Opel Monza Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1985 Opel Monza GSE 3.0L petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0L petrol Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired77000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Carlton

Summary:

A great looking, sounding & performing car!

Faults:

One of the rockers snapped, was not a problem to fix.

General Comments:

These cars are really quick & have bags of torque, they feel very safe and solid to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th March, 2004

2002 Opel Monza GSE 3.0i from Netherlands

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0i Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired135000 kilometres
Most recent distance145000 kilometres
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Very rare comfortable car

Faults:

Electric mirrors won't work always.

Exhaust has rusted out and broken.

Intake/exhaust gasket had to be replaced twice (made some dowel pins between the head and the exhaust).

Fuel injectors leak when car has been shut down.

Rusts out very easy around the shock towers in the front.

General Comments:

Very rare and comfortable car, not seen very often.

Fuel mileage is bad!

Will consider dropping in a 3.0-24valve, have more performance and better fuel mileage at the same time!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th October, 2003

1985 Opel Monza 2.5 Litre from Netherlands

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5 Litre Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired82000 kilometres
Most recent distance120000 kilometres

Summary:

A very special super coupe

Faults:

Had to change batteries 2 times.

Exhaust is broken.

Dashboard lights failing.

Seat is hanging over to the left.

General Comments:

The car looks and sounds great. The first time I saw and heard the car was when my dad came home with it, to take me for a ride. Instantly, I fell in love with the looks en the sound of the six-cylinder.

It's big and heavy, but can go very fast trough corners and has a great acceleration if you use the kick down.

My dad wanted to sell the car, but I didn't, so now we will keep em in garage until I graduate from university, and then I will get as a present! Then I want it fixed and maybe I'm gonna tune it. The car most go faster and lower to the asphalt. And the seats of the Pullmann interior have to be replaced by Recaro's.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th October, 2002

1984 Opel Monza GSE 3 litre petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 3 litre petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired64000 miles
Previous carOpel Monza

Summary:

Sorry Jaguar..Grace...Pace...Space!

Faults:

Air conditioning not working, heater fan. Front struts rebuilt with new inner wings. Fuel pipes replaced. Fuel pump replaced. Headlamp wipers not working. Digital Dash dims to zero when sidelights switched on.

General Comments:

This is my second Monza. My sister actually gave me a silver manual GSE 7 years back which was written off by a drunk. It was a stunning car in every respect. Insurance paid for my current white example which I intend to have nut and bolt restored in 3 years. This car is in very fine fettle, and frankly I don't want to drive anything else now. Torque, comfort, design, and engineering quality would be hard to match these days. Fuel consumption is class average, but why bother really when all else is paid for? It costs less per mile to run than my wifes Renault 5 Campus! Dislikes? Few... but fuel pipe leakage is a pain in winter when auto choke is on full chat. Lumpy around town nature of throttle is another, but it is being treated to a rolling road soon.

Likes? Blowing off reverse baseball cap teenagers in tin cans using her 2nd gear party trick of zero to heaven knows what! Sheer grunt, looks, exclusivity, and value and performance/value for money also figure. My boss lets me park it away from the mainstream employee car park right beside his BMW! He has a stakeholder attitude to preserving it too! That's Monza for you... everyone admires them and often ask... what is THAT? What other old GM product gets that reaction in UK?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th September, 2002

11th Apr 2003, 08:06

I whant to see tha picture

1984 Opel Monza GSE 3.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance99000 miles
Previous carSunbeam Rapier Fastback

Summary:

Muscle

Faults:

Air conditioning not working when I purchased car.

Clutch thrust bearing started to make a whining noise.

Electric windows work slowly and at time require some playing with as wiring at hinge section of door is perishing.

LCD dash stopped illuminating unless side lights or headlights are switched on.

General Comments:

A very comfortable car that can rumble along steadily or jump into performance mode with a little right foot action. Even when using the cars higher end power, it never feels as though its strained. It just roars away.

Pleasantly surprised at its handling too. Cornering and driving along B roads is actually very good considering the cars weight and size.

Reliability has been excellent for me. No complaints at all, provided you keep them maintained like all cars.

Head room in cabin a little limited for those above 6ft2ish. Saying that though, the Recaro seats are wonderfully comfortable, and this car is nicely thought out. For example the air conditioning has an outlet in the glove compartment so that you can keep your cans of coke cold in the summer!

In terms of the cars shape I still can't quite figure it out. I can't say I loved the look of the car when I first saw it. My dad who was with me just said one thing..."Bullit" (referring to the Steve McQueen film), implying that this was a muscle car and that he could influence my emotions by this comment. He did. As soon as I heard the beefy roar of the engine, I almost let out a crazy chuckle and I began to grin madly. I love big engines and big cars, but the old seventies and eighties cars just hit that spot for me. We were at an auction at the time, and above the ruckus and noise of engines starting and being revved up, the Monza straight six power plant stood out a mile. People began moving towards the car and as usual, a small group of eager men were gathered around the engine talking over each other and not even listening to each other anyway. But, I was the one who ended up with it.

Each day I get into my Monza, she puts a smile on my face. Its one of those cars that once you have parked it and walk away to the office or what have you, you keep looking over your shoulder again and again to re-examine its shape, as you're not sure whether it is gorgeous, or just pretending to be!

These cars are cheap to pick up now, but you need to maintain them. The are beginning to get rare, and prices for good ones are picking up now. If you get one, check for rust around the front struts in the engine bay and down at the bottom of them too as this is a notorious place. Check for wear on the interior, and all the other usual things.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th June, 2002

4th May 2006, 09:27

Very accurate summary of a very good car.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 15 reviews