1992 Peugeot 205 Reviews - Page 5 of 7

1992 Peugeot 205 Rallye 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired54000 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles

Summary:

Absolutely perfect first car that's a little different from the norm

Faults:

The seats were not in great condition when I first got the car so I had a vinyl 1/2 leather-look re-trim done on the front seats. However, recently the rear seat has started to wear through and that'll need to be sorted before I come to sell the car on later this year.

I put on a Pipercross free flow air filter which now means the carb freezes over at about 75mph in freezing fog, but the difference in engine note (and maybe power - but I can't remember what it was like before) is great. It now roars at high revs and it's not a manufactured exhaust sound, but induction.

Otherwise the car has been running great for 4 years, but it has been regularly serviced.

General Comments:

Absolutely perfect first car. I got it when I was 18. It was a lucky find (I just drove past it on the forecourt of a Ford dealer) but I didn't want to be stuck with one of those run-of-the-mill first cars like a 1.1 Fiesta or Nova. I wanted something a bit different that wasn't going to cost me a packet to insure or run. I'd looked at a 106 Rallye around the same time, but it was nearly double the price, more expensive to insure and a bit more 'broken in'. I'd say the 205 has fairly high performance (for it's size) and easily insurable for those young ones among us.

Nowadays though it's got far more competition as a first car and it feels a bit dated inside (it's noisy and squeaky compared to newer cars). If you absolutely must be a little different from the rest then try and find a 205 Rallye. It'll be hard work (as there aren't that many of them) but it's worth it. Just make sure you look after it and keep it in tip top shape. I don't want to ever see one in my local scrap yard.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th April, 2002

1992 Peugeot 205 Trio Plus 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired52600 miles
Most recent distance59801 miles

Summary:

A great first car and reliable run about

Faults:

Recently had to replace the spark plugs because the engine wasn't running right, and had to have some repairs done to the brake system at my last full service.

Also, the exhaust systems seems to be continually rattling - I have had it looked at, but it's a recurring problem.

General Comments:

This is my first car and I guess I will be able to look back on this car with fond memories. Admittedly it's not very fast, and the handling leaves a lot to be desired, but the car has been exceptionally reliable - it has started first or second time every single day I have needed it over the last year and a half.

The only downside is the cost of insurance on this car - I first got insured at the age of 19, and I was paid just under £1000 for my first year, and that was only 3rd party / fire and theft cover.. why so pricy?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th December, 2001

1992 Peugeot 205 DXi Style 1.8 diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired106000 miles
Most recent distance112000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Nova

Summary:

An economical race car

Faults:

The alternator went about a month ago.

The CV joints are on the way out.

Leak in the radiator.

General Comments:

I have only had the car since August.

For a normal diesel it is pretty quick off the mark.

The MPG you get is very good, even when you are accelerating hard.

Love the looks, front/rear spoilers give it a nice sporty look.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th October, 2001

1992 Peugeot 205 Rallye (UK) 1.4 TU3S from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 TU3S Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired62500 miles
Most recent distance84000 miles

Summary:

Best value pocket rocket around - will not disappoint

Faults:

Badly worn seats when bought (common fault on the Rallye), replaced with 1.9 GTi half leather items. 100 quid with fitting.

Ignition module went. Free replacement from the recovery people, as they happened to have one.

Rear suspension trailing/radius arm bearings failed. New rear axle assembly fitted (from a 1.6 GTi), 150 quid including fitting.

New rocker cover gasket fitted.

New exhaust down pipe and silencer, 45 quid, fitted myself.

Valve stem seals are on their way out.

CV boot has just gone.

General Comments:

Bought the car while looking for an XS, as it was newer with lower mileage than any XS I could find, and was in excellent condition with no rust! Loved the bright yellow paint (no one else does though) and sporty looks, then I drove it!

Definitely one of the fastest, best handling small cars out there, and as it's only a 1.4 it's great on insurance. As a first car I couldn't ask for any more.

Driving position and seats are top notch, even comfy on long journeys. Gear change is sweet, with decent ratios. Handling is very safe and predictable, and rewards you when you throw it around.

Since than I have done a lot of tinkering. First up was putting wider 14" wheels on, immediate improvment in cornering grip. Felt the car could roll a bit too much and understeered when driven hard, so I fitted stiffer lower springs to match the stiffer GTi back axle. Handles like a dream now.

Found the brakes faded when driven hard so fitted bigger callipers and pads, and now stops as well as it corners.

Haven't done anything to the engine yet as it's pretty damn fast without it.

They do have there problems though, they are not the most reliable cars around, and can have serious problems that are difficult to forsee. But parts are cheap and plentiful, so it's less of a problem.

The equipment level is poor to say the least, and there are lots of rattles and squeaks, even on a good car, but you get used to them.

But the best thing I can say about the car is I can't find anything to replace it that offers the same performance and value for money, so I will keep messing with it until I do.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th October, 2001

10th Oct 2001, 12:09

Try a 1300 106 rallye?

15th Oct 2001, 07:59

How did you uprate the brakes - what did you use?? I have a 205 GT and would like to improve the brakes!!

17th Oct 2001, 10:48

Where in the country did you get a full rear bar from fitted for £150??

12th Nov 2001, 04:40

I own a K reg 205 Rallye. It too is yellow. The seats are pretty crappy condition, but they will be re-trimmed. Only mod so far is the white 106 Rallye steels with 185/60 tyres, around town and down the back lanes it's a monster. Am thinking (when cash allows) to fit a 106 GTi engine. 120bhp through the same gearbox should make 0-60 about 6.5 in seconds if set up properly.

Trance@orange.net

20th Dec 2001, 16:34

Got the beam from a GTi they were breaking. Place was Timsons Autos http://www.timsonsautos.co.uk/ in Nuneaton, near Coventry. Was not a great beam, but for £75 for the beam and £75 for the fitting, I can't complain. Good little place.

6th Sep 2002, 07:29

Hi,

I also had problems with my rear axle so went to my local breakers and paid £30 for another one which had blistein shocks on.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 32 reviews