1995 Peugeot 106 Reviews - Page 5 of 5

1995 Peugeot 106 XND 1.5 diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 1.5 diesel Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 miles
Most recent distance27500 miles
Previous carLand Rover 110 Defender

Summary:

Not a good car for the money

Faults:

The car developed an oil leak, Peugeot admitted this was a fault with the head gasket, which was rectified badly, the car then had to return to the dealer to have a complete new head on the warranty as the technician had set the timing wrongly which bent the valves.

General Comments:

This car is OK around town, but the handling is terrible, it felt flimsy and was very poorly equipped, not even a temperature gauge! Which is a must in a car prone to popping head gaskets.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th August, 2000

19th Mar 2001, 06:25

Sorry to hear about your experience with the 106. I think you must have either got a Friday afternoon car or the techies at your garage are not up to the job.

My 106 D is great, the only problems I have had are a broken gear-box mounting and the tappets were set too tight.

I drive a long way to work each day, 55 miles each way and the car is thrashed mercilessly. Fuel consumption is great and performance is adequate once on the move. The handling is fine even for spirited cornering. Early 1.4 models did indeed suffer from blown head gaskets, but the 1.5's are not too bad.

My only complaint about the car is it's a bit too small. But at over 60mpg I think I will stick with it for another year until LPG is more readily available.

1995 Peugeot 106 XSi 1.6 16v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v petrol
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10

Faults:

I crashed it but apart from that, nothing.

General Comments:

This is my favourite car in the world. Ladies seem to like it too. It has been easy to modify and I think mine is probably the best in the world.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th December, 1999

16th Dec 2000, 15:24

They never made a 16v XSi...

30th Jan 2001, 09:13

That is correct, only 8v in the Mk1. I think he is dreaming!!!

30th Apr 2001, 04:21

Peugeot did produce a 1.6 16v XSi in the old shape shell for the UK market, but there's not very many around.

26th Jan 2004, 15:04

They never made a 16v XSi. They are *all* 8v. I am on my 2nd one at the moment. Great car - 1.6 has lots of torque, very driveable. Brakes could be better and steering is quite heavy, but get her up to speed and you will always have a smile on your face. Very forgiveable and handling is to die for. Love it love it love it.

27th Jul 2005, 10:03

Yea, me too. I never thought that the MK 1 106 XSi ever housed a 16V 1.6 engine. Would be great news if it did in latter years.

31st Aug 2006, 07:56

The only 106 to house a 16v engine is the GTi which is mk2 only. No mk1 106 ever had a 16v.

1995 Peugeot 106 Mardi-Gras 1.5 diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
Engine and transmission 1.5 diesel
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10

Faults:

A gear box mounting was replaced under a manufacturer recall and brake pads and drums seem to wear quite quickly.

Has never broken down and is on its first set of tyres after 20 000 miles

General Comments:

The car handles well and has a nice ride. It's roomier than it looks and also returns about 55mpg despite the 'spirited' driving style which is needed. However the sound quality on the radio is a bit naff.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd October, 1999

1995 Peugeot 106 XR 1.1i petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
Engine and transmission 1.1i petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10

Faults:

Motor electronics caused problems due to software faults. The idle rpm was not stable. New software was not available - I had to wait 6 months for it.

Cooling system was leaking 3 times, and because there is no meter for the engine temperature this caused overheating. It is too late to notice that when the warning light is lit. After these 3 cases of overheating I regarded it to be better to change the car. You never know what kind of faults this could have caused to the engine. I changed it to a Nissan Micra, which gives a totally different level of reliability!

General Comments:

Nice little car. The small 1.1 litre engine is quite sporty - it gives enough power for a small car. More reliability is needed anyhow.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th June, 1998

1995 Peugeot 106 Xsi 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10

Faults:

Alarm ECU packed up. £200 to replace. Small leak in rear window (fixed under warranty).

General Comments:

Good warm hatch with fine handling and performance. A bit squeaky but a good buy too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th August, 1997

14th Dec 2000, 16:21

Sorry to upset you, but I used to own an XSi and it was crap... broke down every two minutes. I now have an AX GT, which unfortunately will eat an XSi for breakfast.

3rd Jan 2001, 08:40

I've had 2 XSI's. A 1.4 & 1.6, before that a 1.6 205. The 106 is great replacement & more refined. I never had any problems with mine apart from 2 split C.V. boots.

The AX GT may be quicker off the mark but after about 40MPH the 1.6 and 1.4 XSI will eat GT's for breakfast. More torque you see. I love 'em. They look a lot better than all of their rivals too.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 25 reviews