1994 Peugeot 205 GR 1.4 petrol from Israel


One of the most reliable cars I ever met; comfortable, drives great and well built - one of a kind


This model has 2 front electric windows, and the one on the driver's side stopped working 4 years ago

But honestly, nothing but natural wear out of parts.

We are talking about 16 year old parts...!

General Comments:

Great car.

Great return on investment.

Very reliable.

Small engine, but still kicking.

Amazing how the car sticks to the road.

This is really a forever car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th December, 2010

1994 Peugeot 205 trio 1.8 diesel from UK and Ireland


Excellent older hatchback, great economy


Front shocks, front pads/calipers, rear shoes/cylinders, fuel shut-off solenoid.

General Comments:

Really excellent small car. Very comfortable on motorways, heavy steering in town. No rust to mention at all. Excellent economy at up to 65mpg! Thin body panels so vulnerable to dents. Very, very reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd May, 2006

1994 Peugeot 205 Inca 205 diesel from UK and Ireland




Usual wear a tear items. Nothing unexpected.

General Comments:

This is an incredible car, will sit on the motorway all day at BMW cruiser speeds. Gives 50mpg, never wanders off line round a bend. And has never broken down. With the rear seats down will take large and awkward loads. I suspect this ageing 205D is far better than a lot of modern equivalents. The three door version allows easy access in out out of the car. The 205 is truly a great car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th December, 2005

1994 Peugeot 205 1.8 diesel from UK and Ireland




I have just general faults and was wondering if other 205 owners have seen similar. The heater in my 1994 205 has blown and now I note the fuel gauge has broken. Is this indicative of a 11 year old car especially the 205?

General Comments:

Apart from the above, she handles very well indeed. Have not managed to outdo a BMW at the lights yet, but have "done" a Fiat Uno.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th February, 2005

1994 Peugeot 205 STDT 1.8 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland


A modern classic, good performance with sensible fuel consumption



General Comments:

Replacement front struts and anti roll bar links, new discs and pads.

Replacement rear brake shoes cylinders, handbrake cable and new rear copper brake pipes. New rear subframe mounts. But what 130,000 mile car doesn't need a little overhaul?

The engine is sweetly put together, surprisingly smooth for a diesel, pulling like a train, leaving many more modern rivals with red faces and still returns a figure of 50+mpg.

A recent trip to France two up and fully loaded with two bikes on the back returned 46mpg.

The handling is beautifully balanced and the steering direct and responsive as a 205 should be. There's a little play creeping into the rack which will be cured soon. And when pushing through the bends the brakes pull the car up well inspiring confidence.

The car is shortly to benefit from an intercooler which it should have had fitted from new. Some Peugeot main dealers had these fitted as an option from new. Power and torque is increased 25%, without economy suffering, if anything improving slightly.

The car is well trimmed in the style of a GTI and well equipped. Everything works and apart from a previous owner losing the fob for the central locking, which is now only operable on the door key.

The only down side is the central wheel caps are easily detached by thieves, as the alloy wheels match those of the larger 405 which are commonly used as taxis...

Also an occasional rattle from the glass sunroof, which doesn't leak, and doesn't really become intrusive.

It's a pity Peugeot still don't make them. They continued to do so for a few more years in France.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st August, 2003

30th Oct 2003, 12:28

An update to the above review.

The car has now been fitted with an intercooler (aluminium) so that the hot exhaust gases exiting the turbo are cooled before entering the inlet fuel side. This makes the air temp lower and the fuel more dense.

This has brought a marked increase in power up to about 115bhp. Acceleration is up, genuinely sub 10seconds now and torque is higher. Driving the car the engine feels a lot freer and willing.

Fuel economy has not suffered returning at worst 46mpg and 58 mpg on a long run. However having the extra performance of the engine it's tempting to drive a little quicker.

Brakes and suspension are well up to the job.

Everything else is going well with the car. Frequent oil changes every 6000 miles and giving it a warm up, at least seeing the temp guage move before setting off has meant this engine is still pretty sweet and smooth as far as a diesel goes.

And the cost of the intercooler conversion? £580 and it's worth every penny. Some Peugeot main dealers had new cars fitted with intercoolers from new as Peugeot themselves hadn't cottoned onto the benefits.

The rest of the car is in pretty good condition. Everything works and nothing has fallen off or given up.

Eventually the car will need replacing, but it is a difficulty to know what modern turbo diesel to replace it with as nothing comes close to this special 205. Believe me I've been looking. Poss the Seat Ibizia TDi Sport (ride too hard) or the Alfa 147 JTD 16v Multijet? It's expensive and Italian.

The answer is 205. Happy driving.

1994 Peugeot 205 XAD 1.8 from Portugal


Only if he drinks water, to be more economic!!


Some oil trying to escape from a very hard place to find.

General Comments:

It's a real machine, but a 1.9td engine and an intercooler was the best thing I added to it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th March, 2001

9th Feb 2008, 12:19


How did the 1.9 td with intercooler fit in? Was it a simple swap?

1994 Peugeot 205 Mardi Gras 1.8 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland


New radiator

Showing signs of wear and tear after 5 years.

General Comments:

Great car for short journeys, not so good for long motorway journeys. This is my second 205 and I've had it from new. Unfortunately an expanding family means we will have to part company and get something bigger.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th October, 1999

15th Jun 2002, 08:48

Keep the Peugeot, get rid of the family.

28th Oct 2002, 16:37

I own a 1995 205 XAD diesel and it was the best car I ever had. It currently has 242000 Kilometers and runs great.

So far I have replaced the battery and 3 timing belts.

The exhaust is still the original. It does not burn any oil.

The only problem is the body. The sheet metal is very thin and gets dented very easly.

Thank you Ernesto.

12th Nov 2009, 07:43

The comment above about long journeys is wrong in my opinion. I'm 6' 6" and drove mine 500 miles in one day. I find the 205 very comfy and the 1.8TD engine is an excellent motorway cruiser.