1988 Peugeot 205 Reviews - Page 3 of 7

1988 Peugeot 205 XS 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired115000 miles
Most recent distance117000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 306

Summary:

Absolute flying machine

Faults:

Absolutely nothing had gone wrong with this car in the time I drove it, and I really gave it a beating.

Mind you, the brakes seemed like they were sticking a little, not sure though.

General Comments:

I bought this car as a run around whilst my xsi 306 was off the road, I paid 400 for it with GTI wheels and mouldings, it looked gorgeous in red. what a rocket!! wiped the floor with 1600 GTI's and used to give the 1900s a run. it had a power boost valve, K&N filters and I think a high lift cam also, when the 306 was back on the road, it was no where near as fast, and that's a 2.0 16v!! and the noise from it, sounded like a jet plane. couldnt not recommend this car more highly, for the insurance, you will not find a better/faster car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th November, 2003

25th Nov 2003, 15:38

Your 306 xsi is a 8 valve, they don't come on 16 valves.

16th Mar 2004, 13:54

I'm guessing that the Gti s that you raced were driven by people who cudnt be bothered to race you - knowing that there would be no contest.

28th May 2006, 10:20

XS will keep up with a 1600 Gti easily, having owned both I should know...

Won't be near a 1900 tho.

1988 Peugeot 205 XS 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance118000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Goes like slippery snot, costs as much as a hanky

Faults:

Both suspension arms failed last MOT; made a huge difference to the handling when done.

Wear on driver's seat bolster.

Starter motor.

Differential bearings are starting to whine.

General Comments:

It goes like slippery snot. It's the twin carb model, which is apparently slower than the later ones, rubbish, but the MPG rarely sees the nice side of 35 MPG. It doesn't have much torque, but I'm often surprised when I look at the speedo.

It had GTI alloys fitted when I bought it, which help it to handle like no other car I have driven. Roundabouts and country roads especially bring a cheesy grin to my face.

It's bloody noisy above 75mph. Stick to country roads.

The interior is held together with sticky backed plastic. It rattles, but nothing falls off, but that's not why you buy a car like this.

The best £380 I have spent, and the insurance is dirt cheap (try Elephant.co.uk)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st October, 2003

24th Feb 2005, 09:00

You need to put your foot down mate and realize what this car is all about!

1988 Peugeot 205 XS 1.4 Manual Carb from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual Carb Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10500 miles
Most recent distance10583 miles

Summary:

Insanely fast for the money

Faults:

Bad blue smoke, needed new piston rings and valve stems.

New head gasket and sump gasket required.

Two new tires needed.

New front disc's and pads.

New steering rack put in.

General Comments:

I haven't even pushed the car hard yet, I've got to wait till the new components wear in a bit, however the car takes off from the blocks insanely quick.

Interior fairly bland, but functional.

Brakes seem a bit poor maybe.

Only cost 200, about 250 worth of parts so it was really a bargain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st May, 2003

1988 Peugeot 205 XS 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired92000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 205

Summary:

A good little performance 1.4 - not for the faint hearted

Faults:

The gearbox needed to be reconditioned.

A new clutch had to be put in.

General Comments:

Previously I owned a Peugeot 205 XE, which is a 1 litre manual, so stepping up to this was quite a difference. I have always been a fan of the Peugeot's, since I had the XE. They are about the best hot hatches you can buy for your money from manufacturer standard.

You can feel it has been breathed on by Peugeot from the factory as the performance is short of breath taking for a 1.4.

But have no illusions, this is by no means a Porsche, but it doesn't half go well for a little hatch. With 0-60 figures around 9.5-10.5 seconds it'll leave many cars standing.

The downside of this incredible acceleration is the gear ratios which will leave you at 3,900 rpm at 70.

When looking at the 205's be careful of collapsed brake hoses, engine mounts, clutch and gearbox noise and rattle. On the plus side, you will rarely find a very rusty 205.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th July, 2002

7th Dec 2002, 08:58

Cheers quite helpful. I've just bought a D reg GT, it needs a good service, but it's a sound car (i hope!) Is yours the older engine with the plugs sort of pointing back? I've just thought will it use leaded or unleaded?! adriches@hotmail.com.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 29 reviews