1990 Oldsmobile Cutlass 3.1 V6 from North America


A dependable car that will last


The most common problem with this car is that is has had a number of leaks, from transmission fluid to coolant and oil. Most have not been that expensive to repair.

I have gone through 2 water pumps, the first at 125,000 miles and the second just recently at 202,000 miles.

Only major engine repair was at about 150,000 miles when it needed a new engine coil. It cost about $500 but has not had any engine trouble since.

Also replaced the struts at around 120,000 miles.

General Comments:

This car is very reliable and will keep running without any major problems as long as you maintain it.

It offers a smooth ride even at a fast speed. Even with 202,000 miles it still rides smoothly even at speeds up to 100 miles an hour.

This car is great on gas for it's size especially when used on highway conditions.

This car has also done well with rust. Has been in Canada and exposed to winter conditions there numerous times. Other cars there are rusting away after 10 years, but this car had very minimal rust.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd December, 2003

1990 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme SL 3.1 V6 from North America


A well deserved car.


Previous owner didn't take very good care of her. She was low or empty on all fluids and didn't run well.

She had an oil leak, it was an easy fix didn't cost much at all.

The anti-lock brakes have been good, except I have previously got them done at Midas and they have been crap ever since.

Fuel injectors are going. That's going to be a pricey fix, but it'll be worth it.

I have just recently put a new radiator hose on her, it blew just 3 days ago. It only cost me $10 and easy for me to install.

I've had to put a new battery in her, but that's typical for me. I put a new battery in every car I've owned.

She had a bad paint job, I've since then painted her black. She was silver, I think she looks pretty now.

General Comments:

Over all she's been a good car. Great on gas mileage.

She's always willing to go, and is hard to slow down some times.

She's been to Wisconsin and back to South Dakota 5 times for business trips and hasn't given me any trouble.

I would recommend this car to anyone looking for a fun and smooth ride.

Keep the fluids full and do the regular maintenance required and she will be a wonderful car for you!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th October, 2002

1990 Oldsmobile Cutlass Internation Edition 3.1 V6 from North America


A great car for anyone who will take care and cherish it


The thermostat went out at 117,500.

Had to replace both rear brake rotors at 122,000.

Dashboard toward the windshield defroster is bowed.

There is a buzzing noise in the speakers when the radio is turned on.

General Comments:

I highly recommend this car to anyone that has the chance to buy it.

It has excellent acceleration. Mine has a 5 speed automatic transmission. This makes it run even better.

The ONLY thing I have to complain about, is the gas mileage when doing a lot of city driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th August, 2002

1990 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme International Series 3.1 gas FI from North America


Great comfortable reliable car


I have had to replace the front and rear struts, but this is something you have to do for all cars.

I had to replace the alternator at about 125,000 miles.

General Comments:

Overall this is the best car I have owned.

The car has lots of power and runs very well.

The seats are very comfortable.

The cockpit is like a fighter plane cockpit. Especially at night all lit up.

Most trouble free. Very reliable.

I've had no major repairs and have never been stranded with this car.

It gets great gas mileage for the size. Consistently 20-25 in the city and 25-40 on the highway depending on the terrain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th January, 2002

24th Sep 2002, 13:47

I have recently purchased an 89 Cutlass International. It has 316,000 k's and it still sounds and performs amazing. Like others I have had to replace the alternator and front struts.

9th May 2004, 15:24

My 1990 International Series is my first car. The mechanical workings are well designed; however, I have had a terrible time with the electronics. Smoke will sometimes come curling out of the steering column, wiring for the turn signals has gone out, the moon roof became stuck opened (of course it rained and I had no tarp), the electric locks lock and unlock at random times, I had to disconnect the trunk release because it would suddenly open while driving, the electronic dash no longer dims, and the electric adjustments on the passenger side seat malfunctions. I highly suggest never buying a car with all the bells and whistles.

27th Oct 2004, 23:21

Re Cutlass International.

I have a 1989 Cutlass International, 5 speed manual. Purchased car in 1990, has 375,000 kilometers, engine runs great, 1 alternator, 3rd clutch, original SS exhaust, new rear composite spring. I am currently replacing rear struts, and repairing rust (new metal) on running boards. The car still looks great and am giving to son who picked the car out in 1990 because it had the most number of buttons. (they all still work).

Great Car.