2000 Peugeot 106 Reviews - Page 5 of 5

2000 Peugeot 106 Independance 1.1 (multi-point injection) from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.1 (multi-point injection) Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance6700 miles
Previous carNissan 200SX

Summary:

Trustworthy runner

Faults:

CD-Player failed after 10 months.

General Comments:

Yellow goo inside the oil filler cap during winter months, clears in the summer. Dealer tells me this is normal?

Brake have a good feel overall, but fade quickly if pushed too hard.

Very good road grip in the wet and dry.

Engine is always willing to rev, and for a 1.1 litre it keeps up easily with the big cars on the motorway.

Clutch is a bit of an on/off affair, a bit behind the competition.

Seats could be more comfortable.

Tappets tick loudly, even after a service. But not noticed when on the move, only at tick over.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th May, 2001

24th May 2001, 06:43

I found the yellow stuff in the oil filler cap as well - my dealer told me it was something to do with the detergent they put in the oil & is nothing to worry about. The goo seems to have disappeared completely now!

12th Jul 2001, 17:29

The 106 Independence doesn't come with a cd player as standard.

14th Apr 2003, 08:30

I have a Peugeot 106 independance, purchased 2001, the car is OK, but seats are not very comfortable, paintwork has chipped, when I phoned the dealer I found them to be not helpful. When I had a fault free accident the Peugeot (free) insurance would allow a hire car, the 2 year service was nearly 200quid.

2000 Peugeot 106 GTi 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance25000 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

As close to the Clio Williams as you can get

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Handing is excellent for country roads, however stiffness makes normal driving a chore at times. It is very difficult not to floor it just for the thrill.

Acceleration excellent, but you have to drive it hard and get the gear change just right, you must change down on every overtake. More low end torque would be nice.

Very, very jerky in traffic, but fantastic on the open road.

Rattles from everywhere, had to remove the boot mounted brake light as it sounded like I had buggies in the back of the car.

Exterior looks amazing, interior fantastic, really sporty. Everyone I have given a lift to comments on how smart and fun the the car looks.

The dealer has not been involved as nothing has gone wrong.

I used to have a 205 1.9. The 106 is faster, tighter, and probably nimbler too. The only disadvantage is the lack of torque that the 1.9 had in spades.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th May, 2001

22nd Jan 2002, 01:54

You might like to consider adding a Peugeot Sport cold air induction kit and performance exhaust system. Insurance stays virtually the same, but the engine just opens up even more and becomes much more flexible. The beauty of the cold air ram kit is that the faster you go, the denser the air becomes being supplied to the engine. It has a semi-supercharging effect - makes motorway driving in 5th gear much more interesting! I found the standard car great fun, but these small mods give you quite a bit more power - particularly lower down the rev range. Also sounds serious now, although not too raucous for everyday driving. The exhaust system is Magnex, and is designed to fit well (which it does).

2000 Peugeot 106 Quicksilver 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance22000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

All round spot on motor!

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Excellent drive, well worth the money to upgrade from a base model, more style than Pininfarina's tailor!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th January, 2001

19th Apr 2001, 08:45

Great car... best I've ever had but wanna chip it up or summit.

2000 Peugeot 106 GTI 1.6 16v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v petrol Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance4500 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

Best hot-hatch available, but expect a few problems

Faults:

Steering column rubbed and made squeaking noise.

Rattling in the dash and vibrating accelerator pedal at 60 MPH (both caused by vibrating throttle cable).

Wind noise from both driver's and passenger doors at 80 MPH+. Passenger seat-back came loose.

General Comments:

Great looks, great performance, great handling let down by some sloppy build quality.

This car is a true "Pocket Rocket". Sticks to the road really well. Needs to be driven hard to be enjoyed. It still surprises me after a few months of owning it. Rock hard ride, nice for the country roads which are its true habitat. If you are looking for a fast town car this is it!!

Take into account the insurance group - UK group 14 (I'm 21 and it cost me £1350 fully comp!).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th January, 2001

15th Jun 2001, 08:49

I'm 22 and have 3 Years NCB and my insurance is only £800 and I live in South London.

27th Jun 2002, 13:12

I was 22 when I first got my 106 Gti, with 3 years NCD and 4 points, and paid £800 with Priveldge insurance.

I'm just £25 now, with 5 years NCD and still 4points and pay a little under £500 with eagle star.

18th Dec 2002, 12:06

I had a new 106 GTi when T reg first came out and was 27 at the time. Brand new with declared aftermarket alloys my quote from Direct Line (won't do Gp 14 normally, but was existing customer) was £360.

28th Aug 2005, 15:18

Iv just bought an x-reg gti, I'm 25 with 1yr ncb and I'm paying just under £600 fully comp with Norwich Union Direct. I would suggest to anyone to check them out you may well be surprised!!

23rd Mar 2006, 06:41

I'm 18, only been driving not even a year, and my insurance is only 700 quid TPFT woo hoo. And yes that's me declaring alloys etc too. Give elephant.co.uk and Admiral a try; they are the same company, but they still beat each other with quotes, so play around with them for a while LOL as I did.

20th May 2006, 09:06

I am 18 with 1 years no claims and I found bell insurance to be cheaper than admiral and elephant, give them a try!!

2000 Peugeot 106 Sport 1.1i from Netherlands

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.1i Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance2000 kilometres
Previous carOpel Corsa 1.4

Summary:

Feels like driving a go-kart (which is good)!

Faults:

Blew a fuse when turning on both the radio and the map-light...

General Comments:

Great car, on paper very slow, but it feels very quick! I drove an Impreza once, did 240 km/h: driving my 106 at 135+ is really more enjoyable!!!! (Impreza was glued to the road, only thing that could tell you you were driving this fast, was the juddering of the rearview mirror and the speedometer [of course]).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th November, 2000

2000 Peugeot 106 GTi 1.6 16v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance1000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Tigra

Summary:

A high performance rocket

General Comments:

Great little car, with stunning performance and looks - you can't go wrong. A bit high on petrol though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd August, 2000

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 21 reviews