1983 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme Brougham 307 from North America

Summary:

Best car ever made

Faults:

Carburator went out, so I switched to a 76 model carb to get rid of all the computer stuff.

Gas tank has a crack in it. Barely drips.

Oil pan leaks a bit.

Transmission leaks.

Paint is worn out in a few spots.

General Comments:

Best riding car I ever sat in.

Been in 3 ditches and you can't even tell.

Built to last.

Love the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd August, 2006

1983 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme Brougham 307 from North America

Summary:

Great car and very reliable

Faults:

The speedometer and odometer didn't work. They both quit at 193,000 miles.

I replaced the heater core for those cold Wisconsin winters.

The back wheel cylinder and rear brake lines had to be replaced.

General Comments:

I love this car.

I bought it for $900 and definitely got my use out of it.

It probably has close to 300,000 miles on it.

Gas mileage is bad, but it is not fuel injected and has no overdrive.

The 4 barrel makes it fast for its size.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th February, 2005

1983 Oldsmobile Cutlass Calais 3.8 from North America

Summary:

Amazing First Car

Faults:

The motor blew at 117,000 miles. I wasn't even pushing it hard... had just bought the car two months ago when I was learning to drive. Still don't know what happened.

Bought with fist sized hole in trunk, now 3 fist sized.

Now at about 130,000 miles with a new engine - 5.7L 350. Frame starting to crack.

Anyone looking to buy one of these BEWARE. Rusts extremely badly at rear body mounts, trunk, tire wells, and bottom of doors.

General Comments:

The car is extremely easy to make into your own first little hot-rod.

Extremely good styling if you like 80's cars.

Extremely easy to hook almost ANY motor up to it. (Replaced my 3.8 with a '79 olds 5.7 V8 on stock motor mounts).

Handles decent, but with 3.73's the car picks up and pushes this beast quickly

. But they suck for the highway.

Interior is UNBELIEVABLY comfortable. I would be comfortable driving this car across country.

I would reccomend this car to ANYONE.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th April, 2003

1983 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme 3.8 V6 from North America

Summary:

Cheap Luxury Car

Faults:

Nothing yet. I spent a lot of money to get it road worthy. New brakes, shocks, motor mounts, belts, hoses, ball joints and a few electrical repairs. A/C needs seals and a charge, but I am going to wait on that. Interior is nice. Roomy and comfortable. Car would not have looked any better if it had sat on the show room floor for 20 years! A lot of people don't believe it's 20 years old.

General Comments:

I bought this to use as a "beater" or "bar car". Turns out I like it so much that I drive it more than my 2000 Dakota Quad Cab. I am very pleased with the performance of the V-6. It will cruise all day long at 75-80 MPH on the interstates with the cruise control with no effort. No ball of fire off the line, but still more than adequate for my purposes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th December, 2002

20th Apr 2004, 11:21

I own an 1983 olds cutlass with a 307 and they are worth the money for sure!

19th Sep 2004, 19:43

I own an 1985 Olds. Cutlass Supreme. I've have it for about a month now. It's has a V-8 307 Engine 92,000+ miles, brand new paint (Cream/Burgundy interior) ALL original too. I've been looking for this car for a LONG time, it's seems like everyone who owns a 84-88 Cutlass is either not selling it or it's just in too bad of a condition to buy. This is my 1st car, and I don't plan on getting rid of it anytime soon. I wish I could post a Pic!

J.Miggs.

30th Sep 2004, 21:55

I was given a 1983 Cutlass Supreme V-6 with 171,000 miles upon it. An engine rebuild at 90,000. It needs a paint job real bad, but runs VERY well. Knock on wood, I have had no problems that would make the vehicle unroad worthy. Best free car anyone could receive.

Kingsley Kona, Hawaii.

5th Sep 2008, 01:28

I got a 1983 Cutlass Supreme about 8 months ago, it has 79,000 miles on it. It was sold to us for 400.00.

I love driving this car, it runs better and smoother than our Grand Prix!

We recently bought a Durango with 3 seats because we have three daughters. We were trying to sell the Cutlass to pay for some of the loan on the Durango, but think I have changed my mind - I use any excuse I can to drive that car with no insurance!

I think we might keep that for a backup car, and also a project, even though it's pretty much perfect already all original! I love it!

7th Nov 2010, 20:25

I have an '83 Cutlass Supreme that I acquired a few years ago. It has the 4.3L V-6 diesel engine. The car is in excellent condition and runs like a top. I avg 34MPG in the city and 38/39 on the highway. This is the third Cutlass I have owned. Have loved every one of them. Always reliable, and if they did need service, always easy to get parts and fix. The diesel has not given me one bit of trouble, and I love the looks I get when people hear it. I have even had a couple of guys tell me I needed to check the oil!