1986 Peugeot 205 Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1986 Peugeot 205 GR 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance77000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 205

Faults:

1.9 GTI alloy Wheels rubbing on the inside of the rear arches of my 5 door.

General Comments:

How do you stop it?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th May, 2002

1986 Peugeot 205 GLD 1.7 diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.7 diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired128000 miles
Most recent distance131000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

A nice reliable little runner

Faults:

Reverse light switch needed replacing when I bought the car.

Exhaust needed changing 2 weeks ago because of a 5 cm split in it.

A little bit of rust that had spread around the arches.

The car was broken into via the window and the stereo stolen.

General Comments:

A very nice car to drive. It handles well and for a diesel it is quite nippy.

The seats are comfortable and the leg room is enough for a 6 foot 3 inch tall person.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th June, 2001

21st Jun 2001, 15:11

This car also wheel spins very good as well.

28th Jul 2001, 18:26

I certainly know this is a nippy car, it once had 5 people in it and still pulled off amazingly well.

7th Sep 2002, 15:22

After driving other 1.8 diesels, I was immediately shocked by the acceleration of this car. The power:weight ratio is exceptional.

11th Oct 2003, 05:44

Hey, I also have a 205 1800 gld and think it is a very nice car. But I would not consider it to be "nippy" or even mildly exciting to drive.0-60 in 13 seconds, that's slow.

Rich.

5th Dec 2004, 10:44

This car has been in my family for over 12 years now and has never failed us. Starts first time, every time... without fail. Both myself and my sister learned to drive in it. Its had bumps and knocks, but just keeps going. I often travel 300 miles on weekends along motorways and it has no problems at all. The one I have is the actual car featured in What Car? magazine years ago. Unfortunately the water pump is on its way out, so with a lot thought, I have decided to retire the little diesel : (If anyone from What Car? reads this and wants to do a '18 years later' review... please say so, she needs a proper send off.

25th Apr 2005, 16:28

It is very fast for a 1.8 diesel, especially considering it was in production around 15 years ago and not meant to be a high performance vehicle. Many average modern cars have a 0-60 time slower than this.

1986 Peugeot 205 GTi 1.6 petrol from Bulgaria

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired191000 kilometres
Most recent distance192000 kilometres

Summary:

Great fun to drive, but fragile

Faults:

Quite a few things are wrong with the car, but I got I this way. Most aren't fixed yet.

- Vacuum regulator (12L/100km grandma-style driving... ouch!)

- Front right wheel bearing is on it's way, makes a sound like a worn out electric fan, more audible on right-handers, when the weight is to the other side of the car.

- First and second gear syncros are almost completely worn out, I'll drive it that way though - double clutching rules ;)

- There is a little play in the right drive-shaft, gotta replace it soon...

General Comments:

First of all, the car handles GREAT! Too bad you have to turn the steering wheel so much to make a tight turn, but overall, I have no complaints - like someone said, this thing is like a go-kart.

The gearbox isn't the smoothest ever, but the car is old, should be better on newer ones.

The clutch cable needs regular adjustment, the point at wich the clutch engages goes down (pedal-wise) with time, so at some point you start hearing grinding sounds when switching gears, and a little later you just can't switch gears! Fixing this is a no-brainer though.

The interior is very noisy on bumpy roads (otherwise it's nice and functional), as is the engine at speeds above 100km/h - the low 5th gear makes the revs go pretty high. This car is not created for highways, but around town it's hard to beat. Humiliate golf GTi drivers? No problem :).

I was amazed by the spacious interior this small car offers, especially in the back. I am pretty tall (almost 2 meters), so without an adjustable steering wheel my right knee almost touches the wheel, so it's a bit hard to twist my foot for a heel-toe. Otherwise the driving position is very comfortable, and the seats are great.

My car is quite old, and obviously driven enthusiastically in the past, but it's almost impossible to find a decent GTi around here. If you're looking for a reliable car, just get a non-GTi VW Golf or something along that line. This thing is quite fragile, although the bodywork is great, mine is completely rust-free (although it might get rusty after a while if it has been crashed and poorly fixed), and as I hear the engines last for quite a while. All in all, don't buy one in a rush, I got mine like that, and discovered there are much more problems than those that were found before the purchase. Still, I'm satisfied, I got a pretty good car for cheap.

I haven't rated dealer service cause I have no experience with them, except I hear some frightening stories about service bills - here they charge a sack of money for something that can be done for half (or less) the price in an independent garage.

One more thing, I have had the car for just over a month, so if more problems appear (and they will) further down the road (pun intended) I'll just come back and post a comment.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th March, 2001

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 13 reviews