1997 Opel Astra Reviews

1997 Opel Astra F Station Wagon 1.6 from Germany

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired99000 kilometres
Most recent distance216000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Polo

Summary:

Good, spacious and cheap family car

Faults:

Head gasket at 170.000 km. Cylinder head was replaced with a used one.

Central locking system had to be fixed once.

Driver's seat was complete junk at 200.000, kept it.

Engine, wheel bearings and suspension were mostly done at 216.000 km.

After 14 years of service, some of the electrical equipment had stopped working, and the air conditioning had stopped working.

Some mirrors, bulbs, tires, brake pads, all due to normal wear.

General Comments:

A very reliable car that never let us down in more than 8 years. Cheap to maintain and reasonably comfortable.

It provides lots of space, and fuel economy is not that bad. From 6.5 to 9.5l/100km. Though the engine is pretty sluggish, and 75 HP with a long gear ratio do not make it a race car at all.

It is pretty fast, though you need to find a long, flat and spacious road to try it out. It was built for European motorways, it seems. What it definitely was not built for are the German roads of today, which are not in good shape, and destroy the suspension of older cars.

I really liked this car, but after 216.000 kilometers and 14 years, the engine, the suspension, air conditioning, driver's seat and some of the electrics were worn out beyond repair.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th August, 2011

29th Oct 2012, 06:37

Good and reliable car that you can bond with. It is stronger than most station wagons. Fast and reasonably comfortable.

The driver's seat, mirror, suspension and injectors have needed attention, though in Zimbabwe spares are hard to come by.

1997 Opel Astra GL 1.4 Benzine from Jordan

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.4 Benzine Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 kilometres
Most recent distance132000 kilometres
Previous carFord Sierra

Summary:

It's fine

Faults:

The air conditioning system broke down after I drove 800 KM out of town.

General Comments:

It's tough, and has great handling on high speed.

The car is very slow "not like other same cars", and till now I don't know what's wrong.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th April, 2009

1997 Opel Astra club 1.4 16v from Bulgaria

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.4 16v Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired112000 kilometres
Most recent distance123000 kilometres
Previous carOpel Kadett

Summary:

Cheap and reliable car

Faults:

I had problems with the stop light lamps. Hopefully they are very cheap.

Also I had problems with my cooling system. All liquids were gone from somewhere. Anyway after 100 bucks and plenty of wasted time everything became normal.

General Comments:

The exterior is very good. Also after 1995 the quality of the all Astra's grew up. Interior is very well done. The quality of the material is good. The car isn't very spacious, but at least the boot is huge.

The engine of my Astra is 1.4 16v and have enough power to drive normally. Its very economic, but unfortunately is too loud. I strongly recommend you the 1.6l 16v.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th October, 2006

1997 Opel Astra F Hatchback 1.6 from Serbia

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 kilometres
Most recent distance105000 kilometres
Previous carYugo 45

Summary:

Cool ride for cheap price!!!

Faults:

Very few problems I had with my car.

Only alternator (car battery charger) broke after 15000 km. Replacement with new one was pretty cheap, about 50 euros.

Sometimes when it is rainy, small drops of water can get through driver's window.

General Comments:

I love this car. It looks great (as a new one) and the engine is in good condition too.

Max speed is 180 km/h. It's acceleration to 130 km/h is very good, but for higher speeds you will have to drive longer.

He is very comfortable for a driver and the one next to him, but could be more comfort in back seats though.

Gasoline consumption is not high.

Other aspects of the car are very satsifying.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th January, 2006

1997 Opel Astra GL 1.6 petrol from India

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance80000 kilometres
Previous carSuzuki Maruti

Summary:

Very good

Faults:

3 seat belts do not retract - ordered new ones at the dealer - haven't heard from him for 3 weeks.

AC compressor has been changed (under warranty) 4 times

Clutch slippage on acceleration at certain RPM has increased - dealer and Oplel service engineer say it is OK.

General Comments:

The car is great - interior looks, quality

The dealership is very poor

The manufacturer does not seem to have a quality program for the service technicians - have had arguments re why brake fluid must not fall on metal.

Performance with the 1.6 engine generates 76BHP, new engines 1.6 put out 92bhp.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th April, 2004

26th Jun 2005, 07:57

I don't think so. I'm using opel too, but seems very good to me. because I already modified all the things that I think it is suit to my opel. I think you should find a very talented foreman to fix. I agreed that opel service centre does not have a qualified foreman.

1997 Opel Astra 160i E 1.6 from South Africa

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance95000 kilometres
Previous carOpel Astra

Summary:

Value for money

Faults:

No problems at all. This was my 3rd Astra F series. Just bought the new Astra 1.6 Ecotec 16 valve CDE.

General Comments:

Excellent cars. The new Astra (G) series is a poor mans Mercedes. Opel are the best. I have had others makes as well, but will stay with Opel in future.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th December, 2000

30th Apr 2003, 22:31

Opels are one of the best cars in the world!, I live in São Paulo, Brazil, I owned about 05 Opels, here thay are colled Chevrolet, I'm a race drive and I race with a Opel, I won 2 times from a Porsche.

18th Jan 2008, 08:48

Hi, I live in Kenya, and own a 1997 Astra 160iE. Excellent reliability and fuel consumption. Has over 150,000 km on it and it is still going strong.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 6 reviews