2002 Peugeot 106 Quicksilver 1.4 8v from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Excellent, cheap to run fun hatchback!

Faults:

Driving long journeys can give you back ache!

Sitting in the rear is really awkward; you feel every hump and bump according to my back seat passengers!

General wear and tear replacements -

Clutch and flywheel replaced after one week of owning the car because the previous driver had burnt them both out! (knew this when I bought the car, was a PUG technician for 3 years so no problem to replace! 1 hour to fit new kit)

Front brake discs and pads.

Rear brake shoes and handbrake adjusted.

O/S/R drum needed to be replaced due to ovality caused by overheating.

O/S/R drum bearing.

General Comments:

Bought the car back in May 2006, had no major problems with it.

Brilliant car for a 1st, 2nd or maybe a 3rd car!

Great on handling, sticks to road like glue, leaps round corners, nippy round town, excellent and easy to park, sips fuel, great looks.

Alternators on its way out, but she's done a lot of mileage for her age!

LOADS BETTER THAN THE SISTER SAXO ANYDAY, AND

MORE FUN THAN THE 107!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th November, 2007

2002 Peugeot 106 GTi 1.6i 16v from UK and Ireland

Summary:

If you only get to drive one once then do so because you won't regret it!

Faults:

Driver's seat is pretty worn to say car is only 3 years old.

Springs not seating properly when it was lowered, causing a "clunking" noise.

General Comments:

This car's handling is superb!

If I'd have thrown any of my previous cars around like you can with this I wouldn't be writing this review! It does help that the car has been lowered by 40mm, but it was great to drive before then.

Acceleration is pretty good for a 1.6 engine (I have done 0-60 in under 7 seconds) but it helps that it is only a small car.

Have done 130mph on the motorway in it easily.

It does struggle to keep up with bigger engine cars when the all important "torque" becomes a factor, but it will stay pretty close to them (I gave a Mercedes V6 a run for it's money the other day!).

It amazes me how many Saxo VTR's will try and beat you off the lights!

Fuel consumption isn't the best, but it don't help that I have always feel like driving it "foot to the floor".

Interior design could have been a little better, especially as it's a GTi model.

It's a head turner as there ain't many around in my area!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th May, 2005

26th Oct 2009, 09:33

0-60 under 7 seconds. That's not right, a Clio 182 is 7.0.

2002 Peugeot 106 GTi 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Not For The Faint Hearted

Faults:

I've had to have a new alternator because it was over charging the battery, but nothing else.

General Comments:

To be honest it is a lot better than I expected.

It is extremely fast because of the power to weight ratio and I have managed to get 140 mph out of with no modifications.

The seats are really comfortable and keep you secure when your cornering at high speed.

The handling is good, but I am lowering it about 60mm for that extra bit of confidence.

It is a lovely car to look at especially from behind because that is all other road users get to see.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th April, 2004

1st Mar 2005, 15:07

Although the 106GTi is a fantastic car, I highly doubt you'll see 140 without major modifications!

The Civic Type-R barely reaches that with a 2 litre, nearly 200BHP engine, so a GTi would be screaming at that point. My Quiksilver barely reaches the stated 110, but who cares when you can throw it round bends at whacky speeds! :)

Crackin motor though!

2002 Peugeot 106 Independence 1.1 petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Money better spent elsewhere

Faults:

Bonnet wasn't fitted straight.

Door trims don't line up down the side of the car.

Door seal on passenger side door has come away from the body.

Windscreen wasn't fitted properly.

Brakes (apparently) needed replacing at first service (20000 miles).

Windscreen wipers needed replacing at first service. This was due to them being poor from new.

Radio faulty. The car has been to the dealership to be repaired 3 times for this, it still isn't fixed.

The indicator relay is faulty. I have been waiting for well over a month for Peugeot to get a replacement.

The (new) brakes have started squealing, when they're not being used.

The automatic choke/throttle management occasionally goes haywire when I'm sat idling at traffic lights or a junction etc.

General Comments:

In terms of getting me from A to B the car does its job. However it would be nice if it did so without something going wrong en route!

For the price you can't expect luxury, so the fact that there's no air conditioning or power steering is understandable. However it's not the most comfortable car in the world.

The position of the steering wheel, pedals and gear stick mean that in order to be far enough back in my seat that I don't catch my knees on the steering wheel, I have to reach forward to get to the gear stick.

Peugeot have since stopped producing the 106, and I think I might know why!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th October, 2003

24th Nov 2004, 04:18

Yes I had to have a new starter motor after the first year. Also I've got similar problems with car revving up when I'm sat in a traffic queue with handbrake on.

2nd Mar 2005, 18:22

I had a new alternator fitted in the 2nd year of owning, luckily covered for free under warranty, I get that glitch where it revs really high and then really low still at traffic, how strange? genrelly though I think it has great potential.

4th Mar 2006, 16:21

A friend of mine has this car and has often given me a lift to work, both he and I noticed the reving when stationary at traffic, even with both feet off the pedals. He also had a problem with his fuel gauge, kept getting stuck at around 3/4 full mark.