Perodua Kancil Reviews - Page 3 of 3

2000 Perodua Kancil EX 850 850 CC from Malaysia

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 850 CC Manual
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired2000 kilometres
Most recent distance200000 kilometres

Summary:

Economical with no power

Faults:

This car is economical because the fuel consumption is low and it also got no power, that's right no power at all, I have to shift from 3 to 2 in order to beat 1 heavy damn lorry.

General Comments:

I hope in the future the manufacturer can come up with a turbo version.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th April, 2004

1998 Perodua Kancil EX 0.85 N/A petrol from Malaysia

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 0.85 N/A petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired30 kilometres
Most recent distance68000 kilometres
Previous carPerodua Proton

Summary:

Go Kancil/Mira!

Faults:

Nothing much to complain on this car except the the comfort is not there, the suspension (absorber) need to be changed about every year. Can't anyone make a higher quality one? Something that can last longer say 3 years?

Air-con is not that cold, not sure why, foremen said because the bonnet is small to fit in a good air-con. In addition no power steering. Sometimes very hard to turn, esp. for ladies.

Lastly, it does not have a consistent speed. For example, I felt that the engine is not really stable. Sometimes it provides me lots of power and sometimes it does not. I'm serious, on the same traffic, weather and locations. What is wrong?

General Comments:

Good car for city driving as it saves petrol. Good for overtaking and parking as well due to the size. Most important, easy to wash, half an hour able to complete, hehehe...

Bad news is, handling is not good, so don't take a corner at high speed (<80km/h) highly recommend. The seats are not that comfortable, as I drive more than 450km, I do get some discomfort.

Bear with me, never look down on this car, Kancil Perodua 850EX as it can take me to great distances.

Lastly, something to share here, I met with an accident a year ago, I hit a Proton Saga (first model) bumper was the metal type, with about 80km/h on a highway as the guy emergency braked for no reason. Thank god I was unhurt! The damage causes me about RM 2000. The Kancil is pretty solid, thanks...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd March, 2004

1997 Perodua Kancil EZ850 .850 from Malaysia

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission .850 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance160000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Sigma

Summary:

A quick, easy, economical car, ideal for city and local driving

Faults:

Main oil seal leak at about 120,000km.

Brake pads and shoes required replacement at about 140,000km.

Air-con inadequate in warm to hot climates.

Body panels easily damaged in minor fender benders.

General Comments:

Car is easy to handle, even without power steering.

Easy to park, with good visibility all around.

A pretty hard ride on a rough road; bungols and judderbars are a menace if you don't slow down, very slow!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th March, 2004

19th Jan 2007, 20:27

It is good to inform about mileage conditions..

1st Apr 2007, 09:22

I really love this car.. gives me no problems..

The fuel consumption is approx 7.5L/100km in mixed highway and urban driving.. is that normal?

1996 Perodua Kancil LX 999cc from Malaysia

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 999cc Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 kilometres
Most recent distance155000 kilometres

Summary:

A very reliable car

Faults:

Nothing except change brake pad. All the rest was oil change.

General Comments:

The car was really good, economical and I did not have any problem or had to spend a lot of money fixing this and that. No leaking at all at the crankcase gaskets whatsoever. very reliable Diahatsu engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st June, 2003

20th Oct 2004, 22:26

A broken clutch cable after a year anniversary (less than 10k km). Reason unknown, service center claimed could be the low quality cable used.

All well except a little sounds here and there and some loose nuts here and there. The best transport for a work, home and shopping-used car!

1999 Perodua Kancil EX850 0.85 from Malaysia

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 0.85 Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.2 / 10
Distance when acquired500 kilometres
Most recent distance13000 kilometres
Previous carPerodua Kancil

Summary:

A cheap car, everything is cheap

Faults:

The car is like a tin can, bent easily everywhere.

Felt insecure driving it on highways.

Door is just 2 inches from outside and it's hollow!!!

No airbags, no ABS.

Lousy built in audio system.

Lousy alarm system.

Lousy car locks (the doors and the ignition key are same).

Lousy quality control. A lot of screws are not locked tight.

Hardest seat, it's like sitting on a brick.

Poor performance compared to the Mira models (which my car was copied from).

General Comments:

Cheapest car here, no comment, but have to bear with cheap materials, cheap quality control and stuff.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd April, 2003

6th Aug 2003, 00:37

Don't compare the car with other expensive car! Its up to you.. rather you want to have comfortable and powerful car or just you buy the car because you really need it.

Its also depend on your monthly income. Some people totally cannot buy one single car so it is very happy moment for a person that can buy although a cheap car, but can be very useful to him/her.

I have test drive a few time, what can I say its nice to drive it especially in city like Kuala Lumpur because you have advantage upon its small body.

Average review marks: 5.6 / 10, based on 13 reviews