1988 Peugeot 205 Reviews - Page 5 of 7

1988 Peugeot 205 Open 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance134000 miles

Summary:

More than just a pocket rocket

Faults:

I have not had any problems yet. The car was previously owned by a family member, and in all its life only broke down once, which was due to a flat battery. Unlike many 205's after 134000 miles, the interior is still perfect.

General Comments:

For a young driver, the series of 1.4 Peugeot 205's are about as fast as it gets.

It's also got fairly good fuel economy (on long motorway trips 40+ to the gallon).

Handling is fantastic. It lets you know exactly what's going on, so it's not a difficult car to play with, although it is incredibly rewarding.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd July, 2001

25th Oct 2001, 06:32

A very apt review I feel!

I too have a 205 Open with 91000 miles on the clock, having covered 17k in the last 18 months. It is without a doubt a true bargain, both out-performing and out-handling the 1.3 Mk4 Fiesta I also drive.

I agree with your comments about 40+ mpg during motorway driving, though with hard town and country use which makes up the majority of my day-to-day use I have seen this fall to around 25mpg!

I have found the choice of tyres to greatly affect the handling, especially in the wet. I am currently running Firestone F580 which have (surprisingly) proved a massive improvement on the Goodyear Clubs I was running before.

The car is standard at the moment, but I have a free flow air filter on order to provide the necessary sound effects!

Mark (markharwood@hotmail.com)

1st Jul 2002, 14:08

Did you have any problems with idling revs surging? I liked your review and it seems you know what you're talking about. I just bought an '88 205 CTi 1.6 & it's giving me a bit of hassle with the engine revs. After about 10 minutes driving it doesn't suddenly stall. Any ideas?

1988 Peugeot 205 Junior 1.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles

Summary:

A very reliable car for such little money

Faults:

When I got the car it needed a new gaiter and clutch cable.

No problems since.

General Comments:

It's extremely comfortable for such a small car.

Although the performance does let it down.

Hills and the 205 just don't go together.

One thing I can't complain about is the MPG. For such an old engine it's excellent.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th July, 2001

1988 Peugeot 205 XE 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired93429 miles
Most recent distance94000 miles

Faults:

I have had this car for 4 days and there is already an oil leak!

The seats are very worn, but seat covers can sort that out. Nothing else... yet.

General Comments:

My first car, even though its top speed isn't very high it is very nippy when pulling off. And was a bargain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd May, 2001

1st Jul 2001, 17:28

My xe had a chronic oil leak too, but they are nippy for such a small engine. It'd whoop my new car (fiesta) at the lights. Bit too much went wrong with it tho : (

29th Feb 2004, 15:40

I have a Xe and one of the vaulves went on mine, but very nippy and my top speed is about 100MPH I have now put a GTi body kit on it and it look cool, but beware if you want to do this you have to up grade the wheel arches as they are to small for the body kit to go on, but 100mph pretty fast for a one liter don't you thing!

1988 Peugeot 205 GTi 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired96000 miles
Most recent distance97000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 205 XLD

Summary:

Penultimate performance psycho pug powerhouse

Faults:

Had it a month and I thought it was spot on... but...

New HT leads.

Draught from both doors (windows seal badly).

Short cooling hose from the thermostat burst (watch this one, the steam fills the dizzy cap and the water can empty in minutes from the system) pain to get at!

Lead corroded off the starter (which makes a strange worn out noise still), nuisance having to take the inlet manifold off!

Revs too high when bought, minor adjustment.

Drop links on anti roll bar clunk (can't be bothered to fix yet) about £40 each!!

Gunk build up in the oil filler pipe (common problem) cap is a nightmare to get open!

Small oil leak (pint every month or so) will get someone else to sort.

Padded out the boot to cut exhaust noise (I'm getting old!).

New wipers (old ones did a similar job to an old piece of stick).

Besides this the car is mint and original and seems OK.

General Comments:

Watch out for.

Boy raced models.

Collapsing rear suspension bushes (cause rubbing on the inner arch).

Heater matrix leaks.

Boy raced models.

Clunking from the front end.

Collapsed driver seats.

Boy raced models.

Leaking s/roofs and bad door/window seals.

Crash damage (obvious).

Do not buy one from a teenager.

I got mine from a 30ish gent who had it for 5 years and it still had niggles, revs too high was an obvious one. Mine sits happily at 800 rpm with no dipping, whether hot or cold.

The car is everything they say it is and more, get one today!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th March, 2001

1st Jul 2002, 13:55

I'd like to know how this guy got the revs down in his car. Mine surges a little and the idling revs are about 1100 RPM, his are about 800 RPM.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 29 reviews