1993 Oldsmobile Cutlass Reviews - Page 5 of 7

1993 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme S 3.1 litter Multi Port from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.1 litter Multi Port Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired47000 miles
Most recent distance52000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

This car is one of a kind

Faults:

I bought this car in 1993, and with-in a few months I had to replace the alternator. I've only had to replace the battery twice sense I took over ownership. The key-less entry only works half the time. As of right now I'm having some problems with the speedometer and the rpm gages. I haven't taken it in yet, but planning so here pretty soon. The defrost vents on the the dash has started to bow.

General Comments:

First of all I would like to say that this car is a very nice car to have for any age. I myself am only 18. This is my very fist car and I am proud of it. It gets great gas mileage, and never seems to quit. The car has great acceleration for only being a 3.1 litter. It does have some drawbacks on the inside. But what car doesn't? This car in no Cadillac, but in my opinion its right up there with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th September, 2003

10th Sep 2003, 23:03

Wait a minute, you are 18 now and you bought the car 10 years ago? I'll bet your salesman won't forget the day he sold a new Cutlass to an 8 year old.

1993 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme SL Special Edition 3.1 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 miles
Most recent distance191000 miles

Summary:

Nice looking, mechanics heaven

Faults:

When I purchased the car the engine needed to be replaced, however, everything else was in good condition. Since purchase, and aside from replacing the engine, I have replaced both front and rear brake pads, rotors and calipers. Also, I have replaced the transmission, catalytic converter, ignition coil and module, rear struts, hood release, stereo, alternator and the air conditioning condenser.

General Comments:

The exterior of the car has held up magnificently. The paint is still shiny and continues to look as if it were a brand new vehicle. Inside, the carpet in front has come loose as have the plastic coverings of the door frame. The cloth bucket seats in front are worn, but considering the car itself has 191,000 miles on it its as good as can be expected. The beauty of the car has held up, but the mechanics have not.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th June, 2003

1993 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme Convertible 3.4 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.4 DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired66000 miles
Most recent distance82000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

A very sweet cruising machine, Sebrings aren't this nice!

Faults:

She blew the timing belt at about 79,000 miles.

General Comments:

This car is the nicest cruising car that I have owned. Thanks to the 200 HP 3.4 DOHC motor, she gets right up whenver the gas is punched. No problem at all getting onto turnpikes or freeways whatsoever.

My previous car was a Cavalier Z-24 Convertible and this ragtop is much, much nicer. Plenty of leg room for adults and a decent sized trunk. Top goes up and down faithfully with no problems.

Only down side was when she blew the timing belt, cost about $650 US to get it fixed. Other than that, no problems, I really like this car, too bad Oldsmobile is going out of existence.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st December, 2002

20th Oct 2003, 15:06

I appreciate the positive review. I only wish my '93 Convertible operated as well. I have babied the car (only 58,000 miles on it in 10 years), and I have already had the transmission rebuilt and had to replace the rear disk break calipers. The heating/AC console cut out at 50,000 and recently the sound system cut out on me, too! The alternator has been replaced once, and the starter is on its deathbed. One power window works sporadically, but the good news is... the other three work fine! I love the styling, the rear seat space, and the power of the car, but it will cost me a fortune to keep on the road!

12th Jan 2008, 01:05

GM recommends the timing belt be replaced at 70,000 miles. My '94 Convertible blew at 69,000.

1993 Oldsmobile Cutlass Ciera S 3.1 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired51000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Reliable and easy to maintain vehicle

Faults:

Front brakes replaced 2 times.

Coil that supports spark plugs went at 80,000 miles.

Air conditioner broken.

General Comments:

NEVER left me stranded on the side of the road, always was able to make it home.

Great gas mileage for a V-6.

Has great acceleration.

Only had 2 repairs in 2 years / 50,000 miles.

Repairs are cheap.

Excellent heating system.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th October, 2002

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 30 reviews