2005 Peugeot 206 Reviews - Page 2 of 3

2005 Peugeot 206 CC 1.6 from Egypt

Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10

Summary:

Don't even think of buying it

Faults:

It was running just fine until it reached 22,000 kilometers.

Windows malfunctioned. By default, the retractable roof malfunctioned because you can not move the roof up or down unless both windows are completely down.

Service station employees are untrained & they lack professionalism when dealing with clients.

Been more the 1 month now and the problem are not yet fixed because they have ordered some kind of sensors from France and it did not arrive yet. I Will sell it as soon as the sensors arrive and get fixed in the car.

Egyptian dealer claims that such malfunctions are not covered by the warranty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th July, 2006

20th Jul 2006, 03:32

Your dealer is a crook. This is certainly covered by the guarantee. To wait one month and not get the so called sensors from France is also a hoax. Change the dealer...

27th Mar 2007, 05:15

Changing the dealer is not an option in Egypt. All brands have an exclusive dealer in the country :( Peugeot is not an exception.

27th Mar 2007, 13:29

Peugeot electrics are generally quite unreliable. Add an electric roof to it and there's gonna be problems.

2005 Peugeot 206 XSi 1.6 16v, Injection system from Iran

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v, Injection system Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired2 kilometres
Most recent distance8039 kilometres
Previous carIran Khodro RENAULT 5GTL

Summary:

LOVELY Low Cost CAR

Faults:

Still there's no real troubles with this car, except some squeaks from right front door, and seats.which are easy to fix.

General Comments:

I really find this car very comfort, it's powerful engine brings rapid acceleration also good handling on curves made it very easy to drive even basic drivers can drive this car easily.

ABS breaks brings safety, also Automatic air conditioning system is clever and decides what to do? Airbags even makes car safer. in my opinion it's very good car if the services to be done on time, as specified in instruction manual, I had Renault 5GTL before, but 206 is really something HIGHER:).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th January, 2006

2005 Peugeot 206 GTi 180 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance6700 miles
Previous carPeugeot 306

Summary:

Give me a Civic Type-r anyday

General Comments:

This car is a disappointment. I was given if to use for a few months as I wouldn't have bought one. It looks really cool and has a sleek front, Peugeot now make some really attractive cars.

But Give me a Honda Civic Type-R any day! The pedal box is unbelievably cramped, the steering is heavy and rubbery, engine sounds horrible, it feels a lot, lot slower than a Type-R. Inside, plastics feel cheap and the digital climate control screen needs to be much brighter as in the day you cannot see it.

The 17" alloys are a nice touch and the ride is good. It just feels like it won't last long as French cars are often like. The temperature gauge in traffic for instance goes up and down whereas a properly engineered car wouldn't do this. The car also shakes in traffic when its at a stanstill. The 206 GTi doesn't justify this title because it does not feel like it has anywhere near 180bhp on tap.

For an extra £2000, you could buy a Civic Type-R with air-con and front fogs and this is a proper car! It goes like a rocket yet it is a much bigger/heavier car and only has 17bhp more!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th November, 2005

29th Nov 2005, 07:10

I've just upgraded from a gti to the 180 and I'm loving it... The Honda is quicker, but ugly!... (the S2000 on the other hand... a much better car!)

For £10,000 second hand for an 04 model gti 180 with 12k on the clock, you can't go wrong. Not been beaten away from the lights yet.

(It does have front fogs too...)

2005 Peugeot 206 Zest 3 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance7600 miles
Previous carVauxhall Corsa

Summary:

Excellent car, but not for those with long legs and friends - Its one of the other!

Faults:

Wheel rollers on passenger seat broke

- Manufacturer rectified this problem free of charge at the 6000 mile free service.

Random beeping occasionally when starting ignition. Sounds like warning beeps, but no warning lights on.

- Manufacturer fixing this this coming Wednesday, free of charge as pointed out during 6000 mile service.

- Windscreen mysteriously cracked at around 4000 miles. Queried the garage if it could have been installed too tight, but they denied it (could have lied though)

General Comments:

Great car. Fast, fuel efficient (i get around 500 miles per tank)

Not much room if you've got long legs, as you've gotta crack the seat all the way back, which is hell for my mates behind me.

Boot space is small too.

But, I still love the car, fast as heck, handles great, holds together really well. and get the zest3 model with sports bumpers, grills, and seats etc, for that sportier & racier look, without the price of the sports edition!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th October, 2005

5th Feb 2006, 09:51

Fast as heck you say, what with a 1.4!! My 206 had a 1.4 and it was as slow as anything!! No power at all, and it was a 2002 model with the same engine as yours!! Never again!

19th Mar 2006, 11:42

Having read the review & the last person's comment, I would like to add that I have a 1.4 206 Zest 2005 model, & mine goes like hell too! The acceleration is fantastic for a small car. It replaced a 1.6 Astra, & the Peugeot 206 is much more economical & much quicker than the Astra was. I wonder if the person who said that theirs was slow had a fault with it? I can only comment on mine.. If you're thinking of buying one of these cars, do so. You wouldn't be disappointed with it.

Average review marks: 5.5 / 10, based on 9 reviews