1992 Peugeot 205 Reviews - Page 7 of 7

1992 Peugeot 205 GTi 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Metro MG

Summary:

Wicked hatch to throw about

Faults:

Drive shafts (both).

Starter motor.

Most of the rubber pipes under the bonnet.

Distributer cap.

Brake pipes.

Uneven idling.

Doesn't like the wet!

General Comments:

The handling is fantastic, except in the wet, where it understeers badly.

Chassis could easily cope with more power.

I've had a lot of problems with it, but it drives so well, I love it anyway.

The gearing is very low, so motorways are a problem, and the fuel consumption is crap, but then you don't buy one of these for either of those things anyway!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th September, 2000

1992 Peugeot 205 GTi 1.9 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.9 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta Si

Summary:

Too good to miss out on!! Buy one!!

Faults:

Burns oil quite a lot. Anti-roll bar bushes needed replacing at 54k miles. Radiator has a slight water leak.

General Comments:

A great car to drive, especially from 3000 revs onwards! Shame about the tinny body work and general rattles. Best handling car I have driven. Not really that quick after 90 MPH. Only get 220 miles to a full tank of fuel, mostly around town.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th June, 2000

1992 Peugeot 205 GL 1.3 petrol from Honduras

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 kilometres
Most recent distance77000 kilometres

Summary:

All you can want in a car with these specs!!!

Faults:

Brake pads had to be replaced and also the shock absorbers. These are the two most common problems amongst these cars, I also had a problem with the paint, it was shipped from the Fab with a defective primer that chipped until I had to repaint the whole car.

General Comments:

Great car, it's dependable, comfortable and it's great on your wallet, not a high maintenance car. I would definitely recommend it to anyone. It's true the 205 is the car that jumpstarted Peugeot back into life.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th June, 2000

29th Jun 2001, 03:32

Brake discs on the frunt shock absorbers need replacing. Door is jammed. Needs new door catch. Other than that it is a good car for nothing.

1992 Peugeot 205 GRD 1.9 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.9 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

A cheap pocket rocket..... and it's a diesel

Faults:

Radiators, about 5 in total, also several batteries.

General Comments:

Top class car for knocking around in. Also a deceptively fast car, capable of breaking the 100mph barrier.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st June, 2000

12th Oct 2001, 07:44

I drove a 1.9 diesel 205 last summer and it was great!

You can really fling them around.

I was astonished by its performance.

1992 Peugeot 205 GTi 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
Engine and transmission 1.6
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10

Faults:

Bought 2nd hand and have now put 40k up. Replaced radiator, rusted away. Replaced heater rad, result of above. Problem with fuel tank flaking and causing fuel filter to block, resulting in fuel starvation.... Previous owner replaced fuel pump. Can't get level sensor for coolant bottle.

General Comments:

Brillant car. Goes like a kart.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th January, 2000

1992 Peugeot 205 GTi 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10

Faults:

Nearside driveshaft, rear dampers, throttle body replaced, new radiator needed.

General Comments:

Top car. Everytime I drive it I come home with a grin. Superb car, reliable for its age. Performance car bargain of the decade.

How to humiliate the BMW driver :

1) Pull up to him at the lights.

2) Look at his M3 replica body kit and wheels.

3) Clock the 318 badge on the back.

4) When lights change, let him get ahead.

5) Put your right foot down and off you go.

6) Hit second gear and pass him.

7) Look in mirrors to see angry bloke waving fist.

8) Laugh and continue on your way, satisfied in the knowledge that come the first bend he'll be history.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th October, 1999

18th Feb 2006, 21:34

Hi, totally agree, I had a 1.6Gti, recently, and was messing with a guy in a 928 Porsche!!! He had me on every straight, but come to the cornering, and I was all over him like a dose!!!

Unfortunateley I blew the head up the same day, so she went to the place we hate to mention (an Mi6 converter!!!) She was great, 1.6 GTi Roland Garros special edition. Miss her terribly, have just purchased a 205 1.9 Gentry today, which is basically a 1.9 GTi, with an auto box and pretty suspension. but with only 60,000 on the clock, and a full service history, the £900 price mark was to good to miss, so I am back in the 205 world and ready to take on Mr sports man!!! Come and have ago Mr porsche, M3, Saab 900 turbo (yes a 1.6 Gti will beat them too)

1992 Peugeot 205 GTi 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10

Faults:

The heater radiator started leaking and flooded the car. In the two years that I owned it this was the only major problem. The oil pressure gauge was a bit off line sometimes.

General Comments:

A bullet of car to drive. Mine was Miami Blue in colour and was fitted with 15 inch TSW Blades, Janspeed exhaust and a K+N filter. It looked and sounded the dog b*ll*cks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th February, 1999

1992 Peugeot 205 Zest 1.8 diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
Engine and transmission 1.8 diesel
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10

Faults:

Very little.

General Comments:

Very comfortable for tall drivers (I'm 6'4"). Economical. Steering heavy when parking in tight spaces. Not much oomph when going up hills! Very reliable & yes I am selling it due to the need for more space and power steering.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th November, 1997

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 32 reviews