1995 Peugeot 106 Reviews - Page 4 of 5

1995 Peugeot 106 1.5 diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.5 diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired52000 miles
Most recent distance64000 miles
Previous carRenault 19

Summary:

A very cheap, economical, and fun car to own - I'd seriously consider buying another (newer) one

Faults:

The only problem that I have had at all mechanically with the car is when the fuel pump solenoid failed, in the closed position, leaving me stranded. A mechanic friend went straight to the problem thankfully, but the cost of replacement was extortionate, a common feature of Peugeot dealers.

General Comments:

This car is super economical. It seems no matter how hard you drive it, it will return upwards of 50mpg, even round town.

It is surprisingly nippy for a diesel, down to the small size and weight.

Handles the best out of any small car I have owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th June, 2001

1995 Peugeot 106 XND Graduate 1.5 diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.5 diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired38000 miles
Most recent distance61000 miles
Previous carAlfa Romeo GTV

Summary:

Good cheap fun and you won't get a speeding ticket!

Faults:

The engine would stall on right-hand bends, and sometimes surge forwards. Cured by bleeding the fuel system.

The hydraulics on the rear brakes leaked.

The rear wheel stubs had to be replaced as they'd been damaged by a previous service.

General Comments:

Fun to drive with great handling means 70mph feels fun!

I fitted a fuelsaver and get over 70mpg so it's very cheap to run and insure.

The seats are soft, but comfortable.

The basic stereo has good speakers.

The two door has more front leg room than the 5 door.

When you remove the rear seats, you can fit a sofa inside (really!)

I love this car, and have bought another!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th May, 2001

11th Nov 2004, 02:08

I bought a used 106 XND about 4 years ago with 80K on the clock. It now has done 130K, during which time I have replaced 4 tires and brake pads, a brake cable and all heat plugs. All in all it has been a very good second car, and very good on fuel. I have every intention of buying another.

1995 Peugeot 106 Mardi Gras 1.5 diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.5 diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles

Summary:

An economical little gem

Faults:

Nothing whatsoever! Just that the tyre needed changing at its last MOT.

General Comments:

A great little car, ideal for a first time buyer, but the ride delights the experienced driver too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th April, 2001

26th Sep 2001, 01:59

Went to look at one of these, one thing that puts me off is the flash up the side!!

I'm a new driver and the combination of reliability, low running costs and a reasonable 1.5 makes this car right for me.

Although I'm considering a cheaper 205 with higher insurance, but less to buy.

17th Oct 2001, 12:59

Bought it! Pleased to see the Mardi Gras trim peels off very easily. This car is a nippy, reliable, economically superb car. I would recommend it to any one - especially first time buyers!

1995 Peugeot 106 XND 1.5 diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.5 diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra Sport

Summary:

Fun, nippy and frugal

Faults:

Very little has gone wrong for me.

Had to replace wheel bearing, rear brake cylinder and front suspension arm bushes in 3 years of ownership.

Seat fabric clicks easily. Trim is a little fragile. But reasonably built.

General Comments:

My car is 5 years old and there is no sign of rust (something which has been a problem on all other cars I've had), bodywork is still in A1 condition.

When pushed can be very nippy (if a little noisy) but handles better than expected.

TIP: On Cherry Red 106's, wax and polish more often than other colours. I've seen quite a few which have faded badly. I wash and polish mine every month and it's still shiny.

Peugeots may suffer from build quality, but they make fun good looking cars. that's why I'm going to stick with Peugeot and buy a 306 D-Turbo.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th January, 2001

1995 Peugeot 106 Rallye 1.3 L from Greece

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.3 L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 kilometres
Most recent distance55000 kilometres
Previous carBMW 318 E30

Summary:

Value and pleasure!

Faults:

Engine mounts.

Gearbox mount.

Flywheel.

Clutch.

General Comments:

The best handling car in the category. You really learn sports driving with it. Does not forgive mistakes.

Spartan but with a pure racing car feeling. Destined for road rallies. Can be described as a baby kit-car.

Could use better brakes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th October, 2000

1995 Peugeot 106 Rallye 1.3i petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.3i petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired57000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Great looks and great performance = 106 Rallye

Faults:

Dodgy alternator light keeps flicking on in the middle of the morning.

General Comments:

Absolutely superb car all round.

The car has great looks as standard, and also the performance to match.

Pretty funny that a small engine can kickout 100bhp as standard and completely wet on Nova's.

Why doesn't everyone have one????

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th August, 2000

6th Jan 2004, 14:05

All I want to say is that I have a black 106 Rallye S1 1.3i, and I totally agree with everything in this review except 2 points which don't do the car justice. They are:

1) The review is not long enough!

& 2) I was very surprised to see that the car was only given 5 out of 10 for comfort. Out of almost everyone that's been in my car, the first comment they make is how the front seats feel like they're a pair of buckets and are very comfortable. Also lets be honest, there's more than enough leg room as well and the red carpet's really lush. The only thing I feel is a disadvantage to comfort (and this is being really picky), is that the arm rests may be a little hard, which I hardly notice anyway because I'm too busy having fun driving it!

Anyway, just thought I'd tell you those points, who knows they might help in a later review.

Sturge Mazzocchi.

Sturge9@hotmail.com.

25th Apr 2008, 09:17

EVERYTHING SAID IN THE REVIEW IS CORRECT. THIS CAR IS AN OVERSIZED GO-KART. I have owned mine for over a year now and won't be selling any time soon. Im in love!

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 25 reviews