2005 Peugeot 206 Reviews

2005 Peugeot 206 Sport 1.4 16v from UK and Ireland

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.4 16v Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired37000 miles
Most recent distance49000 miles
Previous carSeat Ibiza

Summary:

Not bad, interior a little cheap

Faults:

New alternator.

New battery.

New front brake disks.

Other than that, nothing wrong.

General Comments:

Good car, has an MPG display, and it is possible to get 50mpg, which for a 10.9 sec car is fantastic.

It is only 'sport' in looks, if you want an affordable quick car, can I suggest the 1.6 SXI?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th February, 2011

2005 Peugeot 206 s 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired15000 miles
Most recent distance27000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 306

Summary:

Uncomfortable driving position and not as fun to drive as other Peugeot's

Faults:

No major items, just usual tires and brake pads.

General Comments:

This is my company car and I drive many miles, as part of my job, in it every day. I must say that this car is fairly uncomfortable. It is down to the driving position; there is little room for your legs (I am 6ft) and the steering wheel is too far to reach (only height adjustable) when you have adjusted the seat properly for your legs. The pedals are very small and close together- I was revving the engine whilst braking when I first got the car! The seats are fairly basic, but reasonably supportive. I wouldn't recommend buying this car if you regularly want to travel long distances.

The 8v 1.4 isn't especially quick (75bhp), but it is nippy enough around town- up to about 50mph- and is quick off the mark. The brakes aren't great and the pedal needs quite a lot of input. Steering is fine, if a little light, however the car does under steer quite badly when pushed.

I have owned a number of Peugeot's and VW's in the past, as with all my previous Peugeot's the cabin isn't especially well designed and the quality is lacking compared to a German marque, but usually the Pug has made up for this by being fun handling and pleasant to look at (205 or 306). Unfortunately, the 206 isn't much fun. Although the looks aren't all that bad.

I feel a bit unfair on the 206, as it isn't really designed for the millage I need to use it for. As a first time run-about or little town car, it's probably fine; easy to park, cheap to buy and fix, looks pleasant enough, loud stereo, fairly economical and can do the odd long journey- it cruises well enough at 80mph, it's just very noisy. But I can't recommend it for many motor way miles and it seriously disappoints as a drivers car compared to past Peugeot's.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd June, 2007

14th Sep 2009, 17:05

Yes as an owner I agree with this review.

2005 Peugeot 206 XSi 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired9000 miles
Most recent distance12000 miles
Previous carPeugeot Peugeot 206

Summary:

It was a nightmare

Faults:

Within the space of 4 months the car needed 2 new batteries. The steering had to be realigned and the driver's seat could not be pushed backwards and had to be fixed. The transmission developed a problem too and would lock when the car was taken from N to P. The car creaked when the car was in reverse and the cheap plastic electric window control cracked and has to be replaced.

General Comments:

The car looked nice from the outside and was comfortable, but was so unreliable and the dealership did not want to know.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd April, 2007

3rd Nov 2008, 07:38

The car has Porsche's gearbox :)

2005 Peugeot 206 CC from United Arab Emirates

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

General Comments:

We build on trust?

This is a story of the outstanding level of service in some areas in Dubai.

A year ago I decided, to buy a car. As I have no clue of car repair, I opted for a brand new one, trusting in the reputation of an international car maker.

For the first 6 months I was happily driving around Dubai, enjoying my little car. But then the problems started: windows rattle when driving on uneven roads; starting the engine makes the car shaking and clatter; all sorts of warning lights flash up, disappear, flash up again; the engine goes flat in the middle of SZR, no acceleration at all, battery completely discharged without any reason...

The list is long, the time I have spent in the workshop would sum up to a nice vacation that I now can’t take anymore. The people in the workshop were rather clueless, sending all the information to the company’s head office in France, exchanging randomly spare parts and repeatedly promising “now you won’t have any problems any more, trust me”. Well, that was true, at least for a week or two, till the problem reappeared, or something new came up.

After being twice in extremely dangerous traffic situations, caused by just another technical defect, I finally had enough – and no trust anymore. Neither in the car nor in the workshop. I tried to talk to the manager of this reputable company, but the gentleman was of course much too busy to talk to a very unhappy customer. So I met with a very friendly and understanding lady from customer service, who was great in promising, rather a failure in delivering. She admitted that I had been suffering from too many problems with the car, promised to send me a binding offer to exchange the car for e new one or to buy back the car (which was my request, as I have no trust in the brand anymore), the offer to be in my inbox within one day. That is now almost a week ago, they are trying to buy time, haggling and discussing. And all the time conveniently ignoring the fact that their bad service puts my life on risk!

I have been driving for more than 25 years, new cars and old cars, cheap cars and big, expensive cars – I never have experiences such a bad service! I’ve had enough now, I will put up the car for sale and buy another make and model.

Anybody out there with similar problems, I would be happy to hear from you, maybe they will be listening when we start some kind of “class action”! Contact me on email: no_trust_206cc@yahoo.com

A very unhappy Peugeot driver.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th February, 2007

Average review marks: 5.5 / 10, based on 9 reviews