1997 Oldsmobile Cutlass Reviews

1997 Oldsmobile Cutlass 3.1 Litre from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.1 Litre Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired87000 kilometres
Most recent distance126000 kilometres
Previous carOldsmobile Spirit

Summary:

Five stars

Faults:

I have had no serious problems with this car.

I keep it maintained, and it has been very trustworthy.

General Comments:

This has been the best car I have ever owned.

I require a comfortable driver's seat, and except for a Buick Park Avenue that I owned, this seat is great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th October, 2010

1997 Oldsmobile Cutlass SL 3.1 litre from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.1 litre Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired170000 miles
Most recent distance215000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

Good, but prefer a Crown Victoria instead

Faults:

Purchased 4 door 1997 Cutlass Supreme SL 3.1 litre at 170,000 miles, and ran it hard everywhere in Toronto and surrounding areas.

Had plugs, air filter, oil change etc etc... tune up at 200,000 km with brake repair. Told heater core is gone.

At 210,000 km pulley shaft broke. Replaced in Thunder Bay.

Fort McMurray Alberta at 215,000km, thermostat stuck, car overheated. Head gasket damage.

General Comments:

If I had not run the car overheated, it would still be running really well.

Interior is a little sparse, but I suppose it is not a luxury car so I cannot quibble.

Overall the car ran fine with no major problems with a normal maintenance schedule. Considering its age and how I drove it, held up quite nicely.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th January, 2010

1997 Oldsmobile Cutlass supreme SL 3.1L from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.1L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired79000 miles
Most recent distance125500 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

An all around good car

Faults:

The intake gaskets on my car started leaking at around 115,000 miles. Which means it started leaking antifreeze, not badly, but enough that they had to be replaced.

The water pump also went at about 110,000. Cheap and easy fix not that uncommon to any car.

The only sore spot was that I had to replace the rack and pinion twice. Once because it was leaking and once because the pinion gear separated from the rack.

The power antenna also quit working.

General Comments:

Overall I love this car.

It has plenty of power.

It is extremely comfortable on long trips.

The air conditioning is ice cold.

Handles very well for a mid-level car.

It is also one of the best looking cars GM put out in the nineties.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 2005

1997 Oldsmobile Cutlass SL 3.1 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired66000 miles
Most recent distance76000 miles

Summary:

Sporty appearance and handling

Faults:

Replaced radiator, lower intake gasket, spark plugs and wires, fuel filter, and PVC valve.

General Comments:

Other than typical up keep and a few little things I have little to no problems with it. I love this car. I love the entire styling from exterior to interior. Mine even had a factory installed block heater. I think it was a very stupid thing for Oldsmobile to drop the Cutlass Supreme W-body line.

This car handles very well and has great acceleration. I have no complaints about it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th September, 2004

1997 Oldsmobile Cutlass 3.1 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired5000 miles
Most recent distance68500 miles
Previous carChrysler Town and Country

Summary:

A royal piece of junk that should be shunned at all cost

Faults:

The engine has a ticking noise when it's cold. The dealer tells me this is normal, but it's only getting louder with time. I have an extended warranty, but the dealers (the only ones that are approved) refuse to fix it, stating that they don't want an "inspector" to come by. The engine had the pistons supposedly replaced at around 6,000 miles, but the noise continued.

Brake rotors had to be replaced at 45,000 miles at a cost of $600.

Brake lights went out 5 or more times before the 30,000 mile warranty period was over. The problem was finally fixed.

Alternator went out at 30,000 miles.

Interior plastic parts are flimsy. Visor snaps keep falling off.

There is a noise on the left front steering that I'm told is normal, but sounds like a scraping.

The engine used to vibrate rather wildly until the dealer installed some sort of a dampener on the engine mounts. Now the engine still vibrates at idle, but one doesn't feel it as much.

The car's cam sensor went out and stranded me.

General Comments:

The dealer screwed up my after-market alarm and sunroof controls after I had the brakes done. The dealer, Marina Pontiac, in Santa Cruz is the WORST! They have horrible customer service.

I will never buy another GM product in my life. This car has been incredibly unreliable, and the dealers don't want to "deal" with the problems it has.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd August, 2003

3rd Jun 2004, 18:16

All I have to say is I have an olds cutlass and nothing has gone wrong and it runs great (maybe you have a lemon)

Just wondering what do you drive now...

4th Apr 2005, 18:11

One should never use one bad experience to make everything seems bad.However, I am familiar with the cutlass and I'm curious to know what should I expect from the vehicles performance at 70 thousand miles. what are some of the good points and bad points about the vehicle. I was told that the previous owner took really good care of the vehicle, but I notice that when it is turned on and is warming up the exhaust has a very strong smell.

14th Jun 2008, 21:26

I love my 1997 Oldsmobile Cutlass. Last Summer my AC worked fine. This year, the 1st hot day of the season, I turned on the air, and I got only hot air. My mechanic fixed the problem.

I got the car back and now it sounds like a helicopter. When idle, it revs very high, and is burning a lot of gas. My mechanic says nothing is wrong. But the car I have loved, and has been oh so good to me, now sounds very awful, and is very uneconomical to run. Now I want to take it to a dealer. Good idea?

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 6 reviews