1998 Opel Vectra Reviews

1998 Opel Vectra B 1.6 8v from Czech Republic

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 1.6 8v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired158000 kilometres
Most recent distance187000 kilometres
Previous carRenault Megane

Summary:

Great car, family and sporty in one

Faults:

I had no major problem with this car. Only one winter my air conditioning went off.

Some electric problems with the ventilation.

EGR valve needed to be changed 175000 km.

Now I have got some problems with the front shock absorbers.

General Comments:

It is really great car, looking good (especially side mirrors, front mask, etc).

Engine is not the strongest, but still it is running 160 km/h without any problem.

Cabin is little bit noisy, you can hear the engine running.

Comfort inside is perfect, all indicators are in front of you, easy to recognize.

I could recommend this car to everyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th January, 2010

1998 Opel Vectra Caravan 1.6 16v from Slovenia

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired178000 kilometres
Most recent distance200000 kilometres
Previous carKia Sephia

Summary:

Great comfort

Faults:

Its beginning to rust...

General Comments:

I'm very pleased with the car, got it used for a bargain price. Previous owner had a lot of problems with it, made several big repairs, but then decided to sell it. Obviously he did me a favor since the car is running great since then. :)

It has started to consume oil little more and its beginning to show signs of rust, nothing serious yet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th February, 2008

1998 Opel Vectra 1.6 16V 1.6 liter from Belgium

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 liter Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 kilometres
Most recent distance85000 kilometres
Previous carOpel Vectra

Summary:

A sturdy, reliable and comfortable family/luxury car that has everything to be much liked

Faults:

So far nothing went wrong with it, except that the light bulbs tend to need replacement quite often...

General Comments:

I only own this car for a few months, but my previous car was the same model.

It is a sturdy and strong car, made to be very comfortable a smooth to drive. It is a heavily built car, with enough space inside to travel long distances with 4 persons inside in very good comfort.

The engine is only a 1.6 liter, but it is powerful enough: 100 CV is good enough make it run good, and there is torque (nearly) at will.

The automatic transmission is good and smooth, and (obviously, some would say?) it can be switched to ice/snow mode or sports mode.

Maybe the fuel usage is not really very good, but given the weight of the car (1795 kg) and the facts that I use sometimes the air conditioning, and that it's an automatic transmission (uses a bit more) it is still reasonable: smooth driving stays under 10 liters per 100 km. Sporty driving can go up to 15 liters though...

I definitely like it very much, and I would recommend it to anyone who wants comfort and the feeling that you're safe in it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st March, 2005

1998 Opel Vectra GL 1.6 from Finland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired5000 kilometres
Most recent distance78000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

A car with a lot of problems

Faults:

This car was really a Monday car.

The air conditioning is not working.

The front spring just broke down.

Ice cold air comes into the cabin in winter time.

You have to add oil 2 litres every 8000 kilometers.

Sometimes there is not any pressure in the engine so it`won't start (valve problem?).

Once a month you have change one of the lamps. And so on...

General Comments:

This car is nice to drive when it is OK, but this is very seldom.

Does anybody have any experience about the new Vectra with 1,8 l engine and automatic air control.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th April, 2003

1998 Opel Vectra CD 2.5 V6 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 kilometres
Most recent distance80000 kilometres
Previous carIsuzu Stylus

Summary:

A wolf in sheep's clothing

Faults:

Transmission cooler seal stuffed up at 65000.

General Comments:

This car is the most comfortable and powerful car in its category, also very classy styling.

It is a fantastic long distance cruiser.

It has every convenience that I could ever want.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th April, 2003

1998 Opel Vectra 2.0 litre ecotech engine from Philippines

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 litre ecotech engine Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired38000 kilometres
Most recent distance42000 kilometres
Previous carMercedes-Benz W124

Summary:

GM made a lemon and they know it!

Faults:

The engine overheats all the time!

The timing belt broke!

Under chassis noises.

Very poor re-sale value!

General Comments:

If GM wants to stay in the car manufacturing business they should start firing those people who approved the quality of the timing belts, suspension design and cooling system design! They should understand that the cars they are selling are not only sold in Europe where climate is cool and streets and highways are paved very well. My country has highways in which you can play mini golf and the heat reaches from 30 to 38 degrees Celsius!

The design of the car from the exterior and interior point of view is quite good and sometimes an eye catcher! However, if GM refuses to understand the meaning of "quality" then they should pack-up and leave!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th September, 2002

12th Aug 2004, 11:59

About the overheating: U are right, but, there is a possibility to replace the heat sensor under the head and replace it with another one with different characteristic. Ask your Opel dealer which one of the two available types should be better for your weather conditions.

23rd Aug 2006, 06:31

This was a follow up regarding my OPEL VECTRA 2.5 V6 automatic made in the Philippines, (spelling as seen at the back of the trunk) Regarding the overheating, thanks God! re the problem was solve. Hence there was a wrong installation of the auxiliary fan that was inverted, what the electrician did both the radiator fan and the auxilary was facing towards the engine already. We did a total re-wiring gauge #18 for the radiator fan and auxiliary, we add a fuses, socket relay. So today my overheating is gone.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 8 reviews