267 V-8 an Oldsmobile engine? I've heard of the 260 Oldsmobile V-8, and of course the 307, but not the 267. Maybe it is a Chevrolet motor?

29th Jul 2009, 19:21

The 267 is a Chevrolet engine. Starting in the 1970s, there was a lot of mixing up of engines between GM divisions.

1981 Oldsmobile Cutlass Brodart 8 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 8 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired250000 kilometres
Most recent distance125000 kilometres
Previous carGMC Toyota

Summary:

Great old car ahead of its time!

Faults:

It rusts in the same spot in the rear chassis.

The interior started to fall off from the inside of the car.

From time to time the engine will not start, just turn the key back and forth and it will start.

General Comments:

Rides great on the highway. It rides great anywhere. Spoils you for other cars.

It does like it's gas.

Tons of features. Power windows, locks, trunk, cruise, air, tilt steering.

Nice classic car, as of today May 26, 2001 my next car is going to be a Cutlass Supreme.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th May, 2001

Average review marks: 8.4 / 10, based on 7 reviews