1998 Peugeot 306 Reviews - Page 18 of 20

1998 Peugeot 306 XR 1.4 petrol from Sri Lanka

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance15000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

These may be defects of this particular car unit only, but what is the solution?

Faults:

Engine stalling.

Very high fuel consumption.

Noisy engine.

Uncomfortable back seat.

General Comments:

Manufacturer ignored my complaints. E-mails addressed to the Managing Director were replied to by the Webmaster.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th October, 2000

17th Dec 2000, 12:55

Interestingly, the fuel consumption of the 1.4 is no better than that of the 1.6. I suspect this is because the 1.4 is rather underpowered, causing drivers to drive with a heavy right foot to compensate.

1998 Peugeot 306 Vivant 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Maxi

Summary:

Great car, shame about the company

Faults:

Tailgate seal and vacuum pump gasket were faulty when the car was supplied and they were replaced at the 1500 mile service.

Water temperature sender failed and the vacuum pump seals have gone again.

Biggest problems have been with the cooling system, the radiator leaked and was followed by the bleed screw, which has just started leaking (copiously) again.

Sunroof rattles.

General Comments:

The 306 is a very nice car, lively, comfortable and great fun to drive. Just a shame that neither Peugeot nor the dealers have got their act together on customer service. It should not take 4 attempts to get a radiator from Coventry to Sheffield without breaking it! Dealer's couldn't care less, their initial response to the leaking bleed valve and radiator was to top up the system and send me away. To get something done you have to take them by the hand and tell them exactly what to do. The servicing is a joke, I have strong suspicions that no service has yet been properly completed, if it weren't for the extended warranty I'd have gone else where a long time ago. Shame, it's a good car but the poor customer service means we won't be buying another.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th August, 2000

1998 Peugeot 306 GTi-6 2.0 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired47000 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carBMW 316i

Summary:

Ignore the rest, this car's the best!

Faults:

Nothing so far - everything sounds sweet.

General Comments:

Superb car, an absolute rocket ship...

However...

Build quality is not brilliant - paintwork is a bit 'thin' in places, and one or two wires look badly placed (e.g. the wire from the rain sensor is not located in the recess intended for it, but trapped instead), and there are a few rattles, and some wind noise. It is also impossible to completely switch off the ventilation fan - annoying design feature.

Gearbox is a bit 'notchy', especially when changing down the gears, until it gets warm, but is fine once it is warmed up.

Engine sounds sporty except at low revs ( < 3000 rpm ) where is just sound like any other car.

Valve gear is a bit noisy when the engine is cold, but is virtually silent once the engine is warmed up to temperature - much like any other sporty 16 valve engine.

Overtaking rev is 4500 rpm in any gear - get ready for takeoff, and punch the pedal, and virtually nothing on the road can keep up.

I love mine, despite it's minor niggles - you can't fail to grin from ear to ear when it takes off and pant's over the Metro Kensington in front :-)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th July, 2000

12th Jan 2001, 06:47

It was my review originally - wanted to add to it.

At 59,000 miles the cambelt snapped - result was two weeks in the garage being repaired under warranty (total cost £1440).

Radio reception is rubbish, CD skips over poor road surfaces.

Paint chips incredibly easily.

Despite it all, I still love it to bits.

1st Apr 2003, 13:30

Just bought one last week and I love it to bits. I had a 1600cc 16v Ford Escort before, so my new Pug felt like a rocket ship.

I've got it in the best possible colour...Black!

Annoying features?

Well, the Air Con doesn't blow cold and there's an annoying leak on the passenger side window at speed. Is it just mine, or do they all judder through the steering over 70mph?

I've looked at a few 306's before buying this one. It seems to be common place for the Air Bag sensors to play up resulting in a constant flashing warning light on the dash. I've found that if you adjust the steering column right up, you can't see it flashing anymore!

Well, if you're considering buying one secondhand then be prepared to spend a little time and money on her, and she'll reward you by being a stunning motor that packs plenty of punch.

25th Apr 2006, 06:18

Sure you didn't buy a Diesel by accident???

25th Apr 2006, 11:55

With regards to the last post, do you even know what a GTI-6 engine looks like, because no way is any Saxo faster than a 6!

You probably drove a 306 with a 1.1 engine in it!

And the best colour is Astor! :¬P.

I love mine to bits despite it jumping it's belt and costing me a pants down job, but I'd do it all over again! (if I had to!)

The 6 does have it's PITA characteristics definitely, but what affordable car doesn’t?

9/10.

25th Apr 2006, 12:59

The above comment made me laugh slightly. See you in my mirrors mate.

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 71 reviews