1989 Peugeot 309 Reviews - Page 4 of 5

1989 Peugeot 309 Look 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired29000 miles
Most recent distance55500 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

A really underated motor

Faults:

I have owned this car for nearly 6 years and it has cost me very little.

1 battery.

2 exhausts.

8 tyres.

Honestly, it's the only money I've ever spent on my 309, it goes through the MOT every year with very little ever done. It's always had its services & I've always kept it clean & tidy.

General Comments:

A good solid car, quite economical to run, 11 years old and still no rust. If they still made them now I'd buy one!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 2001

7th Feb 2001, 10:32

I've had a Pug 309 diesel for 1 year now and after the usual things you would expect on 130,000 miles eg. driveshafts, bearings etc. it's a brilliant motor. I've done a few mods with the GTi bumpers, spoilers and wheels and it looks a sweet motor, it's just a shame about the performance.

1989 Peugeot 309 GTi mi16 1.9 16v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.9 16v petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance107000 miles
Previous carFord Escort RS Turbo

Summary:

8v GTi great, find a 16v

Faults:

Bottom end not very strong - blown twice.

Syncro in 2nd, 3rd and 4th gears.

Exhaust manifold crack.

General Comments:

Great handling, even better when lowered, oversteer easy to control.

16v engine accelerates much better from 1st gear to 2nd uphill compared with the 8v GTi.

Could do with another gear on motorways.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th November, 2000

14th May 2002, 20:00

I have a 309 SRi and this is a VERY accurate review!! I have also gone through 2 bottom ends and want a 6 speed box just for the motorway. I am going to replace my 1.6 engine for a 1.9, but I don't know how easily a Mi16 will go in and what extra stuff, apart from ECU I would need?!?!??

1989 Peugeot 309 GR 1.3 from Ukraine

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 kilometres
Most recent distance105000 kilometres

Summary:

Economical, quick and reliable

Faults:

Leaking radiator.

Handbrake cable is not strong enough.

Sometimes there is creak in one of the back springs.

Pretty noisy inside from the engine and because of the plastic.

Too much smoke when at full throttle.

General Comments:

Actually it is a best car for a student! There is enough space inside for 4 people. But it will be narrow for 5.

The biggest advantage that 309 has is that it is a very economical car. It is only 6-6.5l in the city and about 5l on the highway.

Very good behaviour on the road. Soft suspension. It is very simple to drive.

Good acceleration. But at speeds about 130 km/h it becomes instable.

It is almost ten years old, but the paint is as on a new one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th November, 2000

1989 Peugeot 309 GLX 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired92000 miles
Most recent distance118000 miles
Previous carTalbot Alpine

Summary:

Bullet-proof and indestructable

Faults:

Not much considering the age and miles.

Rear brake cylinder (1).

Front brake calliper (1).

Handbrake cable.

Brake pads and exhaust.

A flying rock broke the windscreen.

Needed a new fuel pump to cure WOT misfire.

Short in engine wiring loom burned some important cables (ignition, starter motor and alternator). Sounds bad, but costs nothing to fix if you can solder!

The tappets go rattly after about 5,000 miles, but you can ignore them for another 10,000 miles 'till the noise gets unbearable!

General Comments:

The first car I've ever owned that's gone significantly over 100k. It still feels "tight" and is good for another 100k.

Reasonable performance and good economy.

Comfortable enough for long motorway journeys.

The cabin is a bit tacky, but the seats are comfortable and the controls all work well.

I'm so impressed, I just bought a 406 to keep it company. That's nice too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th September, 2000

1989 Peugeot 309 GRi 1.6i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6i Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 305 Estate

Summary:

Gives a lot of larger cars a run for they're money!

Faults:

Leaking radiator.

Oil leak.

Both drive shafts.

It does not like ticking over and will cut out every time you come to a junction.

General Comments:

It goes like a demon. For its size it will surprise a lot of people. The mechanic at the garage took it out and when he got back he checked the engine size with me because he said it 'Goes like a bloody rocket!'

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd August, 2000

1989 Peugeot 309 GE 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired118000 miles
Most recent distance123000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Cheap, reliable and a good drive

Faults:

Alternator - replaced with one from a scrapyard for £18 - done easily personally.

Oil leak - as expected in this model but nothing serious.

Poor suspension - this is only due to the age of it and will not be expensive to repair.

Distributer water penetration - deep puddles caused the engine to cut out but it was so rare that I just sprayed WD40 on it and the engine would start instantly.

General Comments:

The 309 is a reliable and affordable car which has never given me any starting problems. The engine does give quite a tappety sound when idling, but this is usual and nothing to worry about. Parts are always cheap, and the car is easy to work on yourself, even with little experience. Although at present this car needs its suspension renewed, I've had a 309 before and they handle really well. I find the car a pleasure to drive, with an excellent gear shift - feeling light but sure.

This is my second 309 and I'd buy a third!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd July, 2000

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 24 reviews