2008 Perodua Myvi EZi 1.3L from Malaysia


Not safe


MyVi no safety.


During traveling back to my home town, unluckily I hit a cow that was crossing the road. I remember that the car was only doing 85km/h. I was in the hospital for a month.

My brother showed me the photo he took; when I saw the photo, this is unbelievable, my car's front part cannot recognized at all.

My brother told me, the cow that I hit is not dead yet, only broke two legs, the same as me.

General Comments:

From that incident, I won't believe MyVi offers good safety to protect humans when an accident.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th January, 2009

2nd Jul 2010, 12:18

This is funny! 85km/h is not a slow speed... you will be hospitalized if you hit a cow at 70km/h, even in some Toyotas or Hondas!

30th Aug 2010, 17:40

The Perodua Myvi is a terrible car to drive, in terms of safety, you'd hear the car "swinging" from left to right at a traffic light even if a motorcycle passes by you, it's that unstable. The only reason it sells well in Malaysia is that for the price, the citizens have not much choice. Most Peroduas/Protons are very, very weak in safety standards, and the government is not doing anything to improve this.

The Malaysians also look for a car with a "package" with amenities and good looks and the Myvi has all these, but lacks extremely within the safety realm, the people that make policies just don't care.

I have a Myvi 2007 SE, which I am looking to get rid of, it's just not worth it.

If you want a safe car for that price, get a Hyundai Getz, but the after sales and fuel consumption is terrible.

31st Aug 2010, 10:43

Not true. It has the same safety rating as the Getz.

Granted it is light and slab sided, but so are many new superminis; you just don't like yours!

We crashed our 2010 Myvi, writing off the other car, but the Myvi just needed a bumper and bonnet; nothing else was damaged.

18th Apr 2011, 05:07

I just bought myself a Myvi 2009 EZI. On the cow crashing, was that at night or day time??? At 87kmh???

21st Aug 2013, 04:43

Just an eye opener maybe: YOU HIT A COW AT 80KM/Hr... What the hell do you expect to happen to you or to the car?

If I were to try the same in my Lexus with 16 airbags, I am sure I would be hospitalized too.

2008 Perodua Myvi 1.3 from Malaysia


About the quality of my wife's Myvi, it's good, but for me the Myvi doesn't have the pick-up and top speed that I have before, using an Iswara 1.3.

Myvi at 110kmh my engine is quite heavy and vibrates. Top speed is only at 130kmh.. Pity. Quite difficult to chase a bus.

About fuel consumption.. is about the same with Iswara 1.3, but if I figure it back Myvi installment is about RM550 per month, my Iswara is RM300 per month.. they are different about RM250.00. I can use that RM250.00 for petrol.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th August, 2008

30th Dec 2009, 13:00

Yes, agreed- 175km/h is easy in Myvi.

Remove the floor mat under the accelerator pedal!!