1986 Peugeot 205 Reviews

1986 Peugeot 205 XS 1.0 gasoline from Italy

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.0 gasoline Manual
Distance when acquired117000 kilometres
Most recent distance117000 kilometres

Summary:

Great little car for a French vehicle

Faults:

Driver's seat fabric worn out.

Nearside front disc brake pads worn out, but not the other side.

High beams won't switch on.

General Comments:

My friend and I got this car for free. The previous owner thought he had ruined 1st and 2nd gears in the transmission, turns out it was just a missing nut from the shift linkage. This car is very easy to work on and drive. It's been seriously neglected for a long time, and we are bringing it back to a respectable ride now.

Very lightweight car.

Parts are very inexpensive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th December, 2009

1986 Peugeot 205 GR 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1997
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired86000 miles
Most recent distance236000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 205

Summary:

Good cheap motoring

Faults:

Front disks rust and have to be replaced every 2 years.

Drive shaft UJ's wear out; have to be replaced when noisy.

Compliance bushes - every other year.

Dash rattles - always.

Oil leaks - Drive shaft oil seals, cam cover, sump bung.

Rust behind headlamp.

Petrol in carburettor evaporates when engine is very hot.

Alternator diode pack.

Spline on gearbox input shaft rounded off.

Trim round gearlever has never fitted.

General Comments:

I had this car to do the 80 mile round trip to work each day. It has done this for 6 years, and only broken down 3 times in 150,000 miles.

It's very economical, but gets through front suspension and brakes like service items. If it was not bio-degrading, I would keep it longer.

This car can fit very large items in it; 38 inch wide screen TV and 1 tonne bags of garden waste.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th June, 2008

17th Aug 2013, 01:54

236K? Wow! Just shows long journeys are the key to longevity in almost any car.

1986 Peugeot 205 Automatic 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership1993
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired28000 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carFiat Uno

Faults:

Not good starter, especially in the winter. The engine was noisy - sounded like a diesel.

General Comments:

We loved our 1.6 automatic, it was really fun to drive, not very economical, but a great car.

Then we bought a new 206, which was big disappointment. If you have a 205, then look after it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th July, 2006

1986 Peugeot 205 GE 954 cc from Malta

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 954 cc Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired53124 miles
Most recent distance63350 miles

Summary:

Brilliant and Reliable Car

Faults:

The Normal items you would expect to change..

Clutch Cable

Bellows

Fuel Pipes

Brake Fluid Pipe

Ball Joints & Wishbone Arm

Disk Brakes.

General Comments:

In general this car is quite reliable, it was owned by my grandfather, and about a year and a half ago (March 2004) I purchased the car, since my grandfather died and then in May 2004, I started driving it.

I really find it comfortable and in general it's quite easy to park it, since you have a large back window. It handles quite well, and I must say that it has quite good road holding.. compared to my mum's car.. Toyota Yaris (imported 2nd Hand from Japan).

In general I can't complain about the car, except for the Performance.. the engine is quite underpowered and needs some more power..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th October, 2005

1986 Peugeot 205 1.6 CTI 1.6 petrol from Portugal

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 kilometres
Most recent distance152000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Nice, sporty and emotive convertible

Faults:

Normal maintenance (oil, filters, drive chain). Cheap if you don't use genuine parts.

Cooling tubes replaced.

Engine starter fixed (100 €)

Seats got soft and my back sinks in it.

Some dashboard parts got loose or badly fixed.

General Comments:

It's a love it or hate it car. Being a convertible, it's very nice to drive around and it has a 1.6 engine with 105 HP(from 1989 on they delivered 115 HP) which responds very quickly to the throttle. Good torque allows fast accelerations even in 5th gear from 60/70 km/h. Of course it has short gearbox and revs a lot in 5th gear if you want to go over 120 km/h. With 16 years, still reaches 185 km/h and produces an enchanting exhaust metallic hoarse grunt at low revs.

But with engine noise (at high speed), canvas roof whistling (it's a convertible), tight sport seats and no power steering, it can get really uncomfortable.

On bumpy roads produces noises everywhere.

The suspensions give priority to comfort. Are too soft for a cabrio, making it swing in corners.

The Pinifarina style makes it timeless.

Inside, you have stylish sport seats and red upholstery.

Complete dash with all the information.

All in all, it's a great to drive around convertible, not suited for highways or high speeds, with affordable fuel consumption (under 10l/100 km combined) and not expensive maintenance - specially if you use non genuine parts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th July, 2002

7th Jul 2002, 13:53

Absolutely spot-on about the suspension. As the owner of a 1988 CTi I certainly notice the inside front wheel scrabbling to get a grip on the road when cornering. I'm looking at getting shorter, stiffer shocks to counteract this. Yes the body does tend to roll a bit too much on corners. Why does the '88 deliver 83 BHP and the '89 115 BHP with the same size engine?

27th Feb 2003, 11:29

Best peugeot car ever with no doubt. fun, adaptable to all situations and best of all powerfull... Anthony Doody, Portugal.

8th May 2003, 08:23

The '88 car had 105bhp and the '89 had 115bhp. Peugeot made alterations to the engine and gearbox (repeatedly), the most noticeable was a change from a single point fuel injection system to a multi point system. This had the effect of increasing the cars bhp while staying at the same 1580 cc.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 13 reviews