Peugeot 308 Reviews

2012 Peugeot 308 1.6 diesel from Turkey

Model year2012
Year of manufacture2012
First year of ownership2013
Most recent year of ownership2013
Engine and transmission 1.6 diesel Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Previous carToyota Corolla

Faults:

I have been driving automatic transmission cars since 1995. I renew my car every 3 years. This is the worst car I've ever had. Terrible transmission. Although it has a 6 gear semi-automatic transmission; it has no comfort. I feel every gear shift terribly inside the car. Even my neck gets tired after driving in rush hour. Peugeot must stop producing semi-automatic transmission cars. Terrible engineering.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th February, 2013

2012 Peugeot 308 e-HDI Sportium 1.6 turbo diesel from Turkey

Model year2012
Year of manufacture2012
First year of ownership2012
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 1.6 turbo diesel Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance1200 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Aveo

Summary:

Peugeot as a company is going down. No wonder why with crap cars; that's what will happen

Faults:

The car stopped on the road, no excuse, a car cannot stop when driving.

At 500km, the rattle after 100km/h was not good. Brake linings might have been the problem. The service center somehow told me it was normal. The car was new and they had to polish (really polish) the brake lining, but the same thing happened again, so they changed the brake linings. So I complained, they informed me that maybe the tire swings are faulty. I mean what kind of car would have tire swings as a manufacturing fault???

General Comments:

How can I comment on a car which stopped while driving? How can I comment when the semi auto gear is a joke, and a brand new car shakes every time you speed...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd November, 2012

2009 Peugeot 308 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2009
Year of manufacture2009
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired1 kilometres
Most recent distance9 kilometres
Previous carChery A160

Summary:

Perfect car for the family who had two babies

Faults:

Light bulbs burned several times.

The boot wouldn't close every time from the first try.

General Comments:

The quality is exceptional, and for 3 years and 60,000 kilometers, I've only changed oil, filters and light bulbs.

However the cabin is very gloomy, and the seats are uncomfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th May, 2012

2008 Peugeot 308 HDi Premium 1.6 HDi turbo diesel from Bulgaria

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 1.6 HDi turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10 kilometres
Most recent distance59500 kilometres
Previous carSeat Ibiza

Summary:

Perfect car for the town and out of it

Faults:

Light bulbs burned several times.

The boot wouldn't close every time from the first try.

General Comments:

The car is a perfect mixture between power, fuel consumption and dimensions. It's not a sport car, but it has enough power for everyday use.

It's not very hard to get over 50 mpg on this diesel version out of town. My maximum fuel consumption is 32 MPG, and the average - 42 MPG.

The quality of the cabin is exceptional for the value of the car. I love the design, but it's up to every individual.

The quality is exceptional, and for 3 years and 60,000 kilometers, I've only changed oil, filters and light bulbs.

I'd suggest this car to everyone as an alternative to Focus and Golf.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th April, 2011

2008 Peugeot 308 HDi turbo diesel from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired200 kilometres
Most recent distance57000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Pajero iO

Summary:

Not worth the hassle and arguments

Faults:

Air conditioning failure at purchase - replaced at 2000km.

Carpet holes at 15000km (replaced under warranty) and again at 50,000kms (not covered by warranty) - dealer blames my driving in high heels, but I've never had this issue with any previous car, and as a car that is largely marketed to females, it should be able to cope with this!

Excessive brake replacement compared to previous cars.

Catalytic converter failure at 57000kms.

General Comments:

Cheap on fuel and comfy to drive.

Good reaction from friends and family (looks classy).

Roomy interior compared to its size, HOWEVER based on the amount of warranty claims I have had to make and the arguments I have had to have regarding these each time, this is my FIRST and LAST Peugeot.

I'm going back to Mitsubishi for my next car, and am sorry I left them!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st March, 2011

4th Sep 2012, 09:51

Really!? You don't like PEUGEOT because of the carpets!?

2008 Peugeot 308 Coupe petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2009
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission petrol Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance59000 kilometres

Summary:

Nice idea, badly built, and poorly serviced

Faults:

Issues from the word go; squeaks, noises, faulty lights, catalytic converter went 1 month out of warranty, and then the roof motor failed.

General Comments:

The car was bad enough, but after sales service was non existent. This is our first & last!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th February, 2011

2009 Peugeot 308 S 1.5 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2009
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 1.5 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired15000 miles
Most recent distance22700 miles
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

Average

Faults:

Head lamp bulb failed.

Screen wash fuse failed.

General Comments:

The engine seems under powered for the size of the car.

It's not bad value for money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th February, 2011

2009 Peugeot 308 HDi 1.6 turbo diesel from Taiwan

Model year2009
Year of manufacture2009
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 1.6 turbo diesel Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired23000 kilometres
Most recent distance33000 kilometres

Summary:

A very satisfying family car to own

Faults:

During my early ownership, a clogged diesel filter caused stalling on re-acceleration on highway. Replacing it with a new one fixed the problem. Car has been reliable since and responded well to tune-up (engine flush with OWS 210, and various Voltronic fuel additives).

General Comments:

Stylish, quality cabin and nice seats. Automated manual box is brilliant and feels as direct as a manual. Very frugal with adequate power. Looks good in Rouge Babylone. Ride and handling are generally very good, except for some understeering. Stable on the highway.

Coming from a 605, the 308's handling was initially a big disappointment. I've come to appreciate it much better with time, even though it can never match the 605's neutral turn-in and fluency.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd November, 2010

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 8 reviews