1993 Oldsmobile Cutlass Reviews - Page 7 of 7

1993 Oldsmobile Cutlass 3.1 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired132000 miles
Most recent distance132332 miles
Previous carGeo Prizm

Summary:

My Cutlass Supreme treats me like a Queen!

Faults:

I have only had the car for two months. So far, I am only having problems with the power window motor (which the seller advised me of prior to purchasing). I have to open and close the driver's side door to "reset" the motor in order to roll up the window.

General Comments:

This car is fast!

I get great gas mileage.

The seats are comfortable. It is spacious and quiet.

There could have been a better stereo system installed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th May, 2001

1993 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme Convertible 3.4 L DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.4 L DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance82000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Lumina Z34

Summary:

A convertible that feels like a sedan!

Faults:

Replaced 3 coil packs, rear disk, caliper and pads.

General Comments:

This is a beautiful car to own and drive, but don't expect not to have to spend some money to keep it that way!

Overall it is one of the best riding Cutlass Supremes that I have been in.

If buying a convertible model, make sure you try to get one with the 3.4L DOHC engine, it's a little more on the wallet to keep on the road, but it is worth the cost. This is a very heavy car and the extra horse power really makes a difference.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th April, 2001

29th May 2001, 17:07

What kind of gas mileage?

1993 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme SL 3.1 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance23000 miles
Previous carFORD Lincoln Continental

Summary:

Cool

Faults:

I keep blowing the stop fuse... the light sockets appear to be in good working order... Can anyone assist me. This is an unresolved issue.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th January, 2001

7th Mar 2001, 09:25

About the fuse problem... replace the 10amp stop fuse with a 20amp fuse... had to do the same with my Cutlass Supreme.

1993 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme SL 3.1 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired118000 miles
Most recent distance119000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier RS

Summary:

Beautiful car, fast too!

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong but the previous owner said he rebuilt the tranny at 110,000.

General Comments:

I LOVE this car, it is bright blue and I never saw a prettier car than this.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th September, 2000

25th Jan 2004, 07:35

I've got a 93 olds cutlass supreme sl and its got 154000 miles, and the only thing I had to do was changed the oil and tires. not even an oil leak. really love this car.

Greg.

9th Oct 2004, 23:40

I have a 93 olds cutlass s and my digital dash won't work its shorting out does anyone know how to fix it let me know thx.

1993 Oldsmobile Cutlass Ciera S V6 3300 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission V6 3300
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10

Faults:

Nothing substantial. Just the rails that the ash tray slides in and out on.

General Comments:

A good dependable car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th January, 1999

24th Jan 2001, 12:07

I had the same problems you had! The rails the ashtray slides on mine broke... the ashtray was the only thing inside that was cheap...

16th Mar 2001, 08:00

It's good to know I'm not the only one with ashtray problems. the only other problem I've had is when I ran it into a snowbank and smashed the grill, but it still runs great.

4th Oct 2002, 14:53

Man,we all have the same problem. Olds needs to put some serious research money into better ash trays.

4th Jul 2003, 18:02

Just purchased a 1993 with 111,812 miles from a good friend. The only reason why she was selling was found another 93 Olds Cutlass Ciera S with 50,000 miles. I knew she was happy with the one she sold to me and I find the car to be very practical for a second car.

Very comfortable, solid and fast. I enjoy having the automatic gears in the column providing extra space in the middle.

My friend is a smoker and the ashtray is still in top shape. I have very little rust and the interior is in near mint condition.

Cons: Would like to be able to open the truck from the inside.

25th Oct 2004, 16:06

Bought a '93 ciera in Feb. '04 with 160,000 miles and still going strong. But I do have a problem with that darn ashtray. Other than that great car.

1993 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme S 3.1 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.0 / 10

Faults:

Transmission, air conditioner, alternator (2), battery, window motors, brakes, engine seized ...

General Comments:

Check in Consumer Magazines ... these cars are notorious for electrical problems .... and transmission difficulties.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st December, 1998

21st May 2001, 09:05

The comment about electrical problems hit the nail right on the head. I have a '92 Cutlass and there is no end to the electrical problems I have had...

14th Apr 2003, 16:00

Had electrical trouble with door locks, don't work above 55 degrees outside. Big oil leak in engine were distributor was used in older engines now its just a plug that leaks. Dealer want $1000 or more to fix.

15th May 2003, 13:26

I was the sole owner of my 1993 Olds Cutlass Supreme and have had nothing but trouble from the outset. Repair costs to date are $9,000 including a transmission at only 50,000 miles. The electrical problems are never ending. I have replaced alternators brakes and batteries too many times.

15th Nov 2004, 15:02

I am an owner of a 1992 cutlass supreme sl and all I've had is trouble with this car from day one. The first problem being the brakes. Then my window quit working. Then a new exhaust system.Then the alternator and battery went south. I just came inside from trying to get it to start. I don't know what the next problem will be, but lets hope it's an easy fix. I love classic Oldsmobiles, but this one hasn't been the best.

1993 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme S 3.1 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 3.1
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10

Faults:

Strut on rear suspension.

Water Pump.

General Comments:

Only negative would be excessive wind noise around doors or windows.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th June, 1998

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 30 reviews