1990 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme 3.1L from North America


The car is a bit grumpy, but will perform reliably if maintained


Dashboard displays work at will.

Gas tank float may be stuck at full.

Electronic sensors are unreliable.

The coolant leaks.

The tape player won't eject my tape, and I can't listen to the radio until I get it out.

General Comments:

I just bought this car a week ago for $1400.

So far, the bugs I'm experiencing are about the same as other reviews have mentioned.

The car looks great, no rust at all, and when the electronic displays work, the interior is mint.

The shifting is a bit harsh, especially at the first few lights.

The car is not happy to move before the coolant temperature reaches about 40 C. If it's too cold, it will just stall.

This cart has started first shot every cold winter morning, and once it gets going, it's a little tank.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th January, 2005

1990 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme 3.1 6 cylinder from North America


It's like a child. You love them, but they drive you nuts


3 days after I bought this car, it began dying out at stoplights. We have had the car checked by more than 6 mechanics, and none of them have been able to agree as to the problem. When you stop, the engine revs itself up, then dies. We were told it was the oxygen sensor. We changed it, and the problem returned three days later. After another diagnostic, the mechanic told us it was still the O2 sensor, and also the fuel pump voltage is low.

General Comments:

If anyone has had the same problem with the 1990's 4 door model, please give me a clue, because all of mine were left at the last stoplight. Otherwise I love this car, it is responsive and very comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th November, 2004

27th Jan 2005, 12:36

About the revving and dying. I had a 1989 Olds Cutlass Supreme that did the same thing. It was the brain/main computer that went out/bad. It eventually got to the point where it wouldn't start. It was kind of pricey to replace (over $1000) but after which it was back to normal. Who knows maybe you can find someone to replace it for cheaper.

1990 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme 3.1 from North America


Reliable and cheap are a good combo


Replaced the Alternator at 140,000 miles.

Broken turn signal switch 145,000 miles which led to no brake lights.

Constant small leak of all fluids.

Hood switch broke right away. It is a cheap plastic part that I replaced twice. After that I stopped replacing them and just used pliers to pull the switch to release the hood.

Passenger side door only opened from the inside.

Car always ran hot.

General Comments:

I paid 2,000 for this car 4 years ago expecting to get a couple years out of it, but it surprised me by lasting until almost 150,000 miles until a crack in the intake totaled it.

The car was a great runner. Started every time even in freezing temperatures.

Went on a few long drives in it and the car ran fine. Actually it seemed to run its best when highway driving which I did everyday for the last 2 years.

You can find them cheap, maintenance costs are reasonable and if they don't overheat it's a good first car for someone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th October, 2004

3rd Jun 2012, 08:21

My driver's side door only opens from inside. The handle on the outside is all right, but like the other person said, he had to repair the door linkage ($2.00).

1990 Oldsmobile Cutlass 3.1 6 cylinder from North America


It's a tank and a Mercedes all in one


We replaced and oxygen sensor, spark plugs, oil, cables, air filter, and fuel filter the day after we bought it.

General Comments:

We bought this car only 2 weeks ago and we already love it. It is comfortable to be in and it drives like a dream and it will get up and go even with a small 6 cylinder in it. The car does have a dent in the back passenger side panel, though it is very small and it has been repaired from an accident where the person who painted it used 1 shade different from the blue on the rest of the car. I would like to know if 2,200$ for this car at 122k miles was too much or a great deal. And if there are any things I should know to watch out for.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th October, 2004

30th Apr 2009, 05:48

I owned one of these in the past, and recently bought a new one. I'm sorry to say, and I don't want to sound like a jerk, but you paid way, way, way, too MUCH money for that car. Despite the fact that the Cutlass is a great car as far as comfort and reliability, the real money value of these cars are VERY low. Last week I purchased one in mint condition for my sister for $600 with 63k, and the one that I owned had approx 138k on it and I purchased it for $450. One thing I should mention is that I purchased these from private owners.

I could justify an Olds Cutlass Ciera selling for around the $1200 ballpark, at a used car dealership with no more than 100k. Like I said, I don't want to sound like a jerk, but I have worked in the auto industry for several years, both in sales and service, and I just wanted to give the straight facts.

3rd Jun 2012, 08:36

I don't know where you get your cars, but what he paid isn't out of line. What you say you paid for the cars, the condition, and mileage is unheard of in Michigan. Where do you live? I'll let you find a car for me; I need another Cutlass Supreme International!

5th Jun 2012, 07:32

I was in the automobile business starting in 1974 until 2007, and in my opinion $2,200 is far too much to pay for a 1990 Cutlass in the condition described. That's a vehicle worth no more than $1,000 if there ever was one.

5th Jun 2012, 12:28

$2,200 would be a normal 'retail' price for a car like this in the Midwest - maybe a little less. I think the people above quoting the very low prices of $600-1,200 are referencing private seller finds, where the seller was not very motivated to get the maximum price - rather, just to get rid of the car quickly. If you can find deals like this, it is great, but if you can't (frequently it is a long wait or search for such deals to pop up), and must buy from used car dealers, the price will be around the $2,000 mark for cars like this.