2001 Opel Astra Comfort 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Extremely powerful, and looks great

Faults:

Nothing went wrong in the 5 years I had it, except for replacing the bulbs for the lights.

General Comments:

Was a brilliant car. Only got rid of it because it was getting old. It felt really well built, and full of power for a 1.4. Would recommend an Astra to anybody.

The only thing I could say bad about it would be the interior could be a little bit more exciting, but apart from that, it was a brilliant car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th March, 2012

2001 Opel Astra GSi 2.2 petrol from Israel

Summary:

Buy one, enjoy it and sell it fast

Faults:

For the first years that we had this is car, it was really good, but in it's last moment everything went wrong.

The gearbox broke down.

The car was leaking from everywhere.

Plastics inside the car broke.

And more and more stuff.

Before all these things happened, it was really reliable and we drove it around 45000k for a year. And then it fell apart all together.

General Comments:

Very sporty car.

Don't keep it for too many kilometers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th July, 2009

2001 Opel Astra GSI 2.2L petrol from Israel

Summary:

Very satisfied. Will never sell it

Faults:

Fan blower heater doesn't switch to windshield mode.

Air-condition sometimes needs several "restarts" in order to work properly.

Manual gear would not shift into reverse mode.

General Comments:

One of the few 2.2 in Israel, and probably the only one with manual transmission.

Very smooth, stable and comfortable driving and handling.

Power and acceleration felt only after 3rd gear and is quite impressive.

Engine power was increased to 162 hp.

Very economical fuel consumption when cruising at 100 kmh. (approx 15 km per 1 liter).

Overall, great value for money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th March, 2009

2001 Opel Astra G SPORT 3D 1.4 from Greece

Summary:

It really worth its money

Faults:

I am a happy owner.

Not even a burnt lamp!!

Service once a year, and cheap compared to other cars.

General Comments:

Solid and safe feeling when driving.

A bit hard suspension for Greek roads, but hey it's the Sport model.

Very good seats (especially as the driver's seat is fully adjustable, and so is the steering wheel)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th May, 2008

2001 Opel Astra Comfort D 1.8 Gasoline from Mexico

Summary:

Very good car, and better than the competition

Faults:

Excessive heating in the engine leading to coolant leakage.

One time there was a failure in the transmission control unit; the car only worked on 3rd gear and acceleration was dismal.

Strange rattle noise in the engine.

General Comments:

Very good car overall in quality finish fit, and very beautiful engine sound.

However the performance is affected when the air conditioner is on.

Very nice suspension and noise isolation.

Sensational to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd July, 2007

2001 Opel Astra GL 1.416v from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A OK family car

Faults:

The dash rattles door rattles head gasket blew at 55000 miles body dents easy the brakes grind like pads are woren got checked disks and pads OK a mystry.

General Comments:

The car is a cheap family car cheap for parts, but you got to stick the rattles and road noise and be prepared to replace head gasket every 50000 miles our so.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st May, 2006

2001 Opel Astra sedan (long ass) 1.7 dti from Spain

Summary:

Cheap and reliable

Faults:

Interior air supply fan dead with around 100.00 km

Alternator dead with around 120.000 km.

General Comments:

Simple, cheap to run and reliable and still nice to drive. Ground clearance is nice too, I´ve put the car in some pretty bad places without scratching anything down there. Not a thing you usually look at in this kind of car, but pretty important sometimes (with some cars you can easilly bang the oil pan sometimes). Fuel economy is amazing too, you can get under 4 L per 100 km in motorway and it´s not a lot more in normal driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th April, 2006

2001 Opel Astra Sport Edition 1.6 8v from Netherlands

Summary:

Great car, misjudged it in the past

Faults:

Nothing at all.

General Comments:

Very comfortable car. Drives better then a golf from 2000!

Even the 1.6 motor has enough power, if your on the highway or in town. No problem!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th October, 2005

2001 Opel Astra 1.8L 125HP from Mexico

Summary:

The best car I had until I had to sell it

Faults:

One common failure on models before 2003: condensation on headlamps.

General Comments:

The engine is incredibly emotional... once you hit the gas pedal, you fall inlove with that sound. Although I pushed it to the limit, I was not able to beat a Nissan Maxima with 175HP, however, it could not beat me as well. Perhaps the manual Astra can beat it. That feeling with the engine can give the owner a false feeling of power, although it has enough power to beat any lousy VW Jetta 2.0L (gas), I would not be so sure about a 1.8L turbo. The other version of the Astra, the 2.2L 145HP can be amazing though, be careful Jettas...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th November, 2004