1992 Peugeot 205 Reviews - Page 6 of 7

1992 Peugeot 205 Style 1.7 diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.7 diesel Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired121000 miles
Most recent distance121500 miles
Previous carCitroen BX 1.7 Diesel

Summary:

At the moment I'm disappointed with it

Faults:

Trip meter broken at purchase.

Clock broken at purchase.

General Comments:

Not sure about this one, considering it has the same engine as my old Citroen BX (which had covered 150,000 miles). I find the engine fairly 'gut-less'. It simply feels far less powerful and not as free revving - very disappointing.

Although it is fitted with new Goodyear tyres on the front and Michelins on the back I find 'tyre roar' and engine noise at 60mph really quite bad.

2nd gear can be difficult to engage until the gearbox has started to warm up, but overall the gearchange is very good.

Lack of windscreen wiper 'intermittent' wipe on this model is more frustrating than I thought possible.

I've only owned the car for 2 weeks so I'll provide an update later on. I'm just a bit concerned that I won't be able to live with racket it makes on my daily 50 mile trip on the M3 to work and back.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th March, 2001

7th Aug 2001, 19:18

I bought a style model yesterday and have already done 140 miles in it, I agree with the tyre roar but I consider the performance quite good. I've beaten several people off the line in mine as it seems to pull off well. I do agree with the intermittent problem cause its a pain in the ass having to keep flicking the wiper switch every 5 seconds. One thing I can't complain about is the MPG you get, it seems to run forever on half a tank.

23rd Sep 2001, 13:19

I agree, this car is very quick off the start. I have the 1.1L petrol and have done 110mph and the MPG is very good. I've raced and beaten 1.3 engined cars. A great improvement on my Ford Fiesta.

10th Nov 2004, 07:56

I have had my 205 for 3 years and after 120,000 miles it does start to need a bit of work.

Totally agree with how annoying it is not to have an intermittent windscreen wiper.

As for the noise factor - turn the radio up and I promise it won't bother you half as much!!!

24th Sep 2006, 18:23

I've got an identical car, and have all the problems listed above. The trip meter I've found works eventually after a few presses of various viciousness, but the clock adjust is dead. Strangely the paint has fallen off both the bonnet and roof of mine, but that doesn't bother me either since the primer is grey and the car is grey. And besides, at 55+mpg, I'm not complaining!

1992 Peugeot 205 GTi 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 205 GTI 1.9

Summary:

Road legal go-kart

Faults:

Replaced radiator.

New CV joint boot.

General Comments:

This is my fourth GTI and I would recommend anyone to at least have a go in one at least once. They handle like they are on rails and will out handle a sports cars on any B road that cost 10 times as much.

Interior isn't the best on the market, but then you don't buy them for what's on the inside, but more for what they can do on the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th March, 2001

1992 Peugeot 205 GTi 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired39000 miles
Most recent distance66000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Polo

Summary:

Very sporty nice runner if it has been looked after

Faults:

New raDiator.

2 starter motors.

Ignition pack.

Valve oil stems.

Hoses.

Trim problems.

General Comments:

Very fast and enjoyable car to drive. Serious eye catcher and can be picked up at bargain prices these days.

If your going to get one make sure it has been regularly serviced as problems will definitely occur if it hasn't.

Suffers from bad starting and cutting out when cold and are expensive to have work done on.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th March, 2001

8th Jul 2001, 17:01

I have a 1.6GTi (1990) and have also had some major problems with the starter motor etc... my valve stem seals also went, thought it was the rings at first! Great little car though.

1992 Peugeot 205 Rallye 1.4 SOHC 85 bhp from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 SOHC 85 bhp Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance94500 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf Mk1

Summary:

Ideal first performance car for the under 20's

Faults:

Nothing, apart from routine servicing, new tyres, cambelt replacement and a rear brake re-build.

General Comments:

Light-weight, so fantastic performance.

Superb reliability, great brakes and up to 50 mpg!

Great on the motorway, great fun round the bends.

I'm only 18, so group 7 insurance is very helpful. It has the same engine as the XS, but attracts a lower insurance group because of the stripped-out, lack of equipment style. Has never let me down and looks fantastic in Canary yello with all the Rallye stripes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd December, 2000

15th Jan 2001, 05:50

I also have a Rallye, they are wicked little cars, and generally in better nick than the older XS. They are the best secondhand 1.4 available by a long way. If you find one buy it!

30th Mar 2001, 19:25

After having 205 XS for a year, I found it pretty impressive for a 1.4. I got my Rallye about 3 months ago and it is great to drive. The suspension seems solid but not too bumpy... It is great on the insurance (unless you have certain convictions - like me!) I recommend a little gadget from these people -> http://www.ecotekplc.com

Shame it didn't have a turbo... ;)

Mat, 19, Worcestershire.

3rd Apr 2001, 12:55

Hello, I also have a 205 Rallye, a white one, 84000 miles. I bought it in January 2001. I am 17 and the insurance is not bad.

Performance, yes it has, I've had 110mph out of it and 0-60 8 seconds. I have a Peco back box and a K&N filter. Does anyone know how many there are in Britain?

Get one now!!!

6th Apr 2001, 13:22

I'm selling my '98 306... to buy a mad yellow 205 rallye. ace!

17th Apr 2001, 10:29

Strange, you have a yellow 205 Rallye with 85 bhp? Is this only in the UK? The originals were white with 103 BHP?

Tjitte

31st May 2001, 09:44

I also have a Rallye - K reg original - very fast, I've had over 130mph. Looking to sell it soon, if interested for chat/buying etc contact me at chaten.mymate@orange.net

12th Nov 2001, 04:44

The UK spec Rallye is available in white/yellow with between 75 and 80 bhp depending where you read. The car has a different cam and gearbox ratios to the XS and therefore caution should be applied when getting spares. It is slightly different to the XS in some areas!!

8th Jan 2011, 10:49

I've also got a 205 Rallye in yellow, with 100.000 on it. I've only just bought the car. Yes, they are good little cars. I'm 21, and the insurance is quite cheap for me. My first car was a s1 106 Rallye, which is a very good car. Buy one if you have the chance.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 32 reviews