Oldsmobile Omega Reviews

1973 Oldsmobile Omega Sedan 4 door 350 V8 "Gold Rocket" from North America

Model year1973
Year of manufacture1973
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 350 V8 "Gold Rocket" Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired42121 miles
Most recent distance96309 miles
Previous carBuick Park Avenue

Summary:

My twin daughters will own this with pride, as I did with the remodeled Camaro my dad helped me with

Faults:

Wheel bearings at about 70000, and I've replaced the shoes a couple of times.

General Comments:

I have never had any major problems, and I've had this since I was a Jr. in high school.

Traveled to NC because of being stationed in Camp Lejeune for the Marines, and I had no trouble, and I'll say it makes the heads turn!

I have a cold air intake that I built custom, directly to the scoops I put on, and dual performance exhaust, and some nice HP/4000 Hercules tires on with Cragar rims.

I love this car to death!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th February, 2012

1981 Oldsmobile Omega from North America

Model year1981
Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission  
Distance when acquired130000 kilometres
Most recent distance145000 kilometres
Previous carMercury Grand Marquis

Summary:

A nice little X-body K car

Faults:

Brakes seem over powered - seized when braking a bit harder/suddenly.

Paint fade / bubbling on plastic grill.

Noise from ashtray/cassette/tool box.

General Comments:

2.8L engine is good for its weight. Good handling and smooth cruise, and very quiet when downhill.

Like the power windows of my model and vinyl top.

Seats are not as comfortable as they look like.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th May, 2010

16th May 2010, 16:38

You got the X-body part right, but the "K-cars" are Chrysler products, and quite a bit more reliable then the GM X-body models, from my experience.

1976 Oldsmobile Omega 350 4bbl from North America

Model year1976
Year of manufacture1975
First year of ownership1975
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 350 4bbl Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

Good dependable driver

Faults:

All the little things... water pump, alternator, master cylinder. Nothing big.

General Comments:

This was not my car. It was my parents, and I inherited it after they died.

I very rarely drove it, and I have it in storage now. I start it every few days & change the oil every few months.

Even though it hasn't been tuned in 13 years, it still starts. The A/C is gone, but that's a simple thing to fix.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th July, 2009

9th Jul 2009, 14:10

Give that poor car a tuneup, I bet your gas mileage will almost double.

1978 Oldsmobile Omega 305 from North America

Model year1978
Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 305 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired43000 miles
Most recent distance56000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Nova

Summary:

Best car I've owned other than a Nova!

Faults:

I needed to replace the $4 fuel filter twice.

General Comments:

The car sat for some time before I bought it. Since I've had the car it has run excellently!

She runs strong, handles well (for thirty-year old engineering/suspension) and is just as fuel-efficient as the newer cars getting 17 MPG.

The only thing that could make it better is if it had the Chevy Moniker.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st October, 2008

1983 Oldsmobile Omega Base 2.5L TBI Iron Duke from North America

Model year1983
Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.5L TBI Iron Duke Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired177500 miles
Most recent distance203000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

A reliable car

Faults:

I've replaced an alternator, front wheel hub assembly, water pump, shifter A/T select cable, and electric radiator fan. It's to be expected with a high mileage older car.

General Comments:

It rides comfortable, but is in need for new shocks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th September, 2008

1978 Oldsmobile Omega 231 ci V6 from North America

Model year1978
Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 231 ci V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired26000 miles
Most recent distance42000 miles
Previous carBuick Skylark

Summary:

A good old well built American automobile

Faults:

Transmission lines were leaking in June of last year due to 30 years of Pennsylvanian weather; they were replaced for $30. The car had 41000 miles on it then.

Also in last June the sub-frame mount was replaced because it was dry rotted due to the car sitting for the winter months. I also had to have catalytic converters installed on the car in order for it to pass inspection, which cost me $140.00.

Radio doesn't work due to disconnected speakers in the rear of the car.

General Comments:

I love my Oldsmobile Omega and I wouldn't trade it for any other car in the world, not even a Rolls Royce.

The car is very very fuel efficient for being a bigger and older car. I would say it gets at least 30 mpg on the highway and 22mpg in the city.

Seats are comfortable for the most part, however they could have had better lumbar support built into them.

The car handles well when driving it, no matter what the speed. It does pull a little to the left due to it being out of alignment, which I need to have done on it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd August, 2008

1980 Oldsmobile Omega 6 cdyl gas from North America

Model year1980
Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership1980
Most recent year of ownership1985
Engine and transmission gas Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Faults:

Brakes failed early on.

Radiator replaced twice before 30000 miles.

Alternator belt replaced every 5000 miles.

Doors rusted off hinges within 3 years.

Sunroof leaked.

Transmission failed shortly beyond warranty.

Paint flaking off upper trunk and hood.

Car would sometimes just stop and become difficult or impossible to start resulting in towing.

Air conditioner failed to work in third year.

General Comments:

This was the car that finally turned me off GM after purchasing 4 new GM products previously.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th April, 2007

30th Apr 2007, 13:44

"This was the car that finally turned me off GM after purchasing 4 new GM products previously."

- No surprise. This was one of the worst pieces of junk ever made by GM.

1st May 2007, 16:15

This was an "X" car, like the Chevrolet Citation. The 1980 "X" bodies were the most recalled cars of their time. They had 10 or 11 just that year alone and I believe hold the record. Initially the automotive press loved it-a compact front-wheel-drive, in that day and age. But these kinds of problems obviously overshadowed that later on.

3rd May 2007, 12:58

You sure don't see many of the Omega's around or any of the early 1980s X-body cars around, I know that the 1980 X-cars (Chevrolet Citation, Pontiac Phoenix, Buick Skylark and Oldsmobile Omega) went through a long list of recalls.

I thought that the Omega was the classiest looking of the front wheel drive X-cars.

22nd Nov 2010, 22:31

I owned a 198 Oldsmobile Omega. Bought new. Previously new GM cars I purchased included 1966 Chev Impala, 1968 Olds Cutlass S, 1971 Chev Impala, 1973 Chev Impala, 1976 Corvette Ray, 1980 Olds Omega...

It was the Omega that turned me off GM cars. I never purchased another one. The rad has gone, tranny gone, paint peeling, door hinges rusted off all within 3 years. Dealer offered no help. GM just produced crap and it caught up with them.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 15 reviews