2001 Opel Astra Reviews - Page 2 of 4

2001 Opel Astra Coupe 2.0 turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired19700 miles
Most recent distance21600 miles
Previous carVauxhall Omega

Summary:

This car should put a smile on your face when driven hard.

Faults:

There condensation in the off side headlamp (common fault)

The seats creek a bit nothing to do with the leather (yet another common fault)

General Comments:

The Astra coupe is a finely balanced sports coupe, the only disappoint is the original retail price £19,500 without any extras. The second hand market is the best place to pick one up.

With GM quoted figure of 152Mph and 0-60 just about in 7 sec, with plenty of aftermarket parts and remaps of the EMU.

In the 3 months I've had my coupe, I have been very happy with either just drive to work or out and about give it a work out.

Having lower suspension than the hatchback/estate and the Bertone designed body this little coupe is eye pleasing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th July, 2004

2001 Opel Astra Comfort D 1.8 Ecotec from Mexico

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 Ecotec Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired5 kilometres
Most recent distance34578 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Excellent cost-benefits relationship

Faults:

By now nothing, the car is operating perfectly, no complaint.

General Comments:

Good assembly quality.

Excelent equippment.

This car is quick and handles quite well in any kind of road.

Good braking system.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd October, 2003

2001 Opel Astra GL 1.4 16v Z14XE from Turkey

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.4 16v Z14XE Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired5 kilometres
Most recent distance60000 kilometres
Previous carFiat Palio

Summary:

A nice car to drive

Faults:

At 8.000 kilometers both headlight had to be replaced due to formation of vapor, under warranty. At 30.000 kilometers, plastic bushings on the front suspension was changed due to stange noises during cold days. At 45,000 kilometers water pump together with the pulleys and the belt had to be replaced, which were not covered by the warranty. Finally at 55.000 kilometers the EGR valve failed and replaced, following that the on board computer gave a "misfiring on cylinder 2" fault code, which is probably due to carbon built-up on the cylinder heads. We are trying to solve the problem by using gasoline additives and carbon clean process. The good thing is that the car never let me sit on the side of the street it kept going.

General Comments:

I think Opel engineers should work on the seats and seat belt. Almost on all Opel's I have observed that the backrest of the seat makes strange squeling noises, which can't be fixed by the dealer, and after a while (2 years or so) the front seat belt does not roll up like it used to.

It handles very nicely and if you rew it up its no slower than a 1.6Lt.

I like my car and would like to keep it for another 2-3 years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th April, 2003

2001 Opel Astra Comfort 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired11500 miles
Most recent distance12500 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Worth waiting for!

Faults:

Instrument panel indicated that a service inspection was imminent even though service has just been completed.

This was fixed by using the reset button.

General Comments:

I have not had this car long, but it is a dream.

Yes it is underpowered, especially at low revs, but I feel the car has lots of torque.

Willing to accelerate well on the open road.

Will accelerate from stop (or slow) quickly if you are willing to let the engine scream a bit.

Very stylish.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th March, 2003

2001 Opel Astra Club 17 dti from F.Y.R.O. Macedonia

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 17 dti Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired140 kilometres
Most recent distance18000 kilometres
Previous carOpel Astra

Summary:

Opel is going worse and worse..

Faults:

Car has stopped while driving, the service replaced the computer and all the electrical wires in the engine at 13000km.

Alternator went down on 13500km.

Strange vibrations and noises from the steering, repaired at the service, all at 2000km.

Coolant is leaking somewhere, and that cannot be detected at the service.

General Comments:

All of the above on a new car? no comment.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th November, 2002

28th Aug 2003, 07:58

You are crazy. I'm driving Astra G 1.6 16v year 98 with 70.000 km now and it hasn't see service except regular maintenence... It has very low fuel consumption and it runs very smoothly...

10th Mar 2004, 05:57

Drive a 2000 Opel Astra 154000 on clock. She has started cutting out while driving, fan has an intermittent fault, comes on when the car is cool. Anybody have an idea whats wrong? Wonderful car, but I am worried that the engine cutting out is serious.

16th Dec 2007, 17:11

I live in the Caribbean and I own a 2001 Opel Astra 1.6, 16 valve, 5 door, hatchback. The timing belt went after 2 years, not sure what clock reading was. Water pump failed six months later. In both instances, valves were bent and had to be replaced.

The car is seriously underpowered, especially so when working temperature is reached. I've re-timed the car a few times and it generally results in improved running for a max. of about 3 to 4 days.

The timing belt tensioners, both the original and the after market, also seem a weak link in the timing assembly. They have failed some 3 times since purchasing car.

Other failures include the thermostat, the radiator... a new one was fitted 1 week ago... the air con system and the coolant temperature sensor.

The airbag light on instrument panel is constantly lit, an indication of a system fault.

The roof upholstery came loose 2 years ago, an indication that the adhesive has dried.

The truth is, so many things have gone wrong with the car that it would take a while to list them all.. one last thing, the alternator failed 4 weeks ago. Did I hear someone mention a great car??? Or is it that it was not meant for Caribbean climate?

31st Mar 2008, 05:44

You must have really ill treated this car to break so much at such a low millage :O.

4th May 2008, 12:48

I am a happy owner of an Opel Astra G 1.4 Sport 3D 2001 model with 80.000km.

Not even a burnt lamp.

So far so good.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 20 reviews