1999 Opel Astra Reviews

1999 Opel Astra IE 200 Euro from South Africa

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 200 Euro Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired80800 kilometres
Most recent distance97500 kilometres
Previous carN/A N/A

Summary:

This car is a poor man's mercedes!

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

The car is really fast and road handling is excellent. There's always enough power available, can clock 210km/h fairly easily, but can be noisy. Fuel consumption is relatively excellent, can get over 600km on a full tank (very impressive for a 2 litre engine).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 2006

10th Sep 2012, 08:11

I have sincerely enjoyed driving my Opel Astra 1.8L Ecotec engine. She is definitely a beauty on the road; fast and definitely furious. I would recommend this vehicle to anyone with an affordable budget.

Great Opel.

1999 Opel Astra CDX 2.0 16v from South Africa

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 kilometres
Most recent distance160000 kilometres
Previous carOpel Astra

Summary:

Great car, very underrated!

Faults:

Cam belt tensioner needs replacement every 40000km or so (becomes very noisy), Air conditioner pipes runs too close to exhaust manifold and as a result mine had to be replaced at 120000km's.

General Comments:

Brilliant road holding & handling, excellent economy for a 2,0l. Very comfortable car on the open road. Very good performance especially once it's going over 120km/h. Quiet - easy to exceed speed limit without noticing!

Running costs & services are on the expensive side.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 2006

1999 Opel Astra 16V Sport 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired74000 miles
Most recent distance77000 miles
Previous carOpel Renault Clio

Summary:

The Opel Astra G is superb

Faults:

The alternator packed up 3 weeks after I bought the car, but, I suppose the car was six years old at the time so its got to be expected.

General Comments:

I love my Astra sport, its solid, reliable and I feel safe driving in it. love the sporty credentials too, sixteen inch alloys, 16v engine a/c, fog lights etc, etc!!

It sticks to the road like there's a huge magnet pulling it down somehow, its great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st January, 2006

1999 Opel Astra Elegance 2.0 DLI16V from Croatia

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 DLI16V Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 kilometres
Most recent distance150000 kilometres
Previous carOpel Kadett

Summary:

Good, but could be better

Faults:

Bought whit broken rear spring, and first dealer visit cost 500€

Engine failure at 145000, after rainy day car simply wouldn't start.

A lot of oil consumption.

General Comments:

The car overall is great. It really kick after 1800rpm. Fuel consumption in city is 7,4L/100, and at open road 5.5L/100. Handling could be better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th December, 2005

1999 Opel Astra 1.7TD from Malta

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.7TD Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance26000 kilometres
Previous carPeugeot 205

Summary:

An average good car with some drawbacks though

Faults:

The cylinder head was leaking oil after the first day, had it checked and found that the gasket was not done properly.

Manufacturer recalled the model, due to some problems with the alternator belt.

Battery and alternator failed twice during the warranty period.

Most models (including mine) had some defects with the airflow meter (sort of an electronic sensor). This failure had resulted in an abnormal loss of engine power.

Window panes and seats rattle.

Airbag sensor indicator - had some problems too. It went on, on several occasions. Finally the service center decided to solder the connection under the driver's seat.

Due to the above mentioned problems, resale value, dropped tremendously.

General Comments:

I like its general appearance, and whilst diving it feels robust with good road holding.

Quite responsive for a 1700cc turbo diesel engine.

Comfortable to drive with a "safe and secure" feeling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th March, 2005

8th Feb 2007, 18:49

Hi, the abnormal loss of power in your Opel Astra is something that I have checked with my car as well, it also has an abnormal loss of power right now. The garage tried checking the air flow meter (electronic sensor) but according to them its not the problem. They have checked everything from coolant contaminants, fuel pump system, engine leaks, even checked for possible overhaul, but they are puzzled. It's a weird problem, no matter how much they try to readjust the engine over and over again, the loss of power comes back and the engine becomes off and shaky. I need help. thanks.

1999 Opel Astra XL 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance53000 miles
Previous carOpel Kadett

Summary:

A good workhorse

Faults:

Head gasket started leaking at 45000 miles, a common fault caused by poor engine block design (one of the oil bores is too close to the side of the engine block, leaving only enough space for a small section of gasket). It also got plenty of revving since I've had it, although now I only go above 2,500 rpm after the engine is warmed up.

It failed to start one day, after which a tow-start got it going. I never found out the problem, but it may have been a stuck valve. Some petrol additive (lubrication) seems to have solved the problem.

Other owners have reported problems with headlights and blown fuses, but I've had no electrical problems.

Drivers seat has lost its firmness, the car now feels much better from the passenger's seat.

General Comments:

Although its only a 1.4 petrol engine, there is plenty of power available if you need it. The engine is a bit weak at low revs, but at about 3000 rpm it kicks in nicely. There is plenty of power in fifth for cruising and overtaking, but you may want to drop down a gear or two to get past just that bit quicker.

The engine is quiet enough to not be intrusive, although at 70 (miles per hour) it doesn't sound as comfortable.

Lovely comfortable car to drive, nimble around the city, but big enough to be good for a long drive also.

Handling is excellent - a very safe car, I haven't got it badly out of shape yet, despite a couple of fast drives in wet and icy conditions.

For a 1999 car, it really should have anti-lock brakes as standard.

Cabin is OK, a bit "black plastic city", and the glove-box rattles a bit, a fault which also happened on the Kadett which I had before it.

The cabin ventilation is quite poor - with a couple of passengers on a cold wet day, the rear door windows will fog up.

Same applies to the door mirrors. Whatever they have made the mirrors from (its some kind of mirrored plastic), they seem to fog up in no time, and no amount of wiping will clear them. I am considering changing the mirrors for electric heated ones.

Despite all of the above, I like the feel of the car compared to the likes of the Focus, or Almera etc. There's something a bit more solid about it, and it feels like a safer car. It has just enough useful room without having the higher purchase or running costs of a bigger car.

Overall a good workhorse.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st April, 2004

19th Jan 2005, 09:12

I have read your review and I totally agree. I have a 1999 Astra Club model and I think the head gasket has wore away as I am having to fill the water up on a regular basis. Other matters such as foggy windows and the driver's seat losing its firmness sounds correct. Although this is of little concern as the car is fabulous to drive and performance really well, even with a poor head gasket. Top Buy!!

7th Jun 2005, 09:10

Agree with all that was said in the original post. Head gasket has just gone on mine at 54,000 miles and I needed the timing belt replaced at 51,000. Pity I didn't know about the gasket problem at the time or I would have had both done together. I have the 1.4 Club 1999 and find it a fantastic drive, very reliable and comfortable on long journeys. Far better fuel economy than Golf or Megane (wife's car) and superb handling with a bit of zip. Couldn't recommend highly enough.

27th Jan 2007, 17:03

I Just bought a 99 Opel Astra 1.4 4door and I've noticed that the temperature guage is reading 3/4 way hot, the mileage is high enough at 144k and I'm thinking now its the start of the head gasket on the way out.I've noticed also that FAN seems not to be cutting in at all and it could be down to this, when I put the heating on in the car on full, the temperature gauge drops to half way and even when I turn the car off for about a 20 minutes the gauge still stays at halfway.. could anyone let me know if you had the same or similar problem or if you have any useful information on this could you contact me on 0851504419.

1999 Opel Astra Sport 1.8 16v from Netherlands

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired49000 kilometres
Most recent distance66000 kilometres
Previous carOpel Astra

Summary:

Great car, good speed

Faults:

The info panel is out of order now.

The inboard computer was broken.

General Comments:

This car is seriously quick and handles like it's on rails.

People say the Astra is a very normal car, but I love my Astra and it's really fast and, give me a lot of fun.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd November, 2003

25th May 2007, 11:22

Good performance from the 1.8 16V engine. What about fuel consumption? Can you give some figures? I'm contemplating buying one nd fuel consumption is key factor.

1999 Opel Astra 1.7 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.7 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired28000 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

Not great - wouldn't recommend them

Faults:

Car constantly used a lot of oil.

Air flow meter needed replacing - cost £100 to replace. This is a common fault in mk4 Astras' according to the vauxhall mechanic that replaced the air flow meter.

General Comments:

Seats are not all that comfortable - don't hold you in well when going around corners.

Not enough lift when in lower gears.

Not all that economical - not much difference in running my old 1.4 petrol Astra and my current 1.7 turbo diesel.

Rattle in passengers door.

Driver's window makes a noise sometimes when closing.

Blows front headlamp bulbs regularly - seems to go through a period where it will blow them regularly then it will stop.

Driver's seat is a bit saggy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd November, 2002

1999 Opel Astra Sport 1.6 16V from Finland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 16V Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired17 kilometres
Most recent distance38000 kilometres
Previous carFord Sierra

Summary:

Good looking car with low running costs

Faults:

Front seats are squeaking, burned few H7 bulbs.

General Comments:

Great car to drive. Fuel economy is nice, 6-8 l/100km, and car's performance is still good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th July, 2000

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 9 reviews