2000 Peugeot 106 Reviews - Page 2 of 5

2000 Peugeot 106 GTi 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

Very fast and a nice drive

Faults:

When in neutral, the gear sticks begins to shake then the whole car, when bonnet is open the engine shakes more than should. any ideas?

General Comments:

The car handles very well, a lot more responsive then my previous 1800 focus.

Good quality leather seats, dashboards a bit dull though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th March, 2007

19th Jun 2007, 09:16

Shaking engine and gearstick; change your engine mounts mate, especially the lower gearbox mount. There are three in total.

22nd Feb 2008, 06:37

I have the same problem with my 106. Did you ever manage to fix it?

2000 Peugeot 106 Independence 1.1 from UK and Ireland

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance48000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

Good for reliability, but a bit 'plasticky'

Faults:

Glove box broken (still usable, but frustrating)

Rubber around back windows slowly perishing.

Engine component light came on under warranty, was reset, has periodically come on since.

Ditto above with airbag light.

Splutters regularly, strangely only in the summer and not winter.

General Comments:

Overall I have been pleased with this car. I've had it from new and a few things have gone wrong, as above, but it has never broken down and I have not had trouble starting it. If I stick to a steady 60-65 on the motorway it does a surprising amount of miles to a full tank (don't know exactly - I am a girl after all!). In the 5 years I've had it the only 'wear and tear' repairs I've had done is a new back box on the exhaust and front brake discs, which weren't expensive.

I wouldn't necessarily buy a 106 independence again, as they are the cheapest of the cheap, hence I think why the glove box is broken, but I would buy, say, a Zest which has a bit more money spent on it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd September, 2005

2000 Peugeot 106 Zest 2 1.1 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.1 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired28000 miles
Most recent distance29500 miles

Summary:

A very nice, economical car

Faults:

The suspension is not resistant enough and cannot carry heavy loads. The wheel arches started to scrape on the tires with five adults in the car.

General Comments:

This car is very nippy at low speeds for a 1.1 engine; perfect for short journeys.

This car is all round very comfortable and stylish.

A perfect first car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th April, 2005

10th May 2005, 02:20

The clutch is very springy and takes time to get used to.

20th Jul 2005, 10:07

I personally feel the pedals are two close together. I also think the peugeot 106 is built very poorly. chris.

2000 Peugeot 106 Quicksilver 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles

Summary:

Superb all round!!!

Faults:

Nothing so far has gone wrong with my car, I have had it for 3 months now, and still cruising around. Probably now I have said this, something will go wrong!! Touch Wood!

General Comments:

This car is pretty nippy, and handles extremely well, especially round couners. Only thing I have to be careful about is when speed bumps are around as my Quicksilver is lowered.

I have sport seats in the Quicksilver, which I and others find very comfortable.

Only one disadvantage about the Quicksilver is that the foot pedals are very close together, but other than that I love my baby!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th August, 2004

22nd Feb 2006, 16:24

I have owned a quicksilver for 4 months and I love the car, it is very fast for a 1.4 engine and very light aswell. The only thing I dislike about the car is that if you take it around a corner too fast it will under steer followed by the rear end kicking out, and that can be quite scary. I have put a peco 3 inch single straight through exhaust system on mine and a k&n induction kit which sounds great, and also I have had it lowered 60m.

6th Aug 2006, 12:01

Cracker of a car... very nippy..handles really well.. out do all other 1.4 and even saxo vtr!love it.

7th Aug 2007, 13:51

This car will NOT out do a Saxo VTR. It will match a Saxo Furio, both being pretty much the same 75bhp engine. The VTR is 98BHP (Mark 2), and the top end will pull away from the Quicksilver and Furio. It may well match (maybe) up to 60, but will then get left behind.

I have a Furio, which is almost the same engine as the Quicksilver, and have had minimal problems with it to date.

20th Jan 2009, 13:25

My mate has a 106 Quiksilver with a green cloth induction kit and a stainless steel backbox, and he has beaten two Saxo VTRs, 1 of which was stripped out. I'm starting to wonder if it's a match for my Escort GTi even.

21st Jan 2009, 05:01

Too many people think that they have 'beaten' different cars when really they probably haven't. Unless you have taken the car to a drag strip and can post an official 1/4mile time or similar then you are just pulling figures out of the air. I beat a Ferrari the other day in a Ford Ka because I have go faster stripes and one of those resistor chips off ebay...

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 21 reviews